Should I weak makeup everyday? (lil personal post)

Ladies,
Last year I was blessed with my first baby and since then life hasn’t been the same (in a good way) I gave up my job and now is stay at home mommy. My entire day is spent taking care of the baby or the house. I used to be very good at taking care of myself (exercise, beauty, wardrobe, etc) But now it seems like I am in my yoga pants 99% of time and my hair is always up in a bun. A shower longer than 5 mints seems like a blessing sometimes lol.
However I have decided to change a few things and take sometime out for myself and hubby.
My questions is of course beauty related here - My goal is to dress up every morning and wear some makeup on regular basis. I am not talking about heavy duty foundation but I do need concealer, CC cream, face powder, lil eye makeup, blush and lip color. Do you think this is too damaging for my skin if I do this everyday? Should I eliminate anything from the list? Also what should be my nighttime routine for my under eyes? I am 26 and already getting circles and lines under my eye. I usually put same moisturizer under eye that I use on my skin. Should I have another cream for it?
Thanks and feel free to add any other tips or advises you may have for this situation.

Re: Should I weak makeup everyday? (lil personal post)

as per your username, your makeup probably is gone with the wind as soon as you step out of your hideout. so, sure! go ahead and apply a thick coat every few hour on the hour...j/k. :D

You decide what you want to wear. If you feel like wearing make up everyday .. then do it. Whatever makes you feel good! <3

^Husna tha?

Thanks Wendy. My only concern is if concealer and powder is damaging too skin and if they will make my under eye wrinkles worse in long term? :/

Yeh hazrat peecha karte hain "GAPPANS" (not Guppans) ka aur bari koshish karte hain hansaanay ki. Shukar hai k tum nahi hansi, varna the koshish might have received unnecessary encouragement.

Seriously, KKF, while there is ko restriction for you to be here, I don't see the point of it either.

i think you should look your best everyday but it certainly doesnt mean a lot of makeup

lol...i notice that you are following me these days...sab Kahiriyat to hai na? ;)

Hmm maybe focus on better skin care? You wouldn't need concealer and powder everyday if you had good skin :) Just a little BB or CC cream, blush and gloss.

OP,

I have a strange like-hate relationship with makeup. It grosses me out especially when it comes time to scrubbing it off and you see paint on the cotton ball...it's paint and chemicals. On a daily basis, I like wearing my kohl and lip gloss, bas. If I want a bit more glow, I'll apply a blush. I'll use BB cream and concealer for special occasions. Recently I bought authentic kohl which is made from crushed galena stone and herbs.....it's long lasting and gives a more intense look than the commercial stuff. I feel it livens up your look without having to do extra. I think that as you gradually get back into the routine of exercising, facials etc....you'll see a difference. Cuz that way you're getting to the root of healthy skin and not just masking it with makeup. You can apply a mask while taking care of the baby and try yo stay hydrated, eat healthy, drink green tea, green smoothies...and that'll bring a natural glow that'll enhance the makeup.

Err...don't flatter yourself, KKF. I don't need to follow you.....you are practically there in every women's issue thread....more so than any other guy. Give yourself and the "gappans" a break.

Someone should tell kkf- hansi to phansi is getting OLD like other things.
Op- there are plenty of skincare products that addresses skin issues with makeup. A good cc cream with spf will keep you moisturized and even out your skin. Kohl just wakes up eyes so even if you dont want to wear too much eye makeup, just run an eye pencil and you are good to go. You can use brightening concealer that helps lighten dark circles. At night use a eye cream. Origins makes a really good one that brighten and its called origins ginzing and peronally I love it. If you clean your skin, exfoliate atleast once a week, moisturize, you are gonna wake up with better skin. Take your prenatals and drink loads of water.

Honestly I wonder how my mom took care of 5 kids:O I would go crazy....Anyways I think you should put on some mascara and eyeliner and maybe some lipstick.I think girls look the best without to much make-up.In terms of exercise,wait until the summer and take your baby on long adventures walls(of course the baby will be in the stroller.)If you feel like you have gained weight,drop your rotis and chawal. Getting rid of your pregnancy weight is impotent before you do have another child because it becomes harder to lose as the kids keep coming.:)

Hm well. As a woman just over 30 now, who wears makeup 5-6 (a 'full' face) days a week for 12+ hours yet has clear and smooth skin and no wrinkles yet - I'd say go for it. I wear a proper face to work as I like to look polished and awake. It doesn't matter how tired I am, I hardly every look it and I'm always ready for a meeting or if I need to go out after work.

I would start with a good diet and proper sleep if you can get it. Sleep should be restful even if shorter than you need. Don't use under eye creams. A good skincare routine is really important - so a gentle cleanser everyday and moisturise well. Do a search on this forum for rosehip oil. A cleanser with glycolic acid will exfoliate but since it's not mechanical like a scrub, you can use it everyday. For the makeup, wear as little or as much as you think you need. When I do lighter face days, I use a brightening pen (dior skinflash/ysl touche eclat) a lot more. I like MAC Paints (the tube ones in a shade like bare canvas) as it takes a few seconds to apply on your eyelids with your finger, covers the darkness of the eyelids and looks like eyeshadow.

I have a question or two.

If your skin is clear....would it be okay to wear eyeshadow without using any foundation/cc/bb creams? Or would it look weird? And if it would look okay....then what would be some good all-over, single eyeshadow colors. For days when you don't feel like using a crease color....and just want one shade that you could apply all over the lid plus eyeliner/mascara and call it a day. What colors would look good....bronze? Taupe? Expensive pink from Mac?

Its not damaging for your skin to do this everyday as long as you take it off at the end of the day & use proper skin care. Put on what you're comfortable with. I know stay-at-home mom's who do full-face MU when going out anywhere (even grocery shopping). Yet other mom's I know simply put on some concealor, eyeliner, and lipgloss. So decide what you have time to put on and what you're comfortable with……then go from there.

There is not a separate routine for under eyes. If you're not pregnant or breastfeeding, then you should consider using Retin A (all over face). This helps with fine lines, acne, evening out skin tone etc. Along with this, get a good moisturizer for the entire face. Do a search on this board about OCM (Oil Clensing Method). Consider doing this 1-2x/week. TBH, these days, I use this method to remove make-up.

You should also get a good sunscreen to use during the day if you don't have one already. Honestly the #1 mistake women make IMO when it comes to their skin aging is to not protect it from the sun.

Before you do any of the make-up stuff, I think your main focus right now should be to get in shape, eat a clean diet, and get a good skin care routine.

If you have clear skin already, I don't think using eyeshadow alone would look weird at all. How about using MAC paint pot in Painterly all over?

I don't wanna start a separate thread on it, but a couple posts here mention no need to use eye creams - just wanted to ask why not? Also, is it then okay to use the regular face moisturizer under and around eyes?

Also, where can I buy Retin-A? At any drug store?

If you practice proper skin care, there is no need to worry.

I wear makeup 3 times a week at least...would wear it more often but I am too lazy.