Shoaib Akhtar vows to play leading role in WI/Unlikely to tour according to Shahryar

Re: Shoaib Akhtar vows to play leading role in WI

Navedul Hasan's (bowling) SR in ODIs is better than Shoaib Akhtar, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Imran Khan.

Agreed. :k:

sofar atleast … but hopefully he tries it keep this way

He has achieved this SR after playing 28 matches, hopefully he’ll maintain or improve :insha:

When you will struggle to take 10 West Indian wickets on their dead flat wickets, you will realize how important Shoaib is. Hopefully he would be in the team and such a situation would not arise.

Come on yaar. Thats what you said prior to the indian series as well? Didnt you? Do not underestimate your own team time and again as they have shown they are learning to cope without Shoaib. I fully acknowledge the fact that he should play if he is fit as he is our most lethal strike bowler but this indian series showed that he is NOT indespensible.

Spot on … guess that’s why u r the mod and not me :wink:

BTW, when was the last time Shoaib Akhtar "single-handedly" won us a ODI? just curious.

Cricket being a team sport, I don’t think we should look for “single-handed” superstars anyway, especially those with a big keera in their rear and a huge head on their shoulders. Pakistan team of the 70’s, West Indian team of the 90’s and Indian team of the last series is ample proof, that merely putting superstars in is not likely to make for a winning team. You need team spirit and players who are willing to give their 110% every time. Some will fail, at some point or the other, but even if 7-8 fire, you are practically through.

^ I agree with you and I'm not in his favor at all :) until he becomes a team player and respects/values all members, most of the Shoaib's proponents favor him because he can "single-handedly" win you matches.

You are too optimistic my friend. He is Shoaib…remember. The only bowler in the world who can get 7 Aussie batsmen out. :hehe: The world has to bow in front of him, not him begging a place in a country’s side in which he never wanted to be born in, to begin with.

mere piyaaray aur nannay munnay bhaayo, I know Shoiab Akhtar is important but it's not worth chukking his taTTay at the expense of 10 other players. I say learn to play without him. You will do better.

India loved you because you made the game easy for them Shoaib, you are not needed on this team.

I think we will all see a major attitude change now. Before he thought 'they have knowbody else but me'....

but now he knows his place is on the line, i think he will definitely change his attitude after witnessing the performances in india.

June 2002, in Australia. The final of the 3-match series. Pakistan beat Australia in their own backyard 2-1, after losing the opening match. Shoaib took 5 wickets in the final and bundled out Australia for 100 odd runs in 20 odd overs. So there :smiley:

This is wht Bob said in an interview with Inadian express yesterday:

"There is an Australian saying that says ‘Fit In or F*** O**’. There is no place for self-proclaimed superstars. But there is place for the real superstars: Naved Ul Hasan is a super star; Shoaib Malik is a superstar."

We all know  whom bob is refering to........

This guy shoaib akhtar is a curse for Pakistani team.....and i am not being emotional...I am dead serious........the team has really played well as a one unit from the day this ugly player has left the team.....Sami got unfit during this series....did anyone ever question his loyalty and passion...rana was unfit for the test matches…. did anyone question his commitment....The public is not a fool and when some one plays with a fire and passion, no one questions his loyalty…….Shoaib brings politics/bad attitude into the team and i give you my word that he will never change.........how could he change when Prophet Mohammad (PBUH) has said:

“ if you hear that a mountain is walking, trust it but if you hear that someone has changed his “basic” nature, don’t trust the news”

We all experience this in our daily life……a simple guy will remain simple and a harami will stay harami no matter what…

shoiab is a talented player and will produce couple of good spells and there you go......he will forget every thing and will start behaving the same way...i say, bring him to the team but treat this SOB really strict...as soon as he misbehaves, kick him out right away....seriously I have never seen our team playing with such a passion and fire before and that too on a consistent basis and we should not destroy this rhythm for an idiot..........Just imagine that if this idiot had taken 6 wickets in Ahmedabad match instead of rana............and then also remember rans's humbleness...........

Not surprised at some very harsh comments and name calling comments against Shoaib up here.
After all they come from die hard fans with short memory of the game we call 'Cricket' which we learned from the kindergarten days as the game of chances and last ball heart aches.
No 2 players are the same and no 2 matches are the same.

Shoaib has responded well to the sub-standard management of PCB and the adhoc monopoly of the selection committee which has yet to provide a breeding nest for the future players for integration and eventual fusion into the national side.

Shoaib did not win matches single handedly but did so along side of Akram and Waqar, Saqlain at times.
Please spare RANA in future if he ever hits the bad patch, form or injurie issues.
He's is way too nice n humble a person to stand upto your bakwas.

^ you are insulting rana, and it's not even funny. One could be a better judge of a character than that.

so it’s been three years. Judging by your schoolgirl glee, you would think he carried us to victory just yesterday.

Look man, I still think shoaib should be in our squad to WI. He certainly has talent. But he is no wasim or waqar. With them, I am willing to put up with outrageous comments. They won us matches single handedly every 10-15 match and in between those “single handedly” wins, they contributed mightily to the other wins. Shoaib chutiya on the other hand wins a match single handedly every 2 years if we are lucky. Yes, he contributed to a lot of wins. But for every win, he brings down the team 2 notches with his nakhrays.

When the team meets up for training camp, I think inzi and woolmer should sit down and make up a rule book just for shoaib. Then before the team boards for the flight, they should hand the rule book over to showape and tell him, “either you follow these rules to a tee, or your ass will be riding in a plane back to pakistan real soon.” If he even dares make ONE outrageous comment, send him back. If he is ONE second late for team curfew, send him back. If he even dares to to show ONE smidgen of anger if inzi tells him to bowl as first change instead of opening, send him back. If he even dares to get in ONE altercation with a team mate, send him back. Shoaib should be given one last chance. But he should have inzi and the pak cricket board standing behind him just waiting for the mofo to mess up. And if he does mess up ONE time: PCB, inzi, and woolmer should make his life a living hell.

If you havent noticed Rainy bhai everyone here hates Shoaib’s attitude and not his performance. If Rana ever does have a bad patch we will all still stick by him as long as he retains his humbleness and does not consider himself to be, in the words of a famous person, “the only one who can dismiss all 7 australian batsmen who can each make 200 runs”. Inzamam had a terribly bad patch in the WC 2003 (19 runs in 6 innings) but he remained his humble self and never blew his own trumpet. People did criticize his peformance but no one ever hated our deal aloo.

We here are all humans and we all understand bad patches in form come to people. They are all human after all. But bad attitude is something nobody is willing to tolerate.