Keeping in mind his performance as a captain both in NZ and the recently concluded series against India.
Re: Should Inzi be retained as captain ?
No way !
I am sticking with Inzi. Before replacing him we'll need an alternate captin, which we don't have. I'd stick with Inzi regardless because quite frankly I am not quite in the favor of changing captains, coaches, management without giving them proper time.
Sorrveryone, I meant to click yes and i clicked no instead, Please alter my vote if you can ehsan bhai...
I believe Inzi should still be kept as captain, he is learning all the time and should be given a chance. The young lot look upto him, anyone who doesnt show him the respect he deserves should be kicked out.
*Originally posted by rizwanfareed: *
Sorrveryone, I meant to click yes and i clicked no instead, Please alter my vote if you can ehsan bhai...
I believe Inzi should still be kept as captain, he is learning all the time and should be given a chance. The young lot look upto him, anyone who doesnt show him the respect he deserves should be kicked out.
Done.
he's a great bat and all but he will always be hopeless as a captain. having Inzi as the captain automatically places us at a severe disadvantage against teams that have a sharp captain such as Fleming, Ponting etc.
I'm not calling for his head because of the recent results but just because the team is not going anywhere under hm.
I vote for yes. Not because he is a good captain, just because we don't have anyone else to replace him. I hate his lazy a$$ attitude, that doesn't pull the team together. Also he's hardly seen giving advise to the bowler if one is getting hammered (like other captains will run to the bowler and will ask him to go for the plan B immediately). Instead we see him standing in disappointment with either his hands on his head or hips. gadha kahein ka!
What we have for replacement?
Razzaq: Is definetely out of the team, he is not even quarter of the bowler he used to be. And we don't need batting alrounders either. We have Asim now to handle that problem.
Yoyo: Almost same as Inzi. Its hard to imagine, yongersters will listen to him. He too is very defensive in nature. With Miandad as coach, he will produce same result as Inzi.
Shoaib: A suicide for Pakistani Cricket. You all know, why.
Sami: bacha hai
Farhat: kacha hai
Taufeeq & Nazir: bacha hai
Yasir: Ullooh ka patha hai
Umer & Shabbir: Not at all
Malik: Should not be playing International cricket at all.
Saqi: khatam hogaya hai sala!
Asim: Too humble. Will fail at this time.
Moin: I don't think he is coming back after seeing Akmal's acrobats.
So I think we better stick with Inzi. Instead of changing him, change the coach and manager, who can asswhip the 'ghosts of the kicks' :) and groom the raw talent, make them mentally tough for Int'l cricket and maintain decipline.
*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
Yoyo: Almost same as Inzi. Its hard to imagine, yongersters will listen to him. He too is very defensive in nature. With Miandad as coach, he will produce same result as Inzi.
I don't think Youhana is defensive. barring his failures in this series, he's a very intelligent batsman. I see no reason why he can't bring his smarts to captaincy. I don't recall him being defensive either.
The few times he captained Pak, I think the KK consensus was that he made mistakes but learnt from them and would changes his field placing, rotate bowlers etc quite intelligently and quickly unlike Inzi.
*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
I don't think Youhana is defensive. barring his failures in this series, he's a very intelligent batsman. I see no reason why he can't bring his smarts to captaincy. I don't recall him being defensive either.
The few times he captained Pak, I think the KK consensus was that he made mistakes but learnt from them and would changes his field placing, rotate bowlers etc quite intelligently and quickly unlike Inzi.
I agree. Yoyo isn't a defense captain. From what I saw of him, he looks like very aggressive but is he ready for the permenant captainship? I am a big supporter of yoyo as a captain but even I don't know if he's ready for it right now. It would be too big a risk to take relatively early in his career. In fact having him the vice captain and taking over from Inzi from time to time is the best way to nurture a future captain. Yoyo can come in after WC 2007 when Inzi retires and he will be around 31-32. He can then captain for 4-5 years and retire. Perfect script but i doubt it'll work with PCB. Nevertheless, the reasons I mentioned above are why i think we should continue with Inzi.
*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *
I agree. Yoyo isn't a defense captain. From what I saw of him, he is infact very aggressive in his field placing but is he ready for the permenant captainship? Iam a big supporter of yoyo as a captain but I don't know if he's ready for it right now. It would be too big a risk to take relatively early on in his career. In fact having him the vice captain and taking on from Inzi from time to time is the best way to nurture a future captain. Yoyo can come in after WC 2007 when Inzi retires and he will be around 31-32. He can then captain for 4-5 years and then retire. That is why i think we should continue with Inzi.
yaara, Youhana is pretty experienced as it is. how old is he? nearly 30 isn't he? as far as the number of games, experience, aggression, strategy etc, I think he's ready.
but there are a couple of extraneous issues though: I don't think Inzi will be too happy playing under his own vice captain after being demoted. and Youhana really hasn't touched the heights he's capable of as a batsman and captaincy might prevent him more so from fulfilling his potential.
yaara, Youhana is pretty experienced as it is. how old is he? nearly 30 isn't he? as far as the number of games, experience, aggression, strategy etc, I think he's ready.
but there are a couple of extraneous issues though: I don't think Inzi will be too happy playing under his own vice captain after being demoted. and Youhana really hasn't touched the heights he's capable of as a batsman and captaincy might prevent him more so from fulfilling his potential.
I think he's 28. let me confirm it though.
he's almost 30. hmm. This is a quandry. I still would give benefit of the doubt to Inzi. We have to remember that none of the Pakistani players clicked in the series, and the way we played, we would've lost even under Steve Waugh.
I still would give benefit of the doubt to Inzi.
benefit of the doubt for what, yaar? so that he can keep the captaincy for a couple of more series where we will get some mixed results because of a few individual performances? if Inzi stays, everything is gonna fall apart right around when we need things to be tight such as close to the 2007 WC.
I think every team plays a game because it wants to be best in the field. This is what the Aussies play for - to be the best in the world. Whether you have the skill at present or not, that is the ultimate goal. Under Inzi, will we ever be able to lay claim to this honour? Or can we even claim that being the best team in the world is our goal? Under Inzi we're a directionless team which changes gears every now and then when enough people kick the crew in the behind.
Pak fans have an escapist attitude. among other issues, one of our biggest problems is that we have a captain who does not have and cannot come up with a plan B. We can give Inzi another shot because of his excellent performances as a player but he's simply not sharp and decisive enough to be a captain.
And as far as Steve Waugh is concerned, I assure you that he would never have played Razzaq in the test tea. And he would definitely have forced Shoaib Akhtar and other slackers into early retirement.
sambi, your points are all valid, and I do not contest the claim that Inzi's captaincy has been below par but I am still of the opinion that PCB should give him some more time. Whats to lose? I am sure he will learn with time. Even Imran had to learn. When Imran was made captain the first time, he couldn't even talk to the players, he was so shy. Give Inzi some more series. Experience will teach him a lot. if we don't allow our captains to learn from their mistakes and keep on changing them instead, we'll be back to square one pretty soon. We have to ask ourselves: what is the gurantee yoyo will be successful? What happens if he fails too? I must also make it clear that i am not just defending Inzi here but I am defending a principle. We can't go on with this chop and change policy. We did that for the whole of 90's and look at the leadership problems we have now. First there were too many captains in the team and now there aren't any. And going by the responses here, i am not sure we've learnt any lessons. We must also keep in mind that our education system and cricket infrastrucuture isn't exactly the bredding ground for future leaders so it will always be an on-job training for Pakistani skippers.
benefit of the doubt for what, yaar? so that he can keep the captaincy for a couple of more series where we will get some mixed results because of a few individual performances? if Inzi stays, everything is gonna fall apart right around when we need things to be tight such as close to the 2007 WC.
I think every team plays a game because it wants to be best in the field. This is what the Aussies play for - to be the best in the world. Whether you have the skill at present or not, that is the ultimate goal. Under Inzi, will we ever be able to lay claim to this honour? Or can we even claim that being the best team in the world is our goal? Under Inzi we're a directionless team which changes gears every now and then when enough people kick the crew in the behind.
Pak fans have an escapist attitude. among other issues, one of our biggest problems is that we have a captain who does not have and cannot come up with a plan B. We can give Inzi another shot because of his excellent performances as a player but he's simply not sharp and decisive enough to be a captain.
And as far as Steve Waugh is concerned, I assure you that he would never have played Razzaq in the test tea. And he would definitely have forced Shoaib Akhtar and other slackers into early retirement.
you are right there dude........
i did not like inzi from the first day as captain and i have mentioned it many times on KK.....and i will mention it again....how the hell you can decide to call the day off when your team needs only 30 runs to win in 8 overs and you have 6 wickets in hand and there is a possibility of rain next day......that day inzi showed his "true" potential as a skipper......i may be harsh but he should have been asked to leave the post after that very stupid act...it meant that he has no awarenss of his job responsibilities....But then ho will replace him....may be yoyo...
sambi, your points are all valid, and I do not contest the claim that Inzi's captaincy has been below par but I am still of the opinion that PCB should give him some more time. Whats to lose? I am sure he will learn with time. Even Imran had to learn. When Imran was made captain the first time, he couldn't even talk to the players, he was so shy. Give him some more series. Experience will teach him a lot.
Chtonic yaara, sorry. I don't mean to pick on you but I feel very strongly about Inzi's captaincy..
so, Inzi despite playing 10+ years of international cricket still needs to learn how to captain a side? Inzi played under Imran Khan - one of the best captains in cricket's history, Javed Miandad - one of the sharpest cricket minds, Saleem Malik - take out the matchfixing bit and he was a very, very good captain, Wasim Akram - again take out the matchfixing, Waqar controversies and he was our second best skipper ever, Rashid Latif - a very dedicated, intelligent captain he proved to be. So, He has played under some of the best skippers in the world and most of them as a senior player so he must have seen how the job is done upclose. And if he did not learn back then, he is sure as hell not going to learn now.
I would be willing to live with Inzi like I lived with Moin and Waqar if I had the slightest bit of hope for him. But Inzi is THE wrong choice for captaincy, IMO. The team's not going anywhere under him except backwards.
*Originally posted by phoenixdesi: *
you are right there dude........
i did not like inzi from the first day as captain and i have mentioned it many times on KK.....and i will mention it again....how the hell you can decide to call the day off when your team needs only 30 runs to win in 8 overs and you have 6 wickets in hand and there is a possibility of rain next day......that day inzi showed his "true" potential as a skipper......i may be harsh but he should have been asked to leave the post after that very stupid act...it meant that he has no awarenss of his job responsibilities....But then ho will replace him....may be yoyo...
man, you could still say that thing was a one-off incident, you know an honest mistake. But to not adjust the field placing when the opposition is simply milking five singles an over with comfort when all they need is four and a half is criminal. And then to select a team that does not have the requisite balance every match and not learning from your mistakes is plain stupid. Your bowlers are not bowling to their fields maybe 'cause they're not bowling well and need to be taken out of the attack or just dropped, or maybe you didn't give them the right field? But for god's sake do something about it, don't just stand in the slips looking worried.
We need an active captain not a reactive one. All his moves come after the deed's been done already.
Chtonic yaara, sorry. I don't mean to pick on you but I feel very strongly about Inzi's captaincy..
No problems. I am too thick skinned for that. :)
There is NO WAY, Inzi will be replaced as Pakistan Captain at this point. And I don't think he should be, either.
He is the senior most player and is having a fantastic time with the bat. Unless there is a major player-revolt (lead by Shoaib) or Inzi loses form completely, he is here to stay.
Yes, he is dumb, and indifferent, and totally lacks any inspiration or tactical genius... but still he shall remain the captain. If we have any tactical genius's in the team, they should come forward and start providing advice to the Captain on the field. I don't think we have any, so replacing Inzi with anyone will be a step backward instead of forward. Inzi has been a captain for a while, and he will keep improving. Bringing a new one, the process will start all over again. No need. Thankyouverymuch.
Inzi definetly needs to be replaced as captain. Yes, there is no decent replacement, but Inzi must go as captain. Im sure Youhana can be a much better captain than Inzi, and both are our most senior players. Inzi is a excellent batsmen, but he will never be sucessfull captain. Tendulkar is one of the best batsmen to have ever played Cricket, but he can never be a good captain, same goes for Inzi.