Shoaib Malik as a test player

I am not questioning his captaincy here. That is a separate issue. Additionally I think he should be part of our ODI squad, however I always had doubts about his capabilities as a test batsman. No doubt he is a fighter but technically he is not very strong. I don’t see him scoring centuries or half centuries against teams like Australia, Saffies or even England in testing conditions.

A captain needs to lead his squad from the front. Unfortunately Malik does not have what it takes to be a champion batsman. The only thing which was slightly in his favor was his ability to become an allrounder. However he has clearly given indications that he is not comfortable bowling. He didn’t bother to bowl a single over during the Delhi test whereas India team on one point were exerting pressure on Pakistan from both ends thru Kumble and Harbhajhan. Eventually that point become the turning point in the game when Pakistan lost Hameed. Butt, Younus, Yousuf and Malik on the bowling of Kumble and Harbhajan. Not only in the last test match but in several previous games in the past 2 years, mainly ODIs, I got an impression that he didn’t want to bowl, as if he was scared of bowling.

I think we need to ask ourselves some questions. Was Malik appointed captain because he deserved a spot in the test squad or was it because we ran out of options for a captain? Will he be able to justify his position in the test squad by consistenly scoring runs? And when I say runs I mean big innings.

I sincerely hope that I am wrong. However in my personal opinion players like Shahid Afridi or Asim Kamal are more deserving candidates to be part of this squad than Malik. We currently have couple of weak links in our test squad. Unfortunately Malik is one. The other one is our butter finger keeper.

P.S. I am not at all criticizing him on the basis of the recently concluded Test match.

Lets have a reasonable discussion.

Re: Shoaib Malik as a test player

He deserves chappals and a kick out of the test squad. That is reasonable enough.

i agree
i think hes a little young and needs to work on his batting a lot more
with the captaincy role, he probably doesnt get enough time he needs just to focus and think about his batting without other things clouding up his head

for me, the only other option is younis khan, and PCB needs to make a move soon to convince him to take up the role, unfortunately malik might have to suffer from some humility, but its better now than later

If Malik was not the captain he would not be in the test team (atleast not permanently) Asim Kamal etc. would be my choice as 6th batman along with Butt, Hameed/Afridi (on sub-continental pitches), Younis, Yousuf and Misbah. True Malik played a match-saving knock (148*) on the last day of the first test against SLA at Colombo in 2006 but it’s all been downhill since as far as his batting is concerned.
http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/2005-06/PAK_IN_SL/SCORECARDS/PAK_SL_T1_26-30MAR2006.html

Also dropping Afridi was a stupid mistake in my book. Hameed has n’t impressed me that much. Another option is for Pakistan to open with Malik and Butt in tests and play a 6th specialist batsman. It’s our batting that let us down in the first test. Akhtar was brilliant but even the other bowlers apart from Sami did a reasonable job.

No doubt...if Malik wasnt the captain...he would definetly not be in the playing 11.
With Yousuf Younis, and Misbah...the middle order is strong. I strongly believe Malik should open himself with Butt. Ive never been impressed with Hameed and he is not a solution to our opening problem

Malik needs to know his performence is costing the team. He should open the innings in the next match and have Faisal Iqbal play in the middle order. Im not a big fan of Faisal...but trust me...this guy is a really good player against spin bowling...and against Kumble and Harbhajan he's probably our best bet.

If anyone doesnt believe me, they should go watch Faisal's innings of 88 against Australia...he murdered Warne in that match.

Very nice thread and discussions thus far. Shoaib Malik has finally went under the knife, only his place in the test side is under observation. Here is my question, his 'form' as a test player, put it aside for a moment; now, who really deserves to drive the ship without him in the team? Younis Khan? Rejected twice. Everything that 'The News' reported is all fishy, walking out after waiting for 20 minutes outside Shaharyar Khan's office? It just doesn't fit. Mohammad Yousuf as a captain? The less said, the better. Anything relating to Afridi or Akhtar and the idea is pretty much shot. Is there anyone who can come close to claiming his spot in both forms of the game? Apart from all, Shoaib Malik is the most reasonable choice. His batting is not in a great form either; why do you reckon Salman Butt was made vice-captain? He was given a reign to instill some confidence within himself. Was awful during his stint, but one of the established players in the team now. That is all he needed, a confidence boost from the selectors and management. Shoaib Malik is in the exact same boat; he is getting exposure as a captain. We might start listing all of his technical flaws as a leader but looking at a big picture, there is no other available choice at the moment, or rather no one who is able to take the reigns and handle the team. Some are just better off on their own; come in for one game, out for the next 10. Consistency is the key when picking captains and out of all candidates, Shoaib Malik provides that. We have run out of options, we really have, and I am not denying this fact. We have seriously run out of options, you are right. PCB should never have extended his contract until December 2008, what on earth were they thinking? One win and we have suddenly climbed the ladder all the way up? It is seriously going to backfire if actions are not taken, soon. Even if different players are tried out, how many of them can make a mark in both the test side and one-day side and lead the team at the same time?

The selectors have shot themselves in both feet with this mockery of a decision. Should have handled this on a more active basis, rather than being proactive and shutting the door entirely. Mohammad Asif was one players whom I really wanted to have the future captaincy of Pakistan, but with his spat with injuries, I am just not certain now.

Second, what is the deal with Shoaib Malik coming down at #5 or #6? After the likes of Misbah and Yousuf? It shouldn't happen! Captains should secure their batting position within the top #4, and Malik have rarely come at or above. It will be very hard for him to make a decent contribution with the bat if he is grouped in with one-hit sixers and tail-enders.

Furthermore, I am with you on his love with Afridi during the entire one-day series with some very ugly decisions. Even the captains who have played bare cricket take out the bowler who is getting hit all over the park. Afridi's bowling in the one-day series was below-par, even though he bowled his full quota of overs in most games rather than a strong decision by the captain who should have given the ball to our main strike bowler and let him complete his full spell. Some very bad decisions on the field during the ODI series, but it is all part of the learning curve of stepping into the International cricket and handling the captaincy reigns at the same time.

Shoaib Malik as a test player, easily replaceable. Very easily. However, there are far greater variables attached with this equation. We need someone to lead, Shoaib Malik does not fit in the team but is a viable choice as a captain. Thing is, again, there is no better alternative at the moment. Shoaib Malik might play an innings or two out of a dozen, and that is about it. How many established players we have in the team that we can rely on to produce big innings? A handful. How many of these handfuls are quality leadership material? More than a couple. How many of these players are better off on their own without having to pin the nation's hopes on them? All. All except for Shoaib Malik. We have just run out of options for putting someone on the front lines.

Dhobi bhai a very biased analysis. You listed all these faults with Shoaib and then continued saying that we have run out of options hence Shoaib is the Captain. So you think a 20 minute wait outside Sheheryar's office and then leaving is a far bigger crime than being a mediocre batsmen, having less than desireable acumen of the game, making wrong decisions, not willing to lead from the front? Why not Younis Khan bhai saab ya phir Shoaib? Both are world class and both are relatively consistent with their performance.

By repeating that Shoaib is the captain because there is no other option it seems you are having a hard time believing that yourself.

I say ask Younis other wise go with Shoaib Akhter and let Shoaib Malik regain his form and work his way back in the test side. He is not only junior but his sub-par performances as a player and a captain makes it more difficult for him to lead seniors like Yousuf, Younis, Afridi and Akhter.

shoaib doesn't deserve a place in test squad. period. he is not the kind of player who can handle the pressure of 5 day cricket nor he can play long innings. he is technically flawed in batting and many a times its evident he is not confident in his batting. as for his captaincy...you can not install leadership qualities in a person, they are natural and if malik does have them then he is not captain material. i know he's been appointed captain till december 2008 (rash stupid decision by PCB) but i'm sure malik will give them enough to think about their decision and eventually get sacked. losing series after series is not something that can be ignored easily.

gali gali mein hungama aur shor hai
sirif Younis Khan kaptaan purzor hai

^ :D

agreed :

I agree. Coming in at #5, you have to be a solid bat for the team. Thats the position Inzi was playing in the last few years. Everyone keeps saying that Misbah is replacing Inzi, but actually in the test squad Misbah is not batting at #5 Malik is. Malik does not deserve a place in our test squad. Asim Kamal is much needed in that middle order, plus being a lefty has also more advantages for the team. Malik is around till the end of 2008 so we really cant do much about it.

Even Aamir Sohail said that Asim Kamal should have been taken to India instead of Faisal Iqbal.

He needs to come at No. 3, where has performed in past.

I dont think he has ever played at no.3, he did play as an opener. His performance was so-so. Interestingly he was not tried further after his first and only test century when he scored a match saving 148*.

In tulla cricket, he is fine there. He won't last two overs at number 3 in test matches (specially considering how early he would have to come in due to our fragile opening combinations).

Malik wouldnt have been the captain or be in the test team had Younis Khan accepted the captaincy when it would offered to him.. All this cuz of Younis.

Why not Younis Khan or Shoaib Akhtar? The 'why not' translates into one of them rejecting the captaincy on two separate occasions and the latter? Should we go ahead with the decision of changing captains every two games based on looking at the hamstring levels of Shoaib Akhtar which might or might not pull? A world-class bowler, by all means, no argument from this corner. But one has to be available for an entire series, let alone be able to lead the team in the field for a whole day while on the field. The guy bowls his quota, goes and sits in the dressing room until he is match-fit again. They both are, as you put it, relatively consistent but how much of a risk should we be taking one of the above scenarios were to take place? As far as Younis Khan becoming captain, by all means. PCB will have to cut one of their own legs before making him captain. A question of how soon and the answer will be after the end of next year. A big, big mistake they made. Realistically, they should have made Shoaib Malik captain, not on a series-by-series basis (or for a set period of 18 months), but a suitable option would have been to set his captaincy in stone for 3 series in a stretch, against South Africa, against India and against Australia. That would have been one of the better recommendations. Shoaib Malik would have had plenty of time before settling in as a captain and proving (or disproving) his worth. You just can't rob somebody at a gunpoint by making him a series-by-series captain, that just does not instill confidence. One match with India is all that took for them to make even a bigger mistake.

If the "seniors" are not willing to listen to "juniors", honestly, do they deserve to be a part of the team while boasting on the fact that the captain within them is a "junior"? The time when Shoaib Malik became captain, 'Jang' followed articles and quotes by some of the senior members of the team, and when referring to the team captain, Shoaib Malik was labeled "a younger brother". Three, if not four, of the senior members, if I gather correctly, said the exact same phrase and slapped it against his name. This is lunacy. The team's captain is a team captain is a team captain, regardless of his age! The "younger brother" statements should be carried either before or after the game. When on the field or giving interviews to news media, professionally, one does not refer to his team captain as such. By labeling him as "my younger brother", it gives a strong vibe that there are going to be obvious differences amongst the certain quarters.

Shoaib Malik have not been all horrible of a captain. How many times did Inzamam force a change in the bowling and brought on Shoaib Akhtar in the middle of an innings to break a partnership, or set the field accordingly in conjunction with the bowler's appeal? Shoaib Malik has taken some very pathetic decisions in the field at times, but there were also times when he was very actively present and it was noted. All in all, it is not impressing but it is there with a certain degree. The sooner Younis Khan can lead Pakistan, the sooner we can rid us of this extra space in the team that is getting hogged by Shoaib Malik. That is Shoaib Malik as a test player, not Shoaib Malik as a captain.

I'm not getting it, why do we differ between ODI players and Test Match players? Why? Isn't Cricket=Cricket?

Au contraire to most opinions here, I think based on available pool of international level cricketers, Shoaib Malik not only has a place in the test side, he is also the best one to lead the team. As a nation and as a group, we are way too impatient and want instant gratification. Sorry to bubble your burst, but gelling a new team under a new captain, a new coach and many new players take time. If you don't have patience, then don't follow the team for the next 12 months.

Now here are my reasons for my conclusions...

1. Malik, as a batsman has proved again and again that he is a cool headed player and has performed fantastically on many occasions. He may not be a Dravid or a Yousaf, but a player can't score centuries against good opposition again and again by being mediocre.

2. Pls get rid of this fascination with Asim Kamal and other domestic players. Time and again it has been shown that the difference in class between Pak domestic and international is pretty wide (Bazid Khan, Imran Farhat etc are prime examples). Asim Kamal can't even knock off Faisal Iqbal from our test 15, how in heavens' name will he replace Shoaib Malik?

3. Shoaib Akhtar is not fit to be captain for all the reasons mentioned above by dhobi bhai. We can't have a captain who plays only 20% of the season.

4. Younis, if he wanted to be a captain, will be captain. You can't make a horse drink. 'Enuf said. Lets move on.

5. Hazrat Muhammad Yousaf is a class act as a batsman. He is no motivator on the field. Move on.

6. Shahid Afridi doesn't even want to play in test cricket. We can't have non-playing captains. Move on.

7. Malik did some smart moves in his captaincy so far (T20, ODI's, tests). He did some dumb things. Its all part of the learning curve.

^ If you hadn't noticed, the thread was about Malik as Test player ... not as Captain :D