Shoaib Akhtar to miss Prepatory camp

Are we surprise???

http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/291916.html

Pakistan v Sri Lanka, Abu Dhabi

Shoaib Akhtar to miss preparatory camp

Cricinfo staff

April 22, 2007

Shoaib Akhtar is unlikely for the series in Abu Dhabi © AFP

Fitness problems has ruled Shoaib Akhtar out of the preparatory camp in Lahore as Pakistan prepare for the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka at Abu Dhabi next month. The camp will be held at Gaddafi Stadium from April 28 to May 4, before the national selectors announce the squad two days later.

The National Selection Committee have short-listed over 35 players, which includes proven performers in the recently concluded domestic season. Younis Khan, who recently declined the captaincy following Inzamam-ul-Haq’s retirement from ODIs, hasn’t been included as yet as the committee is waiting for him to confirm his availability. Younis was recently granted permission from the Pakistan board to play for Yorkshire in the county season.

“We have announced more than 30 players for the camp because it is our first series since taking over the new assignment and we wanted to see maximum number of players before making the selection of the final 15.” said Salahuddin Ahmad, the newly appointed chairman of selectors. “The performance of domestic cricket, junior cricket, A teams and international cricket have been considered in their selection.”

A notable exclusion is Danish Kaneria, the legspinner, who is currently representing Essex. In his place is Mansoor Amjad, the promising legspinner. Azhar Mahmood, the allrounder who was recalled for the World Cup, has also been excluded.

The ODI series begins on May 9.

Batsmen Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Imran Nazir, Khurram Manzoor, Taufeeq Umar, Babar Naeem, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Yousuf, Faisal Iqbal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Asim Kamal, Hasan Raza, Naved Latif, Yasir Hameed, Riffatullah Mohmand, Shahid Yousuf, Adnan Raza

Allrounders Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez, Fawad Alam

Fast bowlers Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Sami, Umar Gul, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, Shabbir Ahmad, Abdul Rauf, Mohammad Irshad, Najaf Shah, Shahid Nazir, Mohammad Khalil

Spinners Abdur Rahman, Tahir Khan, Atif Maqbool, Mansoor Amjad

Wicketkeepers Kamran Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmad, Zulqarnain Haider

Re: Shoaib Akhtar to miss Prepatory camp

Oh Dear what a shock, Shoaib is not attending. :eek: The super fit Shoaib who has never missed a series in his life because of fitness problems has suddenly become unfit. What a shame. :hayaa:

Good to see Fawad Alam in the squad. :k:

Very good to see the name of Khalid Latif, Khurram Manzoor, Fawad Alam, Adnan Raza, Atif Maqbool and Najaf Shah. These players are set to represent pak in near future inshallah.

oh

Akhtar ko kiya ho gaya…abhee bhee fit naheen heay!!!

Can we practically start forgetting about the fact that he even exists…sheesh

and there are people who are mad that Shoaib and afridi and not made captain of Pak...

I personally do not think thata its a bad idea to not to play shoaib in this series just coz of the heat (which can easiy cause an injury to already injury prone bowler.

2ndly its going to be a new team, Malik will be leading the national side for the first time, there has gotta be some hesitency on his part and he needs atmosphere where he does not have anybody to challange his authority.

3rdly, i would ruthar lay shoiab in test matches from now on and completely keep him out of odi's this way atleast Pak can get two complete seasons or 4 test series ouutaa him. If i am not mistaking next season Pak is playing test serieses with AUS, India and SA. So i'd ruthar play him in thise games than in some ODI's with SA

Great to see Salman Butt, Khalid Latif, Khurram Manzoor, Fawad Alam, Najaf Shah and ESPECIALLY Mansoor Amjad in the 30 - these guys should definately be in the 15. If Mansoor Amjad can continue developing as expected then he can be very very useful - coz he's a quality leg spinner...and a very handy bat.

That's indeed a huge surprise

Guys, we all know he has been carrying an injury. What's the big deal here? You guys are just making mountains out of molehills now.

This is actually a good Idea. Any senior player who would be too old to play nex worldcup shouldnot be part of ODI now. Give chance to new guy show that we know who are good enough and then persist with them for long terms.
So likes of Youhana, Shoib, Sachin, Ganguly, Gilchrist, Hayden, Jaysurya etc should just retire from ODI and play test cricket for sometime and then retire from there too.

Exactly right.

I feel, Shoaib Akhtar has become a 'soft target' of media and frustrated Cricket fans alike.
Though he has been surrounded by controversy...I hardly noticed true support and sympathy from Captain and Pakistani board to rejuvenate his game.

Interesting comments by Shoaib…he’s dead on as far as Im concerned.

Controversial Fast Bowler Shoaib Akhtar Wants Change In Pakistan Dressing Room Culture

Controversial fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar on Monday said there was a need to change the culture of the Pakistan team’s dressing room with a captain who is honest and supportive of his players.

“My experience is that in the past instead of using me as a match winner some of the captains used to play matches with me,” Shoaib said in an apparent reference to Inzamam-ul Haq with whom he never had a smooth relationship.

“When you have a captain who has an ego problem or is jealous of performances of other players then you have a major problem in the team. I think there is a need to change our dressing room culture,” he said.

Shoaib said there was a need to have an honest captain.

“I may have disagreements with Imran Khan on some issues. But I have no doubt he was our best leader because he was honest and expected the same from his players. He also didn’t have any jealousy factor with him,” he said.

He lashed out at the players who complained of being forced to play in too much heat in the ongoing national training camp for the series against Sri Lanka to be played in Abu Dhabi.

“I think we need to change our method of training and practice. We need to learn to play on grass and stop making excuses. Because we are professionals and take money for playing,” he said. Shoaib, however, said he had no problems with Shoaib Malik being made captain.

“He is like a younger brother to me and has always treated me with respect. All the younger players get along well with me. I have no issue in Malik being made the captain,” he said.

Shoaib said it was time for things to move on in Pakistan cricket and a change in culture because except for a good home series against England the team had not won anything significant and it also played badly in the World Cup.

Shoaib, one of Pakistan’s senior bowlers, paid rich tributes to Australia’s Glenn McGrath, terming him as the best Test bowler.

“Wasim Akram was a good all-round bowler in Tests and One-dayers but McGrath was the best in Test matches.”

He said to retire in a blaze of glory at the World Cup final was a dream come true for any player.

“To go out at your peak is something every cricketer wants to do. It is a dream come true,” he said.

http://www.cricketworldcuplatest.com/news/controversial-fast-bowler-shoaib-akhtar-wants-chan-111960.html

^ He is making valid points.
However, one thing I don’t get. No one is free from an ego in our team. Why does Akhtar not say that Malik is like his brother. Period. Why the reference to seniority by saying he is like a “younger brother” chota bhai ? And to say that Malik shows him respect - Why? Why can’t our players say thay they are like good friends or brother and they all show each other respect.
:frusty:

Shoaib talking about players with ego, perhaps he was looking in the mirror when he was giving the interview. The dressing room is better without him.

Ehsan bhai, he is obviously pointing out how Inzi had personal problems with him. You have to admit that was wrong on Inzi's part. Just because a man likes to party, it does not mean that he is not sincere with playing for his country.

Osman Samiuddin interviews Akhtar -
Shoaib **toughening up ** for a comeback!

Shoaib toughens up for international cricket](http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/292961.html)
Osman Samiuddin
May 1, 2007

‘I am not unfit but just need more time to toughen up and can’t wait to get back’ © AFP

Shoaib Akhtar will use Pakistan’s relatively light international schedule over the coming months to “invest time in himself” and come back fitter and tougher than before.
Shoaib, who has played only a handful of ODIs and a solitary day of Test cricket in the last year, missed Pakistan’s brief World Cup campaign and will not be travelling for the forthcoming ODI series against Sri Lanka in Abu Dhabi either. But he will, he says, make full use of the gap.
Looking leaner and fitter than he has recently, Shoaib told Cricinfo. “I’m fit. I never said I was unfit. I had a knee injury before the World Cup but I just need a little bit more time to get fitter and get myself sorted out properly once and for all.”
In his absence for the Abu Dhabi series, Pakistan have had the opportunity to trial fast bowlers hurtling about the domestic scene for some time now at the ongoing preparatory camp in Lahore. Abdul Rauf and Mohammad Irshad may get a chance in the series and there might even be a return for Mohammad Khalil.
"This is the right time to invest some time in myself and let the youngsters go out there and show something that they can do,"Shoaib said. “It’ll be nice to see some youngsters come through, do well for the country. It’s a healthy sign.”
He will be back though, ahead of a tough international season for Pakistan, beginning with a home series against South Africa. “I’ll be back by September. I am bowling already and have been training at the academy. I am doing everything as per normal. I am not unfit but just need more time to toughen up and can’t wait to get back.”
Shoaib’s name appeared only peripherally in the talk of captaincy candidates recently and, as it turns out, it is the way he preferred it. “Captaincy and all these things do not matter to me. You have probably seen it now that a lot of other people are interested in being captain. I never said I wanted to be because right now I want to focus on just serving the team and my country.”
And for the incumbent Shoaib Malik, there are cheery words. "He’s like a brother to me. I met him recently. We had a good chat and hopefully I passed on whatever advice I could. I am one the seniors now and will offer him any help and advice on the field that he needs.
“I’m not one of those guys who creates problems. I never have and I never will. He will be fully supported and we will help him to win because ultimately that is what matters.”
Osman Samiuddin is Pakistan editor of Cricinfo
© Cricinfo

yaar koi nayee khabar sunaao.. it’s so usual :yawn:

Inzamam was jealous of Shoaib performance??? :confused:

How many times he played under him? :konfused:…home series against India in '03, '07 Test and than '05 against England.