Re: SHOAIB MALIK
Nikkemay who is going to decide about the selective ones? ![]()
What if I say that people with post more than 2000 will be allowed to view it ![]()
J/k
Nikkemay who is going to decide about the selective ones? ![]()
What if I say that people with post more than 2000 will be allowed to view it ![]()
J/k
Wow, great information RJ sahib, welcome to the gupshup :k:
there is a pakistani actor by this name.
r u dat one ![]()
Sir with all due respect, please share some interesting behind the scene or dressing room situations. Your posts sound self-centered, 'he said this to me' or 'he gave me this to me' or 'WE are good friends since then' etc etc. Sorry, but it gets boring when one is monotonous on any topic, start-middle-end has Me all over. I value your pre-partition cenima review, it was creative and informative.
Well Said Smooth. No doubt information are very interesting but messenger sound more like a Pakistani Babbu (clerk) then a professional.
It seems like he loves to mention names of different cricketers wives to prove he knew them. If we are talking of Waqar and Wasim regarding cricket and Pakistani dressing room then there is no point disucssing their wives.
I second that. After all these insights should not be free to public :) free to members only. Please install some mods to hide the post if you have not done this. Thank you in advance.
Raju this is really interesting. Thank you once again for all the insights. Looking forward to more....
I really feel sad about the relationship between Wasim and Waqar. Wasim should have at least thought how Khan sahib tought him everything and made him the sultan of swing so he should have been the same to other Pakistan players. But he was a big juwari...he came from a poor family and thus ended up making money be it the right way or wrong way. As Nikema put it very nicely that at the end the lose was Pakistan cricket not Wasim or Waqar.
Also Raju sahib do you have any insight about the 99 WC Final?
Thank you.
I think if you guys want to make this forum more appealing to public then you should leave it open. When non member will view these information, some will agree and others will disagree; in both cases there are chances that they will like to express their views, and they could do so only if they are member, so it can provide a good advertising tool.
If you restrict these information to member only then you are trying to restrict the possible increase in the membership of this site.
Well Said Smooth. No doubt information are very interesting but messenger sound more like a Pakistani Babbu (clerk) then a professional.
It seems like he loves to mention names of different cricketers wives to prove he knew them. If we are talking of Waqar and Wasim regarding cricket and Pakistani dressing room then there is no point disucssing their wives.
He doesn't need to prove anything. If he wants to discuss something even if it is about their wives but is directly/indirectly related to a player then let him.
Remember he is not required or is not getting paid to share this information with all of us, so atleast respect him for that.
I just read the title of the thread and thought someone had something to say about Shoaib Malik so I didnt even bother clicking on it till now. Welcome to GS Raju and thanks for the information provided.
By the way in that test series in Australia when you were the media manager I was wondering what was the reason behind so many different combinations tried in a three test rubber. I understand we lost 3-0 but the team would probably never had settled with so many different players in and out. We tried Mohammad Wasim as well as Wajahatullah Wasti for openrs. Waqar Younis and Mohammad Akram in bowling. If I recall M. Akram did open the bowling with Wasim Akram and Shoaib Akhtar came first change in the match M. Akram played. I think Razzaq also played a game in there somewhere. Why not try and play with the best XI for all three tests ?
Mohammad Wasim's 92 was classical btw, he presents one of the straightest bats in the game. What is he upto these days ? Still playing for Otago or elsewhere ?
^ If I remember correctly Mohammad Wasim was playing for the NZ domestic team, Otago.
I remember back in his early days we use to call him Pakistani Mark Waugh :)
Yes, I remember too Raju Jamil, son of Aali Jee.
Mods i do think we should make this thread Private for KK members so that Raju Uncle feel comfortable answering qs...
Janey doo yaar kaun sa uncle bomb baneney ka formula bata rahey hain yahan per :)
and Raju welcome and thanks for the insight information !
He doesn't need to prove anything. If he wants to discuss something even if it is about their wives but is directly/indirectly related to a player then let him.
Remember he is not required or is not getting paid to share this information with all of us, so atleast respect him for that.
Don't take me wrong, I started my statement with "no doubt information are very interesting". So we do appreciate his contribution, but if he did serve Pakistan cricket at the level he is claiming then we expect higher level of professionalism from him. Again, we don't want to discourage him, rather in constructive way we are requesting more professionalism.
Janey doo yaar kaun sa uncle bomb baneney ka formula bata rahey hain yahan per :)
and Raju welcome and thanks for the insight information !
I often watched u on tv screen in VIP stands in Pakistan matches in sharjah years back.
You r delivering here really something special⦠:k:
I think I should :) plus I am also checking if we can make this thread private for GS members so that visitors cannot access it.
yaaar best bet is to set up a club in alldost, make it private and invite only people u want to it.
That Logo was absolutely horrible...i remeber there was not a single person in Pak who liked it...MR always seemed like an attention whore to me and thanks for clearifying on all this happen.
BTW, good couple of years ago i asked the well informed people of KK about that Logo and asked their opnion but to my surprise nobody remembered it and i was shocked at that.
Waqar was given only 1 out of 3 tour games before the 1st test game and even in that gamehe was bowled for less than 10 overs after given the ball even after razaaq.....then Wasim didnt play him in Brisbane...then waqay took 7 wickets in a side game which lead wasim play him at hobart......now what u just mentioned that Moin and Wasim came to ur room, was that befre brisbane test or on eve of Hobart test...how were relationship ebtween two during that hobart game....coz i remember very well that wasim didnt give alot of bowling ...he was given a 3 over first sspell...then again brought back on after 25 overs..and was given 2 over spell...and as soon as a wicket was taken (not by waqar but mahmood) he was taken off .....clearly not the way to treat a champion bowler...and when new batsmen got setteled down after 10 overs waqar was brought back on....again for a 2 over spell only.....all looked like as if Wasim wanted waqar to fail and wasim was doing every action to make sure he has an excuse to put waqar out for ever ...the longest waqar bowled was 4 overs in his last spell and we all saw what magc balls he produced in that spell....and after going through all of this when he removed Ponting Akrem was standing short extra covers, waqar just completly ignored himand and the look at akrem's face was just un-belivable..as he never wanted waqar to get wicket and he did everything possible to not to give waqar any chance to get one...
can u tell more about wasim waqar issues during that test match ...and why he was not given bowling when AUS were 120/5 and in final session akrem kept on bowling with Mahmodd, Razaaq and let Gilchrist settle in??
What eventually lead to waqar announce that press conference in Pak ...where he fir first time came out said that wasim is trying to destroy his career.....was there any telephonic contact between two made from Pak by waqar????? and how were relationship (on and off fieeld) during the C and U series....where waqar even won game for Pak with Bat in partnership with Saqalain?
I have always belived that Wasim, grat champion cricketr....but he hurt Pak cricket so much that it was just horrible...i have said enough on wasimwaqar isse and the sad thing is that eventual loser was not wasim nor waqar but Pak cricket.........
my feeling has always been that Moin played a big role in all that as being a PIA player he always felt like he needs to be in Wasim's camp, who played for PIA too...and he thought that as long as he kept wasim bhai happy he will have better chance to be in Pak squade...as he looked at waqar as someone who will favor rashid over him as both Rashid and Waqar played for UBL in early 90's and moin had to be alligned with Wasim bhai....and eventually it did pay off good for him........
can u explain bit more about how waqar handled wasim under his captaincy and what do u mean by saying that wasim backbenched waqar in SA and WC03......didnt waqar fight with PCB to have Akrem included in 01 Eng tour or that was justa rumor
I was plasently shocked to see wasim open the inning in 1st mornign at Brisbane and was very satisfied with his performace to me he should kept as opening batsmen for Pak as he provided ideal foil for an attacking Anwar and imagaine Moh wasim in 2002 onwards opening for Pak and atleast having one solid opener.....is there any story that we dont know about his downfall as player or his omission from team....as he didnt do too bad as opener in WI where he put on good 140+ partnership with Nazir!
Once again thans very much ur Insightfull Information!
WHOA!!! you sure talk & appear like some sports journalists!!!
Let's put it simply that the TWO Ws..initially under Immo...were great friends and played key roles in Pakistan's greatest moments in cricket of those years.
It was something--which took both of them away! and one thing led to the other and the most affected one due to their ICY or COLD WAR...was PAKISTAN CRICKET!! Unfortunately---I was a mere "audience/spectator" as I never missed a single ODI at Sharjah from 1983 through 1992 when I returned back to Pakistan from UBL's overseas posting at Abu Dhabi & Dubai. YES---I was quite close to Asif Iqbal, Mushtaq Muhammad, Bari, Haroon, Shoaib Muhammad etc.
When Vicky entered at Sharjah and created havoc by taking wickets (DEAN JONES & SIDHU's wickets were a prize to watch during Australasia Cup)....I knew that a jeaousy of Archie Andrews and REGGIE MANTLE kind between Vicky & Wasim is around the corner with no Veronica or Betty around THEN. What happened during their County days...could be the reason they went totally apart.
YES--I am critical on WASIM for not behaving the way a player should under his Captain...at SA World Cup!!!!
My next mail on this forum will tell all----what I did for WASIM AKRAM when he was in hiding after return from India after WORLD CUP-96. Its very interesting and all fact....
Mohammad Wasim shot himself on his foot! otherwise he could have made it big!
Some interesting tales on Inzy as well---and soon! but the next mail will make you enjoy & laugh on the joke I atribute to my one time buddy Inzy.
Cheers----------Raju
There was this Cricket County Club in England which was going through a rough patch...loosing one match after the other till the Manager decides to put up an advert.."BATSPERSON WANTED. ABILITY TO HIT THE BALL AN ADVANTAGE. APLLY SOOON...blah blah blah". WEEKS PASSED AND NO ONE APPLIED. THE MANAGER SAT ALONE AND WONDERED....WHAT EXACTLY IS WRONG AND JUST THAT MOMENT...IN WALKS A HORSE! WHO CASUALLY WALKS TO THE MANAGER PULLS A CHAIR, LIGHTS A CIGAR AND SAYS "I SAY...OLD CHAP...I BELIEVE YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A BATSPERSON?"..THE MANAGER IS BEWILDERED.." BUT YOU ARE A HORSE?"....." I KNOW THAT OLD BEAN...BUT YOU SEE I AM PRETTY GOOD WITH THE OLD WILLOW...AT LEAST TRY ME OUT".......SO THEY IMMEDIATELY GO OUT TO THE GROUND AND CLUB'S BEST BOWLER IS CALLED IN.....AND TO THE COMPLETE SURPRISE OF ALL...THE HORSE PLAYS EACH OF THE SIX BALLS FOR A SIX!!
"YOU ARE SELECTED...FOR THE NEXT KEY MATCH WE HAVE ON SUNDAY" SAYS THE MANAGER.
COMES SUNDAY....THE GROUND IS JAMPACKED....HAVING WON THE TOSS...THE CLUB DECIDES TO BAT FIRST....AND WE SEE THE HORSE WITH SHIN PADS ALL GEARED...WITH A PLAYER AS HIS PARTNER....WALKS TO THE STUMPS--TAKES GUARD AND TO THE SHEER EXCITEMENT & JUBILIATION OF THE SUPPORTERS---HITS ALL SIX BALLS FOR SIXES!!!! THE AUDIENCE IS DANCING AND JOY ALL AROUND.
NEXT OVER THE OTHER PARTNER PLAYS THE FIRST BALL TOWARDS GULLY AND RUNS FOR A SINGLE.....TO FIND THE HORSE CASUALLY LEANING ON HIS BAT AND STANDING AT BOWLER'S END..." RUN FRIEND RUN...FOR GOD'S SAKE RUN!!" SHOUTS THE BATSMEN!!!
"RUN?......DO ME A FAVOR MY FRIEND!!! IF I COULD RUN...I WOULD BE AT THE BLOODY EPSOM!!!!!!!" SAYS THE HORSE!!!
(That HORSE.....we had in Pakistan...was INZY!!)
Great stuff uncle rajuā¦.keep on postingā¦..I have a feeling that you want to share a lot of stories with us but you feel hesitant to do so (and understandably so) considering it is a public forum. But I assure you that KK community (not gupshup but exclusively THE KK community) is sort of self-selected and a tight-knitted community and KK posters have been posting here for yearsā¦.so go ahead and share all stories with us.
Being tax payers, it is our right to know what exactly these so-called superstars have been doing behind the curtains to destroy our cricket. I careless if a player drinks or sleeps around as it is his personal life but I am definitely interested in knowing episodes where these players tarnished the image of our great nation by plying juwa or doing politics. I also believe that you will be doing a heroic duty by bringing these stories out. And donāt be offended by remarks of some guppies. They do not mean it. So BRING IT ON UNCLE RAJU. Tell us more about juwa episode. Who brought it into the team? Did wasim play it in matches? Is salim malik innocent or not?
^ As always great post phoenix desi pai. Yes we are anxiously waiting for all those stories to be unfolded so please do not hesitate and please do not mind the guppies here. They all are cricket lover and due to that love they might cross the limits but still they are fanatics of cricket so please please do not mind and keep bringing up the stories. Waiting for the "Hiding of Wasim Akram" :)
omg this is the most fascinating thing i find on GS. thnx raju uncle for sharing with us.
plz mod i dont mind stopping outsider to read them, but plz dont restrict here.
i love all the post of this thread.
There was this Cricket County Club in England which was "RUN?......DO ME A FAVOR MY FRIEND!!! IF I COULD RUN...I WOULD BE AT THE BLOODY EPSOM!!!!!!!" SAYS THE HORSE!!!
(That HORSE.....we had in Pakistan...was INZY!!)
Uncle jee after one good post did you lost your mind? No doubt Inzi is not as smart as Jonty Rode or Deans Jones or Asif Iqbal might be but your comparison is just childish. Put some good stuffs if you have or else it is more respectable to watch and read.