Shoaib axed from Pentangular Cup

Shoaib Akhtar’s ongoing war with the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) took yet another twist with the fast bowler sacked as captain and removed from the regional side he was leading in the Pentangular Cup. Shoaib, however, insists that he is opting out of the tournament for personal reasons.

Shoaib had been asked by the PCB to take part in the tournament, as captain of the Federal Capital Areas (FCA) team, to prove his fitness for future international matches. He led his side to a draw against Punjab in the first round of matches, though only bowled 18 wicketless overs in short spells as FCA’s bowling was hammered by Salman Butt.

The decision to sack him, sources confirmed to Cricinfo, was taken by the FCA team management, citing poor performance, indiscipline and the negative influence he has on team-mates. The decision will raise eyebrows in any case, but moreso as it comes in the wake of a continuing spat between Shoaib and the board.

Shoaib has been openly critical of the board’s policies, particularly in awarding central contracts, for which he was overlooked. He has also publicly refused to respond to the board’s demands for an explanation of his comments, arguing that as he wasn’t contracted to them, he isn’t bound to answer to them. If he is found guilty of indiscipline or breaching the players’ code of conduct, he could well be gone from Pakistan cricket, as he is already on a two-year probation period, in which any indiscretion could result in an automatic life ban.

Shoaib, however, told Dawn, a leading daily, that he was opting out because of his sister’s wedding. “I am busy in my sister’s wedding, therefore, at the moment I am not available for any more matches and am not sure if I will be free for the last match of the cup also.”

SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/337257.html

Re: Shoaib axed from Pentangular Cup

i lost all respect for the man when he said he's good friends with 'bhaji' and 'yuvi' and sachin.

dumb ass SOB can befriend rivals but he's a JERK with his own team mates.

Darn, even local team managements are saying he is indisciplined and having negative influence on team mates.

Shoaib, however, told Dawn, a leading daily, that he was opting out because of his sister's wedding. "I am busy in my sister's wedding, therefore, at the moment I am not available for any more matches and am not sure if I will be free for the last match of the cup also."
Between rock and hard place. Don't know if he could've opted out of the tournament in the beginning while he knew of the upcoming wedding (assuming he did). Leaving in middle of tournament is a bigger issue, IMO.

with the attitude and treatment like this from his own country no doubt he has friends accross wagha

And that's the end of his short career with Pakistan team.

He bowled just 18 overs without taking a wicket, Butt sahab making double century against his bowling tells you a lot about his fitness. His arrogance + fitness ruined his career.

yar he was a fine bowler at his peak, and a treat to watch, you have to give him that, you dont get to see genuine fast bowlers in action that often now

Sad how things got messed up...
In the good old days, cricket was just cricket
Now looks like cricket has taken a back seat and money, technology, politics are more in the news than the game itself.

Shoaib plans to be a Mumbai boy

MUMBAI: So will Shoaib Akhtar pitch his tent in Mumbai? “If Mumbai bids for me in the Indian Premier League, I will definitely have a house in Bandra,” declared the volatile cricketer. Mera yaar Salman Khan rehta hain wahan par and I like going to Olive. India is going to be my home for the next three years. The visa shouldn’t be a problem."

On his way into the city from the airport, the 33-year-old Pakistani bowler certainly seemed at home: he chatted on his cellphone to line up practice sessions with city children, planned a dinner with Shah Rukh Khan, stopped by for his spiritual fix at the Haji Ali Dargah, and finally checked in to the Oberoi.

“I love this country, especially the warmth and affection that I’ve got from the people,” gushed the party animal, a frequent visitor to Mumbai, who is featured as much on the sports pages as on Page 3.

“There is a lot I want to do not only in Mumbai but in other parts of Maharashtra as well. I want to leave behind something memorable for the people and for me too,” he said.

Even if he is bagged by another city, Mumbai will remain his favourite. “I’ll join films,” he laughs, and then quickly adds, “Whichever city I go to, I will make that city proud…Ten years from now Mumbai will change from a zigzag city to a completely planned one with the rate at which development is taking place. Mumbai simply reminds me of Karachi and I simply love it.”

^ he has fallen so far in my view that i could never have imagined it.

he is a ghadaar and never should be allowed to play for Pakistan!!! Ever!!!

infact, don't even let him back into the country. let him stay with the mandir going muslims there.

^ ^ tathastu bhrata

He should stick with IPL where he claims he is loved by that country that puts him about** half valuable than Brendon McCullum (425,000 VS 700000)..................less valuable than Vettori @6,25,000*....heck even **less valuable* than Danish Karthick @5,25,000, Irfan Pathan @9,25,000...one trick pony Uthapa is valued twice as much as akhter @8,00,000 and **someone named Minoj Tewaari @6,75,000

Akhter is getting less than Half value of Brett Lee @ 9,00,000...but atleast Brett deserves his price as he has spent more time in middle in half this season than Akhter has in last three years.

^Even Joginder Sharma is valued more then Shoaib Akhtar...makes absolutely no sense.
I can understand why Franchises would like to have more Indians for their side......but the difference between the bid price of pretty ordinary Indian players (Uthappa, Joginder Sharma, Tiwary,Yousuf Pathan etc) and players of the calibre of (Hayden, Akhtar, Ponting...) is embarassingly huge.

I mean if a guy like Uthappa can make 800,000 USD, I really think I should have taken up Cricket seriously as a child.

Yahaan pe...I am naak-ragar-iing in my dilbert-ish cubicle for more than 10 years and my net worth is no where close to what these 2-bit players would make in a few weeks time.

Actually bret lee is very famous in india. he spends a lot of his time in india, playing his band, modeling, parties.. charity work etc etc... He claims to love india since his childhood .... its just the price of his stardom.

come on, dont be jelous. What is a guarantee the shoibe is going to complete even his 3 over spell in a match. Atleast with Joginder and uthappa they know that they will fit to play the 11. Besides this is an indian premier league, and hence would like to see Indian players.

A comparison between akhter and Lee's efforts in middle

*Tests Akhter last 3 years VS Lee Last one year

Akhter Last three Years: 292 Overs
Lee Last One Year: 281 Overs

*ODI's Akhter last 2 years VS Lee Last one year

Akhter Last Two Years: 83 Overs
Lee Last One Year: 105 Overs

no-show-actor is a class-1 scum bag. :nook: