Should I not have...

sent this email to my boss? :bummer:

what if he hates me now :crying: :frowning: and thinks im khamakha making a baat ka batangar and am a nakhreeli :bummer: :frowning:

Hi X,

I hope I’m not being too presumptuous or critical in sending this email to you. My apologies in advance if you feel that at any point.

The past few days specially the issue of office cleanliness and the water shortage have been a cause for discomfort in the office. I’ll list the main problems below.

• There’s usually no water in the morning for almost 1-1.5 hours when the office opens. Because of this,

– We, the females in the office, can’t use the restroom during this time.
    – When we enter the office in the morning, the restroom is quite dirty from the previous day as Y can clean the restroom only once water is running and available.

• The kitchen is dirty when we enter in the morning. Dirty dishes from the previous night are usually lying in the kitchen. This causes the kitchen to stink and provides breeding ground for insects. The odor usually remains for the whole day, causing the kitchen to be perpetually stuffy with a persistent odor.

• The refrigerator is not cleaned regularly. Leftovers from days can be found lying there and the fridge itself is dirty. Cockroaches have been spotted in the fridge and one feels uneasy putting food in the fridge.

• When one enters the office in the morning, right next to Z’s desk, one is usually greeted by a pile of dirt and garbage that’s been collected after sweeping the office in the morning through which one needs to walk through. Perhaps the dirt should be collected away from the office entrance.

• The locks in the ladies restroom break down quite frequently and often because of this one of the two bathroom stalls is unusable.

These are probably minor issues in the overall scheme of things but being accosted by them daily is a bit unpleasant. Things would be more pleasant and smooth in the absence of these concerns. Perhaps additional fixtures in the office such as water tanks in the bathrooms may help solve the water issue. We’ve had informal discussions about this in the office and these matters have put everyone through a bit of discomfort and unease. I just thought that it would be good to convey to you that these problems do exist, as you might not even be aware of them. You’ve always stressed on the importance of communication. Being a permanent full time employee of this office I thought that writing this email to you would be a constructive step. I hope it does not lead to me being perceived as nitpicky or fussy. I realize that you’re doing your best and I understand that these matters will probably take time to get resolved but this email is just to bring these issues to your notice.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

Irem

boss called me to his office within an hour of my sending this mail and we had a meeting abt this…for about 2 hrs :mudhosh: :smiley: the office incharge was there too. boss had a printout of my email, and he addressed each point in the mail separately and gave directives on the spot to the office incharge for the issues to be resolved.

:mash:

afterwards he said to me that he appreciated that i talked to him abt this and unless somebody talks abt it they wont even know abt the problems and wont be able to solve them so he was glad i brought them up and all this is good for the company.

what can i say. i am lucky my boss is a super cool guy and receptive to feedback :k:

ofcourse this doesnt mean i shud complain all the time at every little thing, but when i do have some real complaints abt some real issues that have prolonged over some time then i am glad that he’s willing to listen n solve the issues. very cool alhamdulillah. :slight_smile:

:hula:

Good going Irem. :) Dont you guys wash up after yourselves though, I mean the cutlery and stuff?

thanks cat

nope we dont yaar, there's a cleaning boy who does...

^^ see its mostly because of the desi attitude... office me job kya mil gayi, subb apne aap ko laat saab samajhne lagte heiN... people are too spoiled by having cleaning boys/girls running after them - work in a multinational, and everyone has to look after his own cutlery / food leftovers etc.... be it a secretary... be it the CEO.

I still remember two weeks ago when I went for a meeting at GE where I used to work previously, the dept. VP there offered coffee and washed a cup for me and made coffee for me... at the end of the meeting, I had forgotten to wash my cup and it still bothers me so much!!!

And he is a memon!!!

*Originally posted by irem: *
thanks cat

nope we dont yaar, there's a cleaning boy who does...

err lol. Its not that hard to rinse a cup and put it away. I think you guys also need to take some responsibility.

now that i would say is an extreemly good experiance. I mean the actions were taken within two hour. Good to know that.

*Originally posted by Umar Talib: *
^^ see its mostly because of the desi attitude... office me job kya mil gayi, subb apne aap ko laat saab samajhne lagte heiN... people are too spoiled by having cleaning boys/girls running after them - work in a multinational, and everyone has to look after his own cutlery / food leftovers etc.... be it a secretary... be it the CEO.

Bhai sahab, that´s the way things are in Pk.

I have worked in offices here in Europe as well as in Pakistan. The attitude that you are critisizing is the most natural thing for people there.

Here (in the West) it is automatically assumed that everyone looks after his own food leftovers, etc. which is a good thing. However if someone working in an office Pakistan would start washing his cutlery, it would look really, really odd to people there. Like it or not, but that attitude creates "rooz ki roti" for that cleaning boy.

^^ wohi tow... pata nahi hamare loagoN ko kya inferiority complex hote heiN... apne bartann aap dhone se ghiss tow nahi jaayeN ge... yaa chote tow nahi ho jaayeN gey?!!!

as far as the cleaning boy / girl goes, I have no problem with having them around to look after company facilities and assets that are "collectively" used... janitors and sweepers provide a reverential service - use it, but don't abuse it.

Thanks for sharing irem. I hope our people also feel no shame in doing their own work. Once I was doing gardening in my front lawn outside the gate in Islamabad. Every passer by was staring at me…I thought maybe something was wrong with how I looked, but later realized when my neigbor asked…“You don’t have a mali (gardener)”? I said we do but I like doing some things myself. Another person asked “Aap idhar mulazim hain”. :rolleyes: I would still not give up this , since I just love gardening. Anyway our people have weird attitudes. When are we going to understand that it is also sunnah to do your own work.

Why did call this topic "Shoud I not have..."? You should have called it "I cleaned up the office"

You did a very good favor for the whole crew, good job :flower1:

Hmm….Let me see.

– can’t use the restroom for 1 to 1.5 hours every morning;
– the restroom is quite dirty from the previous day as it is not cleaned every morning;

• The kitchen is dirty in the morning with dirty dishes from the previous night lying in the kitchen;
  • The refrigerator is not cleaned regularly and it has leftovers from a few days lying in there;
  • There is dirt and a garbage bag by the front door;
  • The locks on the bathroom don’t always work.

This sounds eerily like my ** FREAKING HOME. **

Irem: If you do get another VISA to the US, remind me not to invite you to my house as a guest. All I’ll get are complaints. :snooty:

waisya irem frankly speaking
tell me what would be your boss’ response
had these points raised by a male :hoonh:

Umar it can be explained by the economic levels or purchasing power or cost of labor in each country. In the US having someone else to do the dishes is exhorbitant compared to the cost of having the employee do it themselves cause of labor costs, hence the ingenious use throwaway items for everything, plates, cups etc. In Pakistan its easier and cheaper to use regular housewares and have a cleaner come around and do the cleaning. The time taken to clean the pots is the same in both places, the only difference been the cost of having someone do them vis a vis the cost of the employee doing them or having throw away items.

hmcq whoa hoa! woh ayay hamari thread mein Khuda kee Kudrat hae!!! u’ve become an eid ka chaand :hoonh: thanks for nawaazing my thread with ur reply :smiley: even tho half of it went above my head :smiley:

umair82 waise frankly speaking mujhay kya pata :hoonh: i cant just predict can i :hoonh: aap aa k ye points raise ker leyn and then we’ll see :hoonh:

:stuck_out_tongue:

myvoice OMG u lazy person!!! clean ur home and make it ready for my arrival!!! i am coming there whether u invite me or not!!! as a fellow guppie thats my right!!! and u know us desis r famous for being uninvited guests :Pagri:

belle, thanks :slight_smile: waise to be honest i did it for myself coz i want water in the morning coz i need to wash my face after arriving at the office u c :smiley:

Tb haww phir to log mujhay samajhtay mein koi kaam karnay wali safai wali maasi hoon :stuck_out_tongue:

Islamabad, thats cool that u like gardening, its awesome :k: I have no problem at all in doing my work, its just that thats not the enforced system in our office u c :slight_smile:

Umar this is our culture. nothing wrong with it. its not abt having an inferiority complex or anything. its just, i dono, its the way it is :smiley:
Umer bhai is totally right too.

Umer bhai exactly :k:

stupid idiot, yup i was impressed too!

catwoman read my reply to Umar above yaar

Asif2000 yes he is..!l! r u too? :fraudia:

yes