Shocking shopping experience

So we’ve been shopping today, to have a look at Ramadhan offers so we can stock up now rather than doing a mad panic shop when everyone else.

I’ve just witnessed why I seriously have an issue shopping in Asian/desi stores! There is an offer on mango boxes- 3x 2kg boxes for £10.00. All boxes are prepacked and weighed.

So why on this earth did I just watch a massi (auntie) squishing loads of mangoes into one of the boxes leaving behind 2 mangoes in another box for some poor soul to buy?! Massi stood there stuffing the boxes to the brim. Why do that?!

If I saw someone doing that in Asda, one dirty look would make them think twice, this auntie wasn’t even bothered!

Ergh, I even have to go back to get some tinned stuff that I forgot to get today.

Anyone witnessed something similar and wanted the ground to swallow them up?

Re: Shocking shopping experience

Yep , thieves , crooks , criminals , cheats come in all shape , sizes , gender, and nationalities. Have seen this and many other odd things people do in desi and non desi stores.

My friends work in a supermarket here. There are more thieves among whites (both employees and customers) than other people there.

Oh yes, they come in all nationalities, however when you've got naats playing in the background, announcements about Ramadhan timetables are available on the customer service desk and so on, you really don't expect people to go to the level of erm semi-theft (I call it this as the lady still paid for the goods, even if they were above the weight stated on the box).

People pick pockets in Kaba too.

Seriously?! I've never had the opportunity to go yet (Inshallah hope to one day) but I never expected that.

Maybe it's just me, I imagined people esp in places of holier uphold (e.g. Kaba) would fear Allah and his punishment more.

^yes seriously, i lost chappal twice when i went for umrah, and they pick pocket too.

oh man that sucks! you should have told the dukaan-wala....

^:p why would i tell dukaan wala

lol, i meant the OP?

well why not tell the store owner someones stealing from his store. Or is that legal?

i would just make a very rude comment so they get the hint :D

I've seen someone doing this too, it was an African lady. She wasn't bothered that people were watching her, she was more worried about stuffing extra mangoes in to her boxes! Some people have no shame.

I did Sara. I went up politely and mentioned the situation, he turned around and said "ye masala haar ramzan se pehle hota hai". When I was looking at at the mango boxes the same dude (shop owner) started asking me where the other mangoes had gone from the box that had only two little mangoes sitting in it. I just stood there wanting to thump him. What did he think I was on about beforehand when I spoke to him?!

Ergh. Well I've learnt my lesson in that store in particular, look down, don't talk to anyone and take your own scales with you to check the weight of items that are pre-packed.

lol, that happens here too. i've actually seen stores put tons of tape over the entire box, so that you can't take out or add mangoes unless you cut open and destroy the box.

^that's actually a practical and good idea. I might take some tape in and tape some boxes up for them as a gesture of Ramadhan will.