Shoaib should be made vice-captain

Shoaib should be made vice-captain, says Alam

Ashish Magotra in Mohali | March 09

Intikhab Alam was one of Pakistan’s great all-rounders; a superb leg-spinner and a hard-hitting batsman any team would be happy to have.

Presently, the 63-year old is coach of the Punjab Ranji Trophy team and finds the state a home away from home

“I feel absolutely no difference here Punjab]. I have really enjoyed coaching in the Ranji Trophy and the team has responded by reaching the semi-finals. It is a good, young team with a lot of talent,” says the former Pakistan captain and coach.

Despite Shoaib Akhtar not making the ongoing tour, talk of him still abounds

The Pakistani fast bowler can excite crowds throughout the world with his brilliant bowling but, at the same time, is also the team’s enfant terrible.

But Alam has a different opinion of him.

“Akhtar is a good kid and you have to treat him right. And, right now, the coach doesn’t seem to be doing that. He remains one of the few bowlers capable of winning a match on his own. If I would have it my way, I would make him the Pakistan team’s vice-captain. I am sure the responsibility would help him become an even better player,” he says.

Giving responsibility helps, as we have seen in the case of Australia skipper Ricky Ponting, who was a little rough around the edges before captaincy happened to him.

Alam also realizes that Bob Woolmer might be having a difficult time as coach.

“Coaching a Pakistan team can be very difficult. There are a lot of egos involved but I never really had any problems. I shared a good rapport with the team.”

During Alam’s reign as coach, the Pakistan team was divided into two distinct segments. One led by Imran Khan and the other by Javed Mianded.

“They were both very different. Imran was the serious guy, who was always thinking about cricket and tactics. Javed was the fun-loving guy, who was always up to some prank on the other. They both had to be handled differently.”

From Imran and Miandad, talk shifted to the art of leg-spinning, and Anil Kumble and Danish Kaneria, who are playing in the first Test at Mohali.

“Kumble is a very good bowler and his strength is his consistency. On the Mohali wicket, his accuracy is very important, because it is a wicket that good batsmen enjoy batting on. Kaneria, on the other hand, is still young and there is a lot he can learn.”

Asked to name his favourite leg-spinner, Alam had no hesitation in naming Shane Warne.

“Warne is my favourite because of the way he gets his wickets. He belongs to a different era. That doesn’t mean Kumble isn’t as good. Anybody with over 400 wickets has to be good. This is just my personal opinion. Among Indian leg-spinners, I would rate Subhash Gupte, who I played cricket against, as head and shoulders above the rest.”

Re: Shoaib should be made vice-captain

:rolleyes:

**Alam also realizes that Bob Woolmer might be having a difficult time as coach.

"Coaching a Pakistan team can be very difficult. There are a lot of egos involved but I never really had any problems.**

^ that’s an overstatement .. current team is masha’Allah committed and quite selfless .. those who do have the ego problem are being considered to be vice-captain.

:rolleyes:

that's the stupidest thing ive ever heard... if anything shoaib should be made the waterboy

As much as I dislike Shoaib for his professional demeanor, to be quite honest, the thought has crossed my mind a few times... I've seen a lot of people change for the better when delegated responsibility - it brings out the better in them when they know they have to saddle the consequences of not their own actions but others' actions too.

That being said, for something like this to ever happen, first Shoaib needs to gain the respect of his peers by showing that he's committed and dedicated to the team's cause and not his own interests...
cuz we all know he's capable... just not committed.

Might be worth trying.maybe a bit of responsibility will keep him straight and make him a bit more committed,that is if he's wanted in the team in the first place:D

We can definitely make him the non-playing vice captain. So when he is nursing his newest injury in the dressing room, he can direct action in the field by hand gestures (like Miandad used to do in his coaching days). Perfect.

yea, something like disco/entertaining-VC, a person responsible for entertainment of team off-field :smiley:

^ thats some serious job man :mad: not every city has yellow pages where you can find the night clubs. its gotta be someone who knows the business inside out. :wink:

Not long ago, i started a similar thread about giving shoaiby baby the responsibility of not the VC's armband, but that of the capt..As mentioned b4 , that would be the make or break of him..If he is unable to take responsibility even as a capt, then he never will and i feel that would be his end..I say throw him at the deep end. He takes no time to critisize others so lets see how he would fair.

Yup , Your chosen elites are doing a much better job shopping and eating greasy food. :clown: :clown:

At least you can teach them to wash hands after eating and then enter the field.

This way they won’t drop all those catches and do missfields atleast. :rolleyes:

Imagine SHOAIB bowling to “This idiotic field set” where the Captain ^ (not you!) takes the ‘Slips’ off after few initial spells, and gives his V-Captain a rest in the MOTEL HEART BREAK SLIP. If I were Shoaib I would start sending ‘Beamers’ at lone slip cordon :mad: :devil: and kill the beast.

Good to See ^ many of you ^ still ‘Burning in Shoaib Fever’ :smiley:

Now blame it on RAIN folks since he’s not playing :elmo:

I have given it a thought a few times in past about making Shoaib captain. I don't think he can get along as VC with Inzamam or anyone else for that matter. Very likely Inzi will loose his captaincy after this current Indian tour is over and so far signs are shouting loud that Younis won't last as VC either.

May be for WI we can contemplate Shoaib Akhtar as Captain and Shoaib Malik as VC :D

These are my EXPERT analysis as well, but unlike you, I will not recommend to Shoaib Akhter to still play Rao Shao/Sami shami/. It will be a new Pace talant hunt under the new PCB chair and the slection commtt. etc etc etc,,,,,,

A proxy bowling coach +++ :D

We will be going from a Vice Capt. who can't make the team as a batsman to a Vice Capt. who will be consistently out of the team because of prennial injuries.....

----------x----st—j–u–d–n-------

Yes ^ because the fastest bowler in the world is no joke. It takes lots a strain
on the body - long runup or short run up don’t matter. :elmo: (As if you didn’t know)

They won’t look so faked if you ‘dare to stop’ reading the media/public $hit. :mad:

Imagine SHOAIB bowling to "This idiotic field set" where the Captain ^ (not you!) takes the 'Slips' off after few initial spells,,, and gives his V-Captain a rest in the MOTEL HEART BREAK SLIP. If I were Shoaib I would start sending 'Beamers' at lone slip cordon and kill the beast.

no doubt inzi is an idiot.

and i should be made PCB chairman :)

stupid idea @ shoaib as VC

...Giving responsibility helps...

help my foot! isnt this like k "lerka bara hee AAWARA aur BEKAR ho gaya hogaya hai , iss kee SHADI ker doo THEEK ho jayee ga"

------------x–st–j–u–d–n-------

Time tested - time gauged Buzurgoun ka formula hai , do you have any other choice
pehlay jaisay bohat ‘Kadoo mai teer’ martay thay sab,:smiley:

So you are saying that Showboat Actor has never been genuinely injured…

^ Where did you get that impression from? :konfused:

Mai bhi kuch inhi lines per sooch raha tha:D