Shoaib Khan - Your verdict

What to make of Shoaib Khan?

I think he should be given a full series, regardless of his performance in Twenty20. Who’s to say that this format of the game is the be-all and end-all of all cricketing talent. Shoaib Khan has wobbled and has hit a few but really hasn’t done a whole lot to show for. In any case, he should be persisted with Salman Butt at the top of the order for the India series, this is too early to throw someone away based on his short Twenty20 status.

I think everyone will agree that T20 cricket is not the format of the game where you judge a player. Everyone will also agree that all new players should be given an extended run.

As far as Shoaib Khan goes, I don't know if he was the most deserving among the domestic pool of players to be picked or not, so I won't comment on it and plus its a topic different from the topic of discussion here.

My only criticism is that why he was part of T20 squad? T20 is a totally different game where mainly specialist of T20 should be playing. Just like Test cricket is a totally different game where people like Shoaib Malik should simply not be part of the squad.

agree...

i dont think he shud b given chance so early ......

Re: Shoaib Khan - Your verdict

shoaib akhtar-:aj::barbie:

we are talkin abt … shoaib Khan

He may be / is same as other world class young batsmen produced by the Pakistan production line in recent years / decade.

I was wondering, why selectors prefer Shoaib Khan over Nasir Jamshed?

I found the questions from Mohammad Akram very interesting. He said

1. Has Shoaib Khan toured any foreign country with Pak A or Academy team?
  2. Has he scored 1000+ runs in domestic cricket

Unfortunately the answer to both of these questions is No.

ok …fine…shoaib khan:aj:…:barbie:
besides its still shoaib we r talkin about:snooty:

What kinda commentator he is, he should have knowledge of players from both teams he is commentating? Can somebody tell him about this site Cricinfo?
And why we are getting commentators like Mohammad Akram, Aamir Sohail, Zaheer Abbas, Mushtaq Ahmed, etc etc. Eik tu team acha nahee kehlti ooper say yeh hazraat. :mad2:

aik shoaib Malik bhi hai team mein .. :snooty:

u put Sikander Bakht n Mohsin Hassan Khan in etc :eek:

My thoughts:

PARCHI

Its is totally clear he's a sifarashi. We all know Sallu and his team of selectors did not select him in the 15 member squad...but at the last minute, Shoaib Khan was included in the squad "On the recommendation of the Sports Ministry"

Im sorry but I totally dont buy that BS. Shoiab Khan replaced a much more deserving Saeed Ajmal...and after seeing the amount of spin Afridi/Malik were getting out of the pitches...Ajmal would have almost been unplayable.

The likes of Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, and Raheel Majeed need to be given complete chances before a Sifarshi like Shoaib Khan even comes close to the team.

This new crappy PCB is already showing its true colors. Sifarsh-ism, Nepotism, and Parchi-ism is gonna be at an all time high...Mark My Words.

i dont think new PCB was there when team was selected for T20 :konfused:

non deserving, i dont know much but from wat i saw he was totally UNIMPRESSIVE.

PCB was already under the ministry of sports by that time…and Sallu and the other selectors made it clear that they did NOT select Shoaib Khan but had instead picked Saeej Ajmal in the squad but Ajmal was replaced by Khan by the Sports Ministry without letting the selectors know or anything. This lead to the resignation of Sallu and Shafqat Rana.

yeah ...
but now NEW PCB ...... is no more working under sports ministry ...

Yes it is! PCB is officially under the Ministry of Sports! PCB is no longer a seperate body how it used to be.