Shoaib's five-year ban reduced to 18 months

don’t know what you guys think but personally I would have gone for a higher fine and minimum (6 months) or no ban in the larger interests of Pakistan cricket knowing how desperately we need him against tougher sides esp. in test matches. Don’t be fooled by Pakistan’s performance against India today. We are defending a 300+ total in an ODI and the Indians are chasing under pressure and this one could still go either way.

Shoaib would be 34 and would have missed his peak months by the time his ban ends (October 2009). There is still some hope as he is thinking about appealing again against this reduced ban. And boy he needs counselling big time.

http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/354771.html

Shoaib Akhtar’s five-year ban has been reduced to 18 months by the PCB-appointed appellate tribunal, but **he will have to pay a fine of Rs 7 million (approx US$105,000). **The Pakistan board had, on April 1, banned him on various disciplinary grounds.

“The tribunal has taken the decision [to reduce Shoaib’s ban] with a clear conscience and under no pressure from either the board or anyone else,” Justice (retd) Aftab Farrukh, the head of the three-man tribunal, said in Karachi, adding that it was an unanimous decision.
**Explaining the tribunal’s verdict, Farrukh said: “We also took into consideration the past record of Shoaib and that he had publicly apologised](http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/347889.html) for his behaviour and past deeds. He has promised to reform himself and we have also recommended to the board that he should be given proper counselling.” **

Another member of the tribunal, Naveed Chaudhry, was pushing for the complete removal of the ban, with the provision of higher fine, but was overruled. “I wanted him [Shoaib] to play but pay a hefty fine of 20 million, but the other two members thought otherwise.” The third member, former Test cricketer Haseeb Ashan, did not attend the meeting, but gave his consent over telephone.
Meanwhile, Shoaib’s lawyer, Abid Hasan Minto, said that he may pursue a further appeal against the reduced ban. “We will take a decision after going through the long and detailed order of the tribunal.”

The Pakistan board issued the ban after Shoaib, who was not being offered a contract by the PCB, lashed out at domestic tournaments, pitches and the administration in general. He made the comments while on a two-year probation after hitting team-mate Mohammad Asif with a bat before the World Twenty20 last year.

Re: Shoaib's five-year ban reduced to 18 months

kiyaa bander baaNt hai yaar.

It is but kabhi kabhi gudhay ko bhi baap banana parta hai :)

abaY yaar.. aisaY gadhaY kaa kiyaa faaida :smack:

I seriously think, people like Ayoob Akhtar and Jamshed should be given chance now :o

None of these guys has explosive pace. There is no substitute for out and out pace (and every side needs atleast one such bowler. Australia has Lee, NZ has Bond, SA Ntini and Steyn, SLA Malinga and so on) and till such time we find a bowler of Shoaib’s pace I feel we have little option but to stick with him

All of the above are always available for their team....

shoaib is there for half of a game in a given series...

As good as he is, and as much as I like him because of the sheer entertainment and rocketing out the wickets of the opponents, I feel he has become a liability since a long time...

Does Shoaib even have money to cover his [reduced] ban? If it is removed, 20 million rupees is not an easy money to get to, even with all the star-power and attraction. He has been paying and re-paying the fines for so long I thought he might have to sell his motor-cycle one day.

To be the devil's advocate (I know most of the people here are against Shoaib), how's the $105,000 fine justified? A fine usually is (or should be) a portion of the income/salary the player would've made. This is to impress on the offending party that indulging in indiscipline would reduce his income and his livelihood.

It seems patently unjust to ask someone to pay $105,000 and only then he'd be permitted to get back the job AFTER 18 months.. a job that earns him only a fraction of the amount he's paying as a fine.

If you look at the PCB central contracts, even the grade A players aren't given $105,000 a year. Shoaib was offered something like grade D contract, which he refused to sign. The only way he can afford to pay the fine is his past earnings, his sponsorships, and his IPL contract this year (2008). Because of the ban, Shoaib would have to forego his 2009 IPL season.

There isn't much incentive for him to actually pay the fine. He might as well retire from international cricket, and this be eligible to at least play the IPL next season and beyond.