sounds like you're really hot which is probably why people stare at you so much. not only hot but also so full of iman... Mashallah.
don't bother with niqab. wear a tent instead.
sounds like you're really hot which is probably why people stare at you so much. not only hot but also so full of iman... Mashallah.
Re: Should I wear Niqab?
NO.
Okay, what sort of stares are we talking about here? Because there’s the general curious, inquisitive stare and then there’s the leering, ‘undressing you with their eyes’ stare ![]()
Seriously though people stare…it’s human nature. It doesn’t bother me and you shouldn’t let it bother you too much either. Especially since you’ve started feeling guilty and you’ve made a conscious effort to not go out alone. Life’s too short to worry about what random people are thinking about you.
Another thing, you should wear Niqab only if you want to…not because of other people’s actions.
I feel people look at me when I'm outside in public and that makes me uncomfortable and sometimes guilty that I've been earning sin by getting attention. Should I start wearing Niqab? My husband is against niqab because he thinks that I'll be receiving negative attention from people, I've already reduced going outside alone, what should I do? How can I become immuned to being stared at by men and women?
You're asking for the impossible, Hareem. Where do you live? If you don't feel comfortable answering this question, that's totally fine (I understand). If you are living in a predominantly Muslim country....where many wear abaya/niqab, you will not stand out that much. Unless you're in Pakistan, and then they'll look at you even if you were a female bakri trotting the streets in dupatta and high heels. Sheehs, even the desi people in Dubai don't stare at you as much (or hardly at all) compared to the ones in Pak, I noticed. However.....if you're living in a country where the Muslims are the minority (the US or Europe, for example)..............then wearing a niqab will naturally bring MORE attention to you because you would be dressing contrary to the predominant culture....AND the negative stereotypes about Muslims will make them look as well.
So, much depends upon location. Apart from that.....people can look at you for various reason. A Muslim woman might look at you (if she covers herself) and admire the style of of your burqa or hijab.....or admire you for covering like her. Or if she doesn't cover herself, she might be wondering how you're able to handle it.
Guys could be looking at your face and admiring your beauty......or perhaps their gaze just happened to fall on you....or they think you're some sort of threat because of the stereotypes. Your gaze can just (without thinking) fall on some random stranger and it's not out of lust or even out curiosity.....it just falls. It also depends on the situation. If you're buying goods at a store and the cashier is male......he'll have to look at you a bit. Or maybe somebody is looking at you because they think they recognize you from somewhere or perhaps you remind them of someone.
***You cannot control or stop everyone, as it's not possible (even the Prophets/Messengers couldn't do that). So, just do the best you can do and be the best you can be....and do it with good and sincere and humble intentions. That's it.
You're right, it shouldn't but it does affect our lifestyle in negative and positive ways. So how not to let yourself get affected by others?
** It is always a disaster whenever we go out to eat in a restaurant.** :(
why?
i thought the same ... people dont really have the time to look at anyone ... random glances are normal, since people do walk with their heads high, and look around, which is almost an involuntary thing. (unless you're in Pakistan)
I dont know why should you feel so guilty and want to wrap yourself up or shut yourself behind doors just becuz people look. unless as someone said, you're one of those who are a strong victim of harassing looks where people take your clothes off with your eyes.
and why does it bother you if women look at you?
maybe it's in your head? maybe you need to think a bit about it.
I think you're just being Paranoid. LOL
I dont think its a big deal to be honest with you. People get stared at all the time, especially desies. Unless you're causing riots and having to get police escorts, you shouldnt be too bothered about it.
I went out last night and this woman kept STARING at me head to toe...I was SOOOOOO annoyed!!! I told my sister Im going to punch her eyeballs out if she doesnt stop. A second later, she comes right up to me and tells me she was sorry to make me so uncomfortable, she was staring at my outfit. We were at the movies and I decided to wear a fuschia colored shawl over my black ensemble just for color. She said she liked it a lot. I said thank you, qissa khatam.
Its not always a bad thing. Take it for what it is and move on. Ive actually mastered the art of being able to look at someone as if they dont exist...works really well when there is a starer involved.
ull get more stares with a niqaab
and also they rob thought you looked "different" with the nun-thing.
Thirdly, stop noticing the noticing. People should take responsibility for their own eyes IMO
I feel people look at me when I'm outside in public and that makes me uncomfortable
Your feelings are real. People do look at you like you look at them. They look at me too and I look at them (I have to figure out a way of walking on the street, or going to the mall, or work at the office with my eyes closed). We all look at each other in our normal day of living. Point is, what kind of looks are you talking about?
This kind: ![]()
And also this kind: ![]()
Although…these are not much better:
hahahahhaha i like this one @ ![]()
Do what you personally think is correct .** People's opinion shouldn't drive your lifestyle .**
Well that's the reason she is considering wearing a niqaab in the first place.
Are u really skinny? Cz i see alot of Jewish women here who are SUPER SKINNY and they almost always have like 3-6 kids with them at the same time. and i do stare cz I wonder how can they be so thin and have so many kids :hinna:
Or maybe they look at your kids and hten they gotta see the mommy?
If you feel this uncomfortable being stared at, wear a niqab. Don't make an issue out of it.
barbie george from george ka pakistan was a brit! and i hear he got married to a pakistani lady afterwards :)
hareem, i think a niqaab would result in more attention from strangers. and i agree with TLK that people do stare/look at each other,if you dont like it just go about your business looking straight ahead, not looking at anyone and therefore not noticing if anyones looking at you.
Naqab kerain Allah kay hukam ki ataat'at main
logoon k ley nahi
as long as they are not of this kind … ![]()
That COULD mean that he’s telling himself not to look. You know…self-restraint. ![]()
It could be this too: ![]()
^(Although you gotta give snooty some credit…he’s stuck-up…but at least he’s looking AWAY).
Naqab kerain Allah kay hukam ki ataat'at main
logoon k ley nahi
Agreed
u should wear a niqab but to make Allah Azzawajal and Prophet Muhammad Sallalahu Aalaihi Wasallam happy not cuz ppl stare at u......dont care about the ppl