Should I accept this invitation?

As Salaam Alaikum!

You are invited to our Monthly Durood Mehfil at our house Inshallah.

Please join us with your family

Program:
Recite Durood -15 minutes
Recite Ayat Kareema - 10 minutes
Recite Durood - 5 minutes
Dua
Dinner

Inshallah hope to see you!

Re: Should I accept this invitation?

Some people say don’t go it’s bidah but some say it’s a mehfil encouraging remembrance of Allah, even in regular gatherings it is encouraged that we should remember Allah so they don’t become our Pakar in Akhira…

Also I found this reference for such mehfils

Difference between NAFL and BIDAH

Nafl acts of worship are those, which are allowed according to some “Basic Rule” of Sharia and there is no condition of any “Direct” orders about them in Quran or Sunnah.
Sahaba Karam used to do a lot of such Nafl acts of worship according to their own Ijtehaad and Prophet (saw) never declared their such new acts of Nafl worship as misguided innovation. For example:

Sahih Muslim, ‏الذكر والدعاء والتوبة والاستغفار‏ (The Book of Remembrances, Supplications, Repentance and Seeking Forgiveness):

Abu Sa’id Khudri reported that Mu’awiya went to a circle in the mosque and said: What makes you sit here? They said: We are sitting here in order to re- member Allaah. He said: I adjure you by Allaah (to tell me whether you are sitting here for this very purpose)? They said: By Allaah, we are sitting here for this very purpose. Thereupon, he said: I have not demanded you to take an oath, because of any allegation against you and none of my rank in the eye of Allaah’s Messenger (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam) is the narrator of so few ahadith as I am. The fact is that Allaah’s Messenger (sallAllaahu alayhi wa sallam) went out to the circle of his Companions and said: What makes you sit? They said: We are sitting here in order to remember Allaah and to praise Him for He guided us to the path of Islam and He conferred favours upgn us. Thereupon he adjured by Allaah and asked if that only was the purpose of their sitting there. They said: By Allaah, we are not sitting here but for this very purpose, whereupon he (the Messenger) said: I am not asking you to take an oath because of any allegation against you but for the fact that Gabriel came to me and he informed me that Allaah, the Exalted and Glorious, was talking to the angels about your magnificence.

Comments:

This tradition is talking about 2 incidents where Sahab and Tabaeen made the Circles for Worship according to their own Ijtehaad.

First such circles for worship were made by Sahaba during the time of Prophet (saw) when he (saw) by chance came to the mosque and saw Sahaba sitting in circles and worshipping Allah. This thing was new for Prophet (saw) too. Therefore, he (saw) asked Sahaba what they were doing? They answered that they sat in circles and they were remembering Allah. When Prophet (saw) came to knew that, he did not declare this new act of worship to be Misguided Bidah, but he was full of praise for this new act of worship. The reason was this that making such circles was a Nafl worship and Islamic Sharia allows such new act according to one own’s Ijtehaad and one own’s chosen time.

And 2nd such circles for worship were formed by Sahaba/Tabaeen during the era of Muawiyyah. They also made these circles according to their own Ijtehaad and according to their own chosen time and they even didn’t know about the first incident which happened during the era of Prophet (saw). Upon that Muawiyyah told them about that 1st incident and how greatly Prophet (saw) praised for such new act of forming cirlces and remembering Allah.

Thus it is proved from this Hadith:

Sahaba formed those circles for remembering Allah according to their own Ijtehaad.
Prophet (saw) had not previously given them any such orders.
Sahaba themselves chose the time for this new act of worship.
And when Prophet (saw) came to know about this new act of remembering Allah in circles, he didn’t declare it to be misguided innovation, but he highly praised it.

Kindly help me out

Mashallah, quite a comprehensive invitation.

I would check whats there in menu.

But well, in all seriousness, i would first ask what do you want to do? Go or no?

Everybody would take it in a different way. we’ve many posters who believe in durood-Salam while some take it as bid’ah. I would say if its from someone very close to you, do go. But again, its a social answer not a religious one.

For sure we have to go and recite darood
There’s nothing wrong
Wallahu alam

I generally accept these invitations as the food is pretty good in most cases. I have been to both Kunday and Milads. I generally go late, have food and try to leave :slight_smile: so far no one has figured that out as they keep inviting.

Masha Allah these gatherings are No Doubt Blessed by Allah SWT!

May I propose a Dua at the end of the gathering, this dua was sent to me by a Friend of mine; may Allah bless him!

ﺑِﺴْـــــــﻢِﷲِﺍﻟﺮَّﺣْﻤَﻦِﺍلرَّﺣِﻴﻢ

**Rabbana Aatina Fid Dunya Hasanaton Wa Fil Aakheerati Hasanaton Waqeena Aazaban Naar…

Waqeena  Aazabul  Qabr                            Waqeena Aazabul Hashr 

Waqeena Aazabul Faqr                               Waqeena Aazabul Meezaan                       

Waqeena Aazabul Karz Waqeena Aazabul Marz

Waqeena Aazabul Aafaat Waqeena Aazabul Sakraat

Waqeena Aazabul Mauth                          Waqeena Aazabul Fitnatul Masihid Dajjal

Waqeena Aazaban Naar… (Ameen)

Yeh bahut kimti DUA hai

Salam Tahurra, how are you, family?
I agree with you. We should recite durood and salam.

However I think the disagreement starts with the method adopted in milad. When they join and say it in chorus. And the logic behind the action that salam must be said while standing etc. I think these all add up together to make a counter-opinion

Have never heard of ‘durood’ mehfil. Ive been to milaad mehfil many times but not durood mehfil. And just to point out and i dont know how many people know this. Ayat qareema must not be read casually by anyone in any state. Its a strong ayah. One reciting should be ultra clean physically and spiritualy. Even ifnyou have eaten garlic or any food which leaves some ki d of aroma in your mouth then make sure to thoroughly wash your mouth before you decide to recite ayat qareema. Furthermore, people keeping any grudge or hate in their hearts for anyone in which they are not justified actually suffer when reciting this ayay. So make sure your heart, body, mind and soul is clear of any sins, sinful destructive thoughts, bad i tention for others, any dirt on your body or clothes as minor as drop of water.

I see pakistanis forwarding chain of message telling people to read it without informing about its effects and formalities to recite it. Maybe reciting 1-2 times is not so bad. But here you see they are going to spend 10 minutes which meaning atleast 100 times for each present.

Just wanted to point out that.

There are many different type of ‘mehfils’ or gatherings. I have seen Surah Yaseen mehfils where a certain number are to be read or a Qur’an Khatam mehfil where we try to finish a Qur’an in one sitting or more commonly Durood Shareef/Salaway mehfils where different types of salawat are read, typically form the Sunnah and also the burdah is read. I personally prefer the the reading of the Shimmering Light to a typical desi milaad gathering.

Let’s say your cousin is getting married, the gathering will be mixed and there will be dancing, would you be posing the same question?
I think getting together to remember Allah swt is a fantastic idea, much better than having a dawaat or a get together where people indulge in idle chatter, no?

If you still have any doubts, I recall in a book of hadith where the prophet sallalhu alaihi waalihi wasalam gathered some of his companions RA and they all raised their hands and did zikr of Allah swt thereby proving that such gathering are a sunnah. i will try and get back to you with the source inshaAllah that will help you make a decision as to whether you should go or not :slight_smile:

Don’t see what’s the issue

Any remberance/recitation is encouraged

Hi

What is reading of the shimmering light? Never heard of that.

Also dont know what Salaway and burdah is???

I know about Yaseen reading mehfils.

Just curious, whats your opinion if there is a mix gathering but no dance, like absolutely no music?

Since we’re talking about Islam here…Islam is not based on my/anybodys opinion, rather it is based on the teachings of RasoolAllah sallalahu alaihi waalihi wasalam. If you are muslim, then I am sure you will know what he taught us regarding this matter (and that is what I accept and try to imbibe personally- to answer your question :)) or you can consult your local/trusted imam for further clarification.

Please dont get me wrong. My knowledge about religion is limited, guilty as charged, but I do try to use common sense.

Unfortunately a ton of bad things that include murders etc are going on, "on the name of " God and prophet(s). Infact its happening in other religions as well.

Now why did I ask your opinion is cuz i myself saw this and let me jot this scenario down: Two siblings/families. Both devoted muslims. One gets married, the other one and their family dont attend at all just cuz the gathering was a mixed gathering, even though there was a small section made for “Parde-daar” people. But the one who boycotted said that this entire ceremony is haram since its originally mixed.

To me it makes absolutely no sense. It only induces more hatred towards each other and thus shaping up as a new “fitna”. But as I said, all in the name of religion :slight_smile:

That’s just a single scenario. Doesn’t happen everywhere. I speak from personal experience.

Yes, and it shouldnt be. But do you agree that the sibling’s reaction or decision to not attend for this reason was wrong?