Shoaib Malik retained as Captain - PCB award new central contracts

Cricket-Pakistan award new contracts, retain Malik as captain

KARACHI, Jan 6 (Reuters) - Pakistan awarded new central contracts to 26 players on Tuesday.

Saleem Altaf, chief operating officer of the Pakistan Cricket Board, told a news conference in Lahore that all the players had been recommended for the annual contracts by the national selection committee.

“They have been picked on the basis of seniority and performances in the last 12 months,” said Altaf while also confirming Shoaib Malik had been retained as captain.

“But if the selectors believe some other player is performing and deserves to be on the contracted list he can also be included.”

The board named uncapped batsmen Umar Amin and Azhar Ali on the list of contracted players as a reward for good performances in domestic cricket.
In the past, central contracts were only awarded to players who had been capped by Pakistan.

Altaf also said test match fees had risen to 350,000 rupees ($4,400). That money is paid in addition to the players’ monthly salaries.

List of centrally contracted players:

Category A (250,000 rupees per month) - Shoaib Malik, Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Danish Kaneria, Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Shahid Afridi

Category B (175,000 rupees) - Yasir Hameed, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohail Tanvir, Faisal Iqbal

Category C (100,000) - Yasir Arafat, Abdul Rehman, Fawad Alam, Rao Iftikhar, Sohail Khan, Nasir Jamshed, Sarfraz Ahmed, Khurrum Manzoor, Saeed Ajmal, Wahab Riaz, Umar Amin, Samiullah Niazi, Azhar Ali.

SOURCE: Cricket-Pakistan award new contracts, retain Malik as captain | Sports | Cricket | Reuters

Re: Shoaib Malik retained as Captain - PCB award new central contracts

**akhter has been moved from cat C to A
along with Kaneria :hayaa:
n tanvir is in cat B :hmmm:

Disagreements: Why has Sohail Tanvir been pushed to category B when he is a regular performer while Shoaib Akhtar (what!?) and Danish Kaneria moved to category A?

The selections are all right for what they are, just that some are placed higher than those who obviously have played more and featured more recently.

Question 1: Is PCB done with retainer contracts?

Question 2: Till when Shoaib Malik is "good" as captain?

PCB has decided to award contracts on the basis of seniority and thus the senior ones got Cat. A. Tanvir was supposed to be in Cat. C since he is relatively new but due to his performance he was awarded Cat. B.

For the time being, they are done with retainer.

Actually, the cricinfo report has got nothing about Malik's renewal. So we still don't know the time period of his new tenure.

You don't have any problem with Bhanja getting the Cat. B contract ??

Thanks for all the news and updates. I would reckon Shoaib Malik is good till '09, or until the series with Australia in November. Let's see how he shapes as captain this year with credible teams and good oppositions.

I saw Bhanja's name in B and overlooked it but I can see he has already caused a few headaches. :D But that is a dubious selection also, when was the last time Faisal Iqbal played for the team?

And they selected Sarfraz Ahmed which I am hoping they will give chances to, in place of Akmal or have Akmal play as batsman only.

The biggest of them all has to be Akhtar making his way to Category A. I was reading an interview of him a few days ago where he mentioned that there is no other bowler like him who can deliver 150+ and PCB have to treat their bowlers right, or something along those lines.

:ASA:

why is M Hafeez in cat B?
Amazing!

Malik remains captain for indefinite period

Hafeez the strokeless wonder awarded a contract! :nook:
Sohail Tanvir has been the most promising player of the year and yet such nainsaafi :hoonh:

wow...250k for useless pathetic shoaib actor....paisa itna hi haram ka hai PCB ke pas jo aise nakarah aur fazool bowler pe zaya kar rahay hain....koi haal nahe pak ka...

Well, this is more shocking than the news of central contracts. Ejaz Butt did not sought the opinion or approval of other officials before single-handedly making the decision which saw six members’ resign. This tells me that one man is running PCB operations and the rest are puppets waiting to be hired or fired.

Shoaib Aktar got the contract? and Sohail Tanveer in Cat B (most successful bowler of Pakistan in 2008 with 33 wickets)? I mean any lallu panjooo guy is better than a a guy who cant play a game in whole year due to fitness problem

This has to be the most pathetic contract selection criteria I have ever seen.

Mohammad Hafeez, Yasir Hameed, Faisal Iqbal....all 3 who havent played for Pakistan for god knows how long....get a B category contract...where as regular players who have played for Pakistan more often than these goof balls...Nasir Jamshed, Khurrum Manzoor, Rao Iftikhar, and Fawad Alam get C category contracts? What was this PCB administration smoking when they were making this list?

And to top it all off...Mr. Big Mouth Danish Kaneria gets an A contract when he hasnt even played an ODI for Pakistan for 2 years...seriously...this new PCB board is getting more and more pathetic as each day passes by.

I think all the people who hated Dr. Nasim Ashraf should get a lesson...he was a 100 times better than these brainless monkeys by the name of Ejaz 'moo phat' Butt, Saleem 'sab ka baap' Altaaf, Javed 'Bhaanja Mera Superman' Miandad.

Here is another real life joke coming out of PCB’s Ijaz UNKILLL

“Akhtar has basically been rewarded for his honest intentions and attempts to get back to full fitness. As far as his court case is concerned it is pending and the court has suspended the ban on him so he is eligible to play for Pakistan,” a senior official of the PCB said." (Source: PCB’s contract to Shoaib raises stink: Cricket Next)

what a shame…look at ECB ..when they thought their BEST (FIT AND PLAYING) player have behaved in wrong manner (only) by giving few press statements, they did not think twice to fire him and here is PCB …

PS: I demand a contract for myself. I have honest intentions and I am trying to get rid of extra lbs too. I want to take pakistan to no one position in both ODI and Test ratings its only that I cant not play just like Akhtar cant. There is no difference b/w me and Akhtar other than that I cant go to dance club late night before game coz my wife is gonna make qeema of me :mad:

If we are talking about honest intentions, Mohammad Asif bowled 37 overs in one day with honest intentions. He should also be in the 'A' category.

bus idhar hee tu mar kha giey DC bhai aap warna aap bhee dhai lakh mahana kamatay. This is where Akhtar is so honest in maintaining his fitness and you are not :stuck_out_tongue:

yeah he is fit n fat everywhere except on the field where it prolly doesn't even count when it comes to team-pakistan.

i think PCB is giving him 250k/month to keep him unfit and thus away from the field.

Correction: thAAA.....Teeee SAAAYONE

good point !

The only real surprise here is that Tanvir should've been in A category and Rao Iftikhar in B. I know a lot of people hate Rao, but he's performed creditably whenever given the chance. He shouldn't be grouped with all the newcomers.

Kaneria is deservedly in A, because he is still our premier legspinner, even though he didn't get to play last year. He was wrongly demoted to C category last year, so a wrong has been righted here. During Imran Khan's time, we used to play TWO legspinners in ODIs (Qadir and Mushtaq, but nowadays captains see legspinners as redundant.