Shoaib Akhtar vows to play leading role in WI/Unlikely to tour according to Shahryar

Re: Shoaib Akhtar vows to play leading role in WI

---------------z--------------
ab kuch aisa bhi nahi hai, I am raising an issue of India Pakistan cricket - Crowed knowledge - Board policies in respective countries.
We have nothing in commen, but still we talk about Indians as if they are neck to neck with Pakistan on statistics and quality of Players each country produces.

Why can’t we direct these comparisons to other teams on the map to enable us to
gauge our true strength.

Re: Shoaib Akhtar vows to play leading role in WI

----------x-----------
OK guys so much for this bait business,:smiley:

Do you have any thing to add here on the main post.

Shoaib Akhtar unlikely to tour West Indies

Staff Report

ISLAMABAD: Controversial pacer Shoaib Akhtar is unlikely to accompany the national team during their tour to West Indies next month as Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Shahryar Muhammad Khan is not in favour of disturbing the winning combination.

“Though the final decision will be taken by the selection committee in this regard but I think we should not make any change in the team that won laurels in India,” Shahryar replied to a question about Shoaib’s inclusion in the squad for the forthcoming tour. Pakistan are due to leave for the West Indies early next month for three one-day internationals and two Test matches.

The PCB chief was talking to reporters at the Punjab Cricket Ground after inaugurating the School Cricket Tournament on Tuesday. He said the PCB would finalise the constitution within the time frame and present it to the Senate Standing Committee on Sports and other concerned quarters. Shahryar said the school cricket was being organised with a focus on reviving grassroots nurseries.

“This year 458 school teams, divided into nine regions, will participate in the championship. The winners will then play the inter-region tournament.” He said the PCB also wanted to organise university cricket but the response of universities was not that encouraging. He hoped that this school tournament would encourage universities to join the scheme.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_21-4-2005_pg2_5

Re: Shoaib Akhtar vows to play leading role in WI/Unlikely to tour according to Shahryar

I love it. I love it. Finally, PCB is showing some metal and not putting up with 'superstars'. Way to go Shehry!

Re: Shoaib Akhtar vows to play leading role in WI/Unlikely to tour according to Shahryar

^^^:hehe:

but I’d like to include Shabbir in the squad :bummer:

I don't know what happened to my post :(

what post?

Never mind, its in WI tour thread. Shereyaar’s statement was posted in that too :rolleyes: so I thought I replied to it but couldn’t see it here.

Re: Shoaib Akhtar unlikely to tour West Indies

--------------x----------------------

Yeh haal hai , en jaisay ghadoun kay haathoun say cricket taraqi keray gi.
The idiot can not tell the difference between India & West Indies,:mad:

Again Such Idiots fuel the fire of taking “India” as a gauging “Standard” :smack2:

It took them 2 dacades to decide on this school nurcery theory and now they cut the ribbon, Idiots

Sir, someone had to take initiative, right? If Shereyaar is starting school nursery it means he is going into right direction. :p He can't be blamed for what former PCB chief has done. Don't criticise for the heck of it.

Beating India in India is pride even for World Champs. Look at the record in last 5 years of India's home series and you will get the answer.

This statement isn't even confirmed. It is coming from some stupid Paki website. I'll wait till Cricinfo confirms it before I get worried.

He should be a given a chance to perform AND prove his fitness in domestic cricket. It is unfair to categorically deny him a place in the squad.

yarr rainy bhai jan, we all respect your feelings about shoaib and I can also understand where are you coming from but i guess we are missing each other’s point……..As pointed out by Captain1 earlier in one of his posts, and I reiterate it, no one is questioning his cricketing abilities ( though I personally think that he is going down as a bowler also) but it is his attitude which is extremely questionable…and we have at least 20 examples from the near past when his attitude created trouble in the team…… I think you are not ready to accept that shoaib is a Genuine Troublemaker………Just think about it..

how come we did not hear about one single scandal in the current Indian tour?

How come we did not hear about one single incidence/fight in the Pakistani dressing room during the grueling tour of India?

How come, we ended up beating Australia in Australia when shoiab was not in the team?

How come we have only won those test matches in last one year in which shoiab was not playing ?(srilanka in Karachi and India in Banglore)

Anyway, I am posting an excellent article here about shoiab akahtar……this article was written at the end of Australian tour…..I really hope that you will read it with an open heart…probably only then you can appreciate our view point about shoaib akahatr.

[font=Times New Roman]http://www.pcboard.com.pk/Pakistan/Articles/2/2256.html](http://www.pcboard.com.pk/Pakistan/Articles/2/2256.html)

nice article dude ^^

I can see why someone can argue a case for keeping the winning combination intact, but series conditions, pitch, wind, weather and crowd atmosphere in West Indies will be quite different from the one we just had in India.

If Pakistan has more resources available (fully fit and committed) to put in the team, then all such resources should be evaluated and considered. Nothing should be off the table. Personal grudges has no place when it comes to selecting and putting our best eleven players in the national team.

If correctly reported, for Chairman PCB to arbitrarily and pre-maturely commenting upon the team for WI tour, at this point, is quite silly.

QUOTE=phoenixdesi]yarr rainy bhai jan, we all respect your feelings about shoaib and I can also understand where are you coming from but i guess we are missing each other’s point……..As pointed out by Captain1 earlier in one of his posts, and I reiterate it, no one is questioning his cricketing abilities ( though I personally think that he is going down as a bowler also) but it is his attitude which is extremely questionable…and we have at least 20 examples from the near past when his attitude created trouble in the team…… I think you are not ready to accept that shoaib is a Genuine Troublemaker………Just think about it..

how come we did not hear about one single scandal in the current Indian tour?

How come we did not hear about one single incidence/fight in the Pakistani dressing room during the grueling tour of India?

How come, we ended up beating Australia in Australia when shoiab was not in the team?

How come we have only won those test matches in last one year in which shoiab was not playing ?(srilanka in Karachi and India in Banglore)

Anyway, I am posting an excellent article here about shoiab akahtar……this article was written at the end of Australian tour…..I really hope that you will read it with an open heart…probably only then you can appreciate our view point about shoaib akahatr.

[font=Times New Roman]pcboard.com.pk](pcboard.com.pk)

-------------------x-----------------------

Thanks ! I have read this article at least several times already + few others.
This covers only Australian tour though.
My views are mainly based and instigated from Indian tour of Pakistan.
Which was a breeding ground for anti Shoaib lobby at home and a total disaster in terms of media coverage of the event and the fallout from each Pak lose to India. He was called a traitor without any solid reasoning.
He was working with a rockie keeper and the rest of the fielding was a waste of time and chances, A bowler, if I was , I would react in the same manner as great Khan or Akram would have,so did he. and this happened like few hundreth time already, add WC in SA to the equation, Hell we use to watch live cricket and use to joke**," Array catch/lbw/ or misfielding ko chore,dil na haar aur seedha seedha bowled maar saalay ko," **
I always agreed to some extent, If he does not perform he should be dropped like any other player. But spare the freak’in ‘traitor’ type comments.
**He served his country very well. If he’s not worth a dime now then put him aside. Don’t use he-said-I-said-who-said-they-said ploy against him. **

herez what bobby has to say

Shoaib will have to fight for comeback now: Woolmer

By our correspondent

KARACHI: Pakistan team’s coach Bob Woolmer, while warning fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar, made it clear that the paceman would have to fight now for his place in the team.

In an interview given to an Indian newspaper on the completion of the tour, Woolmer when asked if Shoaib was still an integral part of the team, responded: “No, he is not an integral part. Shoaib’s speed is handy but on performance he’ll have to deal with the return of Umar Gul and Shabbir Ahmed; Shoaib will have to fight for his place in the team.”

Shoaib withdrew from the Indian tour because of a hamstring injury which is now said to have healed up but after the team’s uplifting performances in India without him and Shabbir Ahmed, it is obvious he is going to face a tough time to make a comeback for the West Indies tour.

Woolmer also disagreed that the final day in Mohali was the turning point of the series and pointed out it went back to even before the team landed in India. “The Australian tour showed me there was something in this team that could be fostered, nurtured. There were cameos from Younis, Inzamam and Afridi that gave me hope. People were starting to take responsibility. We were under pressure for most of the series but when we beat Australia at Perth in a one-day game I was sure that the next series was going to be a watershed for Pakistan. The last day at Mohali was the point the team awoke and a combined effort saw us through. India just weren’t good enough. They let us in.”

Asked about India’s win in Kolkata, he said Pakistan had their chances but failed to recognise the moment. “We could’ve saved that game but the momentum had deserted us.” Woolmer also described Ahmedabad as the most crucial game of the one-day series. "Ahmedabad was the defining moment. India were going along nicely before Sachin cramped up and Ganguly struggled. The innings stalled, six overs went for nothing and I told the boys when they returned that India were 30 runs short and we could win this. Instead of 340 we were chasing 315.

“The ban on Ganguly followed and the team seemed divided. Things like that lift the opposition to turn it on. Then the Indian team blundered in their selections for Kanpur. They dropped Ashish Nehra, the only bowler who bothered our plans, and brought in Balaji. The batting also didn’t do well, managing just 249, which was clearly 25 runs below par but a challenging target. But you don’t legislate for Shahid Afridi, the most talented cricketer I’ve seen in my entire life. He single-handedly won us the game that could’ve been the toughest of the lot,” Woolmer stated.

Asked what main aspects he took into consideration while rebuilding the side after Pakistan team lost at home last year to India, Woolmer said as a coach it was his belief that each player is a part of the team.

“Every player who comes to the team meeting has to contribute. If he keeps quiet it only means he isn’t thinking for the team; team ethic was the most important aspect. And Inzamam was the key factor in everything that I had to get done. The captain was the most important catalyst. Our initial goal at the Asia Cup was to bring the side together, as close as possible to continue with players who were selected. We always made sure that you ask a player before experimenting instead of asking him to do it. It puts the responsibility on his head to give his best. We tried to get every player on board; shared a similar vision with him; if some player was being difficult, we would try to work on him and make that guy play well.”

“We checked players’ hearts for a fight. There is an Australian saying that says ‘Fit In or F*** O**’. There is no place for self-proclaimed superstars. But there is place for the real superstars: Naved-ul-Hasan is a super star; Shoaib Malik is a superstar,” he added.

----------------x----------------

Above 2 red lines should be good enough for you. Wooly never never used those words,

And this article has been repeated several times on this forum giving the impression that each time there is a ‘New’ controvercial angle to his existance.

Don’t waste your time on Shoaib’s issue morbidangel.
Never the less , Thanks for sharing,unless you have your OWN views as well to follow?,

^ sab jhootay hain, Bob cannot say such about Shoaib Akhtar, na na na.