Shoaib Injured

Re: Shoaib Injured

One day, we have Wasim Bari bubbling over the report handed over to him by some takkiya ghilaaf committee indicating that Shoaib will be unable to bowl for number of weeks, and the very next day, the rest of the PCB squad barges out in the media with their tall and mighty claims that Shoaib is fit and is likely to return in time for the tour. And then we have yahoodis proclaiming and twisting stories of what came from Inzamam’s mouth and rephrasing it in their own words.

This madness has got to stop, really. It has stretched beyond it’s limits. One person needs to step in and clear the air (which is so grossly polluted at this time of the day that it might result in another hole in the ozone layer).

As for Inspector Rao - fikar not. He will cruise it by all means. After all, where else will he be rewarded in such extremes for his *galli mohalla *performances from 10 years ago? All of the bihari kabab shops and dhabaas near his house are “cutting heads”. Cricket was the only thing left where his parchi would have worked.

If the reports are true and he is out for start f the series, I still think they will still name Shoiab in the squad in the the hope that he willwill get fit for the reminder of the series. If not then inspector Rao will surely get his seat booked for England.

Not just him but Sami as well.

Rao ke to dil karta hai b*** maroN aur phir mukar jaooN :D

I wish they could give chance to the bowlers from U19 squad instead of that idiot Rao.

Shoiab is out of England tour? Who cares! Pakistan team is more than just one player. We will do just fine. Give me Umar Gul, Rana and Mohammad Asif and I will win you the series.

Funguy,

I agree with you but the killer instinct can't be sufficed without Shoaib Akhtar in MHO. Anyhow, a team is comprised of 11 players and Shoaib is just one of them. If we can't/don't utilize, that doesn't mean at all that Pak team is under strengthened. Rana, Asif, Sami and Kaneria with A. Razzaq should be more than a killer instinct for a series win inshAllah with the hopes that batting keeps solidity in the game.
Umer

Mohammad Asif and Kaneria can provide the Killer Instinct.

Yes not a bad idea as a long term investment and give them experience but don't think they will play them in the full international if they are selected on the tour. They may be able to get valuable experience if they play them against the county sides but don't think under 19 bowlers will be selected, instead we have tried and tested bowlers to turn to like Rao and Sami.

Asif has played in 6 county matches and has had two 5 wicket hauls and a total of 24 wickets at an average of 30.27. This included one poor match where he had 1/109. Not a bad record.

And you are forgetting Afridi's bowling ability. He is bigger than a leg spinner for a team like England who has not learnt to play spinners in 130 years. I think even Farhat will provide a good head-spinning for Pommies.

The champ will be back for the second test, don't you worry. Shoaib was really eager for this tour, but it's important he doesn't rush things and let the injury heal fully.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/mbtms/F3661016?thread=3134536&skip=20&show=20

“Why is Akhtar injured all the time? In about 9 years, he has only played 42 test matches.” LOL - Some here stating Jones as the most injury prone bowler in the world.

Shoaib targets Headingley return

Pakistan paceman Shoaib Akhtar has set his sights on regaining full fitness in time for the third Test against England at Headingley, starting on 4 August.

Shoaib has been told to rest his ankle injury for up to six weeks - ruling him out of the first two games.

The 31-year-old will not have long to prove he is ready for Headingley, which follows straight after the second Test.

But he said: “I still feel no pain and can jog for hours. I will do my best to recover to at least play two Tests.”

Shoaib took 17 wickets to help Pakistan beat England 2-0 on home soil in their Test series last year.

We don’t want to bring him back too soon - he has not bowled for five months

Bob Woolmer

But he has not played international cricket since January, after undergoing surgery on both knees.

The “Rawalpindi Express” is frustrated at his extended absence, saying: "I carried the ankle injury from the series against England but I continued to play.

“Even after the operations I was feeling well before I twisted the ankle earlier this month.”

Pakistan will announce their squad on Friday and coach Bob Woolmer is prepared for life without his pace spearhead.

“We would like him to be fit but we don’t want to bring him back too soon. He has not bowled for five months,” the Englishman said.

"It is very disappointing for us but we have coped without Shoaib in the recent past and will have to do so again.

“He has been working hard at the academy here in Lahore but the original stress fracture just hasn’t healed. We will be trying to find out why.”

Thanks for providing Asif's updates from the county, Ehsan Bhai. :)

With Akhtar sidelined for the first two tests, the much-awaited Sami will definitely be recalled. I was already rooting heavily in favor of his return given the seaming conditions, and seems as if he will be in the final X1. Excellent!

That's really sad. Shoaib is an amazing bowler and a match-winner any given day. I agree that Pakistan is not a one man team. Danish, Asif and Rana can still win it for us, time for Sami to step up.

Shoaib has one of the best strike rates in test matches (if not the best, I'll have to look it up). Khassi Jones has done nothing in his career. So shut up and let's hope he gets fit as soon as possible.

Jis din Sami ne “step up” kar liya, us din mein Gupshup se step down karloon ga. Thank you.

^this post reminds me of funguy's famous post where he said something about Ganguly scoring more than 39 runs:D

Hum sey bach kar koi kahin chupp sakta hai bhala? :smiley:

You know Sami ain’t doing nothing but throwing some good old pies in England! Mark my freakin’ word.