Shoaib Mohammad - The fashion photographer

Apparently, Shoaib Mohammad has become a hotshot fashion photographer in Pakistan now. Not many cricketers have a successful career that’s not related to cricket (commentary, coaching etc). Check this out:

Re: Shoaib Mohammad - The fashion photographer

I never thought he was much of a batsman anyway. Very ordinary, and likes to harp on about the one good year he had against the pathetic Kiwis and how he was "number one in world rankings" at that time.

He was a good batsman, technically correct, but slow as molasses. If he actually was No. 1 in the world, then that's a great achievement, since no other Pakistani batsman, to my recollection, has been No. 1 in the world except for Inzimam during the early - mid 90s.

I never saw a batsman as good as him for a Test Side ever…
I mean I remember those Kaalu deewaanaYs putting all their effort and hearts out to bowl at him and all he used to do was “Tukk” :hehe:

When he refers to that “number one ranking”, he probably talks about Maleer doodh waalay ki cricket rankings. Trust me, he was never the top batsman in the world :o .

^ agreed. Shoaib Mohammad was not only an average batsman but he was also very boring to watch.

Boring, unattractive batsmen who scored 5 centuries against Kiwis. 3 on flat Pakistan tracks and 2 on flat New Zealand pitches in drawn games. Became the world # 1 batsmen just because he had the highest average in 1990-91 (Probably thats why I am biased and never liked him after that, otherwise he had the typical test temperament which we don't see these days).

I won't consider any of these innings his best. Instead his performace against Windies in their backyard back in 1987 was something he can be proud of. That was indeed the highlight of his career in my opinion. Another good knock was against England back in 1987 during the 4th test where he helped Pakistan in drawing the game. Pakistan eventually won the series 1-0.

And yes, he was a very good fielder.

All of u guys commenting on Shoaib Mohammed how average or good he was, bhai or sud I say Uncles, aap log tho achay khasay senior citizens hein, mashallah mashallah kaafee lumbee umar hai....with all due respect

Trust me, I have seen his innings on tape (yes, summer vacations as a teenager rocked). All his innings were on flat tracks where everbody scored loads of runs.

If memory serves, he was one of the better fielders in the Pak side of the time.

Add to the fact that he was “number one batsman in the world” for one year :o . I say we pick him for the world cup squad for next month as soon as possible.

And he could bowl offspin too! I say Pakistan's opening conundrum is solved.

I am sure he will still do a better job with the bat then our so called openers. Only if we had a grafter in our ranks today the results in our test matches would be much different.
BTW he was a much better player than Ramiz Raja yet Raja was persisted with due to our age old nepotism problem.
I beleive the Mohammad (Hanif, Mushtaq etc.) family has been unfairly dealt with through out the cricketing history of Pakistan. A lot had to do with the ethnicity of these players that was quite prevalent in those days. I however believe that we are much better now in that sense so at least something has improved.
He was no doubt a very boring person to watch but at least he did the job required of him. Also a lot has changed on how the game is being approached today versus 10-15 years ago. Today if someone is to look at the footage of Gavaskar they will find it as boring as Shoaib.
He served Pakistan well, was prematurely dropped because of politics and I am happy that he found success outside of cricket
All the best to him

*Hey buddy, scoring against pathetic Kiwi attacks on flat tracks is not grafting. Even Yasir Hameed has done that! *

"Buddy"
You need to look at the stats before passing judgements. The best team of his era by a mile was WI.

The guy has an average of 38 (career average 44) against them at a time when anything above 35 was considered good. Let us compare him to the best batsmen Pakistan has produced and who also happens to be his contemporary Javed Miandad:

Miandad Career Average against WI: 29.78
Miandad Career Average against NZ: 79
Miandad Career Average against India:67

Shoaib Career Average against WI: *38 *
Shoaib Career Average against NZ: 106
Shoaib Career Average against India:55

Granted Miandad played more tests against WI than Shoaib but then Miandad played more tests against NZ as well so it should average it out

The most pathetic team then was SL against whom he averaged 57 and Miandad 41. NZ was still much better than Sri Lanka. He has a phenomenal record against NZ but so does Miandad. So does it mean that Miandad is a useless player?

BTW Inzamam's average against Australia is 31 (overall ave. 50)

The fact remains that he was amongst the better openers that we had but was never given enough of a run to prove himself due to politics. While you are perfectly entitled to your opinion you simply cannot say that he scored only against one country which is why his average is what it is.

Comparing him to the likes of Yasir, Hafeez, Farhat and Butt is an insult. The guy was a proper cricketer with a compact technique and he learnt it from his father who is a legend in his own right

shok da koi mol naheen....I have been fortunate to see this player live and he is much much better than the current crop in terms of technique and performances. Then again he gives credit to his mentor, Imran Khan who made all the difference btw mediocrity and talent.

Listen buddy, I bet you I can stay at the wicket longer than the current lot of openers we have playing for Pakistan. Context mere bhai, context. Don’t glorify a mediocre player by comparing him with the likes of Imran Farhat!

Miandad was also #1 batsman in late 80's. He had a run of 8 consecutive 50+ scores and that put him on the top of ODI batsmen list. Speaking of Shoaib Mohd, I think he was pretty good as a test batsman. I remember the Pak-India series where he averaged more than manjreker, even though manjreker scored more runs than anyone among two teams. Also highlight of that series was Waqar Younis's yorkers.

I remember that series. In fact, I watched the game in Lahore live.. it was boring as hell, so the authorities had announced "free admission" for schools and college students. Miandad and Shoaib Mohammad were batting, it was Miandad's 100th test, and as he neared the century, he had slowed to a crawl. Shoaib scored pretty quickly and outpaced Miandad to get his century. He in fact made a double century while Miandad made around 150. Yes, it was the debut series for both Waqar Younis and Sachin Tendulkar.

I considered myself insane watching him bat live. You watching it on tape is the height of idiocy! Are you pagal?