Shia Misconceptions

The following is an extract from an article by Dr. A. S. Hashim and Imam Muhammad Ali Elahi.

Could I ask the Shia brothers/sisters to read through this and let me know if there are any things you disagree upon.

Misconception #1: Shias have a different Quran. They add another 10 chapters to the original Quran.

Response: Not true. I have checked many times Quran kept in Shia homes and mosques. I still find it the same as the original Quran. More recently, I took care of an Iranian lady patient hospitalized here. I saw a copy of the Quran by her side. I borrowed it from her and browsed through cover to cover. In Arabic it was the same as our Quran. Of course, since I did not know the Persian language, I can’t say much about the translation. It is a sin to even say that the Quran can be changed or added to by Shia when it is protected by God.

Misconception #2: Some Shia consider Ali as God.

Response: Not true. It is disbelief to even think of such a thing. During the time of Ali, some pagan groups called Gholat did consider Ali as Lord. When he found out, they were burned to death. Alawis of Syria may have a similar belief, but they are non-Muslims, neither Shia nor Sunni.

Misconception #3: Shias have different declarations of faith and they add to the call to prescribed prayer.

Response: The declaration to become a Muslim, as administered to non-Muslims, is the same. Some Shia add to themselves, “Ali is a friend of God (PBUH) or Ali is a spiritual leader of God,” after the call to prescribed prayer, but not as part of the call to prescribed prayer.

Misconception #4: Shias do not perform sunnah prayers. Sunnah prayers are non obligatory prayers performed by Prophet Muhammad.

Response: Shia do perform non-obligatory prayers, 36 cycles per day in total, but call it nawafil and not sunnah.

Misconception #5: Some Shia believe the Angel Gabriel made a mistake and prophethood was meant for Ali and not Muhammad (PBUH).

Response: Not true. No Shia thinks of such false claims. “Only demented minds think of such questions.”

Misconception #6: Shias slander and ridicule the first three caliphs (Abu Bakr, Umar and Uthman) and Prophet Muhammad’s wife, Ayisha.

Response: Shia consider the first three caliphs as great companions and good Muslim administrators, but not spiritual leaders (imams). Imam Jafar Sadiq, whose mother and grandmother came from the line of Abu Bakr, said of Abu Bakr, “He gave me birth twice.” Ayisha is respected by Shias as the “Mother of Believers,” as Ali respected her when he sent her back from Basra to Madinah after the Battle of the Camel. If some Shia do slander the three caliphs and Ayisha, they do it out of ignorance and should ask God’s forgiveness.

Misconception # 7: Shias combine all five prayers into one prayer in the evening.

Response: Not true. In Shia mosques, whether in Iran or the USA, all five daily prayers are performed. Some working Shia do combine noon and afternoon and evening and night, but Shia scholars recommend performing them separately. Such combinations may not be ideal, but better than not praying at all. How can a Sunni who does not pray at all be better than a Shia who combines prayers?

Misconception # 8: Shias do not pay zakat (poor-due).

Response: Not true. They not only pay 2.5

left over from savings as zakat, but also an additional 20

as khums or general charity. However, they prefer to pay directly to the needy rather than corrupt Sunni government.

Misconception #9: Shias practice temporary marriages (mutah).

Response: Mutah (temporary marriages) was allowed during the time of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) and he himself practiced it. Ibn Zubayr was born out of the temporary marriage. Later on Caliph Umar prohibited it due to social reasons as the Islamic world was rapidly expanding. Shias discourage mutah but do not consider it prohibited. Some do abuse this. As a temporary privilege during travel, it is better than adultery.

Misconception #10: They consider Imams infallible and above the prophets.

Response: Not true. All prophets are born Prophet but as mentioned in Quran about Abraham that after passing the test, a prophet becomes a leader (Imam). Imams are carriers of the message of Islam. Shias consider Ali only as an Imam, but Muhammad (p) is the Prophet (nabi), Messenger (rasul) and leader (imam).

With the little knowledge I have, I have tried to do my best as a Sunni in defending my Shia brothers in Islam with the hope and prayer to God Almighty that He will “instill love in the heart of the believers” and bring us closer to each other so that we jointly can fight our common enemy, Satan and his followers.

Look forward to your comments.

cooldude brethren. i found this on another website. i don’t know how much truth it holds. but I am confident to say that this development of web has encouraged and paved a path for the promotion of our inborn hatreds. if you havet time please substantiate these too. i don’t have books to validate them. personally i dont care for opposite words.

Fact 1: "Mix with them(i.e. non-shia) externally but oppose them internally." (Al-Kafi vol.9 p.116) now this Shi'ite hadeeth means that they should mix with us and try to decieve us..It trully shows us Muslims what the Shi'ites are!
"He who conceals his religion has saved it, and he who makes it public has destroyed it." now this contradicts the Quran as will be shown below.

Fact 2: "A believer who does not dissimulate is like a body without a head." (Tafseer al-Askari) It is also interesting that the Shi'ites article of Faith "Taqayyah" is just like what the Talmudites (jews who follow the Talmud) say about the Goyyims (non-jews,) as all Talmudites say that they should lie to us non-jews..You see this explains a lot about the Shi'ites and their Similarities with the Jews as the Shi'ite sect was started by Abdullah bin saba. (a Jew who started the shi'ite religion, just with the intent of trying to destroy the Muslims..this in explained in the article "Who founded the Shi'ite Religion")

Fact 3: "Nine tenths of religion is taqiyyah(dissimulation), hence one who does not dissimulate has no religion." (Al-Kafi vol.9 p.110) This shows us that Shi'ites have to lie to us as if they don't then they will not be called Muslims by other Shi'ites....it shows us how sick is the Shi'ite faith.

Fact 4: Concerning the verse, "Verily the most noble of you in Allah's sight is the most God-fearing(atqaakum)" , the shia attribute the following interpretation of "atqaakum": "That is, your deeds done by taqiyyah(dissimulation) (Al-I'tiqadat)

Fact 5: So as you can see, the Shi'ites beleive that they should decieve us with their lies, as the Shi'ites hate us sunni muslims by calling us worse than dogs....("Although Allah, the Exalted, has not created a creature worse than a dog, yet a Nasbi (ie. A Sunni) is worse than even a dog." here is the Shi'te book that this lie came from (Haqqul Yakeen (Persian) Vol 2, P. 516)

[This message has been edited by nanga .]

Nice post CoolDude,
I also believe that all moderate shias believe and have this faith. i have many shia friends and many relatives with this faith and I have never had any problem with them. I also keep fast on those days of mourning.
Ihave no problem if some people regard Hazrat Ali as their first Imam and vice versa they should havepatience if I regard Hazrat Abu Bakr as first Imam.I dont think anyone as non-muslim if they have different faith in these matters but they should have the patience to digest others beliefs. I have seen slandering of the worst kind against Holy companions of Prophet but never said anybody non-muslim but If I slightly disagree with them I am termed as non-muslim.

[This message has been edited by Degas (edited September 22, 2000).]

Originally posted by CoolDude:
**The following is an extract from an article by Dr. A. S. Hashim and Imam Muhammad Ali Elahi.

Could I ask the Shia brothers/sisters to read through this and let me know if there are any things you disagree upon.

Misconception #1: Shias have a different Quran. They add another 10 chapters to the original Quran.

Response: Not true. I have checked many times Quran kept in Shia homes and mosques. I still find it the same as the original Quran. More recently, I took care of an Iranian lady patient hospitalized here. I saw a copy of the Quran by her side. I borrowed it from her and browsed through cover to cover. In Arabic it was the same as our Quran. Of course, since I did not know the Persian language, I can't say much about the translation. It is a sin to even say that the Quran can be changed or added to by Shia when it is protected by God.

Response: Not true. It is disbelief to even think of such a thing. During the time of Ali, some pagan groups called Gholat did consider Ali as Lord. When he found out, they were burned to death. Alawis of Syria may have a similar belief, but they are non-Muslims, neither Shia nor Sunni.

Misconception #3: Shias have different declarations of faith and they add to the call to prescribed prayer.

Response: The declaration to become a Muslim, as administered to non-Muslims, is the same. Some Shia add to themselves, "Ali is a friend of God (PBUH) or Ali is a spiritual leader of God," after the call to prescribed prayer, but not as part of the call to prescribed prayer.

Misconception #4: Shias do not perform sunnah prayers. Sunnah prayers are non obligatory prayers performed by Prophet Muhammad.

Response: Shia do perform non-obligatory prayers, 36 cycles per day in total, but call it nawafil and not sunnah.

Misconception #5: Some Shia believe the Angel Gabriel made a mistake and prophethood was meant for Ali and not Muhammad (PBUH).

Response: Not true. No Shia thinks of such false claims. "Only demented minds think of such questions."

Misconception #6: Shias slander and ridicule the first three caliphs (Abu Bakr, Umar and Uthman) and Prophet Muhammad's wife, Ayisha.

Response: Shia consider the first three caliphs as great companions and good Muslim administrators, but not spiritual leaders (imams). Imam Jafar Sadiq, whose mother and grandmother came from the line of Abu Bakr, said of Abu Bakr, "He gave me birth twice." Ayisha is respected by Shias as the "Mother of Believers," as Ali respected her when he sent her back from Basra to Madinah after the Battle of the Camel. If some Shia do slander the three caliphs and Ayisha, they do it out of ignorance and should ask God's forgiveness.

Misconception # 7: Shias combine all five prayers into one prayer in the evening.

Response: Not true. In Shia mosques, whether in Iran or the USA, all five daily prayers are performed. Some working Shia do combine noon and afternoon and evening and night, but Shia scholars recommend performing them separately. Such combinations may not be ideal, but better than not praying at all. How can a Sunni who does not pray at all be better than a Shia who combines prayers?

as khums or general charity. However, they prefer to pay directly to the needy rather than corrupt Sunni government.

Response: Mutah (temporary marriages) was allowed during the time of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) and he himself practiced it. Ibn Zubayr was born out of the temporary marriage. Later on Caliph Umar prohibited it due to social reasons as the Islamic world was rapidly expanding. Shias discourage mutah but do not consider it prohibited. Some do abuse this. As a temporary privilege during travel, it is better than adultery.

Response: Not true. All prophets are born Prophet but as mentioned in Quran about Abraham that after passing the test, a prophet becomes a leader (Imam). Imams are carriers of the message of Islam. Shias consider Ali only as an Imam, but Muhammad (p) is the Prophet (nabi), Messenger (rasul) and leader (imam).

With the little knowledge I have, I have tried to do my best as a Sunni in defending my Shia brothers in Islam with the hope and prayer to God Almighty that He will "instill love in the heart of the believers" and bring us closer to each other so that we jointly can fight our common enemy, Satan and his followers.

Look forward to your comments.**

I have a good number of shia friends too. Your comments are correct Cool Dude !

AishaKhan (Ashee)!

**The following is an extract from an article by Dr. A. S. Hashim and Imam Muhammad Ali Elahi.

Response: Not true. I have checked many times Quran kept in Shia homes and mosques. I still find it the same as the original Quran. More recently, I took care of an Iranian lady patient hospitalized here. I saw a copy of the Quran by her side. I borrowed it from her and browsed through cover to cover. In Arabic it was the same as our Quran. Of course, since I did not know the Persian language, I can't say much about the translation. It is a sin to even say that the Quran can be changed or added to by Shia when it is protected by God.

Response: The declaration to become a Muslim, as administered to non-Muslims, is the same. Some Shia add to themselves, "Ali is a friend of God (PBUH) or Ali is a spiritual leader of God," after the call to prescribed prayer, but not as part of the call to prescribed prayer.

Response: Not true. No Shia thinks of such false claims. "Only demented minds think of such questions."

Misconception #6: Shias slander and ridicule the first three caliphs (Abu Bakr, Umar and Uthman) and Prophet Muhammad's wife, Ayisha.

Response: Shia consider the first three caliphs as great companions and good Muslim administrators, but not spiritual leaders (imams). Imam Jafar Sadiq, whose mother and grandmother came from the line of Abu Bakr, said of Abu Bakr, "He gave me birth twice." Ayisha is respected by Shias as the "Mother of Believers," as Ali respected her when he sent her back from Basra to Madinah after the Battle of the Camel. If some Shia do slander the three caliphs and Ayisha, they do it out of ignorance and should ask God's forgiveness.

With the little knowledge I have, I have tried to do my best as a Sunni in defending my Shia brothers in Islam with the hope and prayer to God Almighty that He will "instill love in the heart of the believers" and bring us closer to each other so that we jointly can fight our common enemy, Satan and his followers.

Cool Dude bhayya,
You are totally right here. This is what I had been trying to tell my fellow muslims before.
Jazakallah khair!!!

~farooq~~

Brother Cool Dude,
Again, totally endorsing your statements here. May Allah bless you in sadqa of Prophet (s.a.w.w) and his family (a.s).

aapka bhai,
Humble.

wow!!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/sleep.gif

vEry Good post CoOL dUde jEeeeeeeeeeee!!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/sleep2.gif

Shazia!!!

Hi folks....

Ideally I will like to believe every single word posted by Cool Dude. And I did believe that most if not all shias are like that.

Unfortunately, some are not. Not to worry, one might say, there are good and the bad every where.

But my bigger worry is that, those who propagate slander and hatred and rudeness are increasing. Now, that, my dear friends, is what worries me. After all there are real people who post under the nick a11shah and others like that. The hatred which pours out of their postings, is immense. I'd again like to believe that they are a miniscule of the shia population. I pray I am right.

I have lots of shia friends. They attend lots of majalis in Muharram and do everything required by being a shia, but they never have doubted that we are all muslims. Difference of opinion is natural and hence should be expected. But the hatred being propagated of late, by some shia speakers, moulvis and imams is destroying the whole fabric of muslim ummah.

By nature, sunnis are more conciliatory, because it is our belief that all Imams are right, all sahaba are to be respected, all khulafa-e-Rashedeen should be given full respect, that all ahle-bayt are to be respected, that Karbala was a terrible tragedy and that all muslims should live happily together.

Unfortunately, that is not how everyone is led to belief. nanga, did brought out a point, that some shia scholars recommend hiding the tru shiite feelings and to consider sunnis an inferior species. Many postings on this forum represent that same thinking.

Lets hope and pray that the hatred is turned into reconciliation and muslims thrive as one ummah...Ameen

…and friends may I make a simple suggestion.

When you are replying to a post, just post your post

I mean, just post what you want to say, instead of quoting the whole original article, again and again.

In this one page, the original article by CoolDude has been reproduced THREE times. Thereby, unnecessarily increasing the size of the page (and, ah, ah, ah, increases the download time… on poor, slow, Pakistani connections…thats my real heartburn…ah!!!)

Ofcourse, quote should be used if you want to refer to something particular in that article or want to respond to something particular.

Can you please edit your posts to take out the article…please… Thanks !

Life is too short to waste
Enjoy… and be Happy

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited September 22, 2000).]

Nara-e-takbeer!

Allah-o-akbar!

[This message has been edited by Admin (edited September 22, 2000).]

[This message has been edited by Humble (edited September 22, 2000).]

Allah Hafiz my dear friends here:
Cool Dude
Shakir
Black Beauty
Face up
Farooq
Aisha Khan
Muslim786
Pakigurya
Janu
Mem sahab
Dr. Loveless
Ajmalsiddiqui
Mr. Pakistani
Ms. Pakistan
Young brat
Bladamunda007
Uzee
Spawn
Ramesha
Hk
and other well wishers!!!!!!!!

Your bro,
Humble

[This message has been edited by Girl from Quraysh (edited September 24, 2000).]

Who's banning you?

We just want you to pick one nick and stick to it rather then cluttering up the board with agreements to yourself.

I would like to put the recors straight:

I strongly believe in Shia / Sunni brotherhood. We are all muslims. We believe in Allah (swt), his holy apostle (pbuh), in the holy Qur'an, all the prophets, the angels, and respect the righteous companions of the prophet.

What gets to me is when wahabi propaganda label Shias kafir by attributing false charges.

Brothers, Al-Kafi is not free from error. If you had taken the time to read the authors comments, you would know that Kafi himself has said that there may be errors. Bottomline, if anything in Kafi does not agree with the Qur'an or the true sunnat of the prophet (pbuh), as taught to us by the holy ahl bait, we are to ignore such hadiths.

This is far from what sunnis do regarding their sahih books, by believing EVERYTHING that is written in it, like the prophet going to prayers with semem stains, going to watch Ethopian dances, etc.

Far be it the the holiest and greatest messenger of Allah (swt), may my life be sacrified for him, would commit such acts. He was sinless (masoom) from birth till death.

I feel hurt that my brothers and sisters think that my posts are meant to cause arguments. I have never critized the personalities of Abu Baker, Umar, and the rest but have pointed out faults in their behaviour and action.

Abu Baker attempted to lead the prayer but was removed by the prophet (pbuh). That is what happened.

When the prophet (pbuh) was about to depart to his heavenly abode, he sent Abu Baker, Umar, and all companions that you regard highly to fight the Romans under Ubaid. They dis-obeyed the prophet (pbuh) and returned back because they wanted to seize power after the holy apostle's death.

They had their secret meeting at Saqifa.

They ignored the call at Ghadir Khum where the prophet (pbuh) declared Imam Ali (as) as the Master of all believers.

The prophet called the holy Imam his brother. He made Abu Baker Umar's brother. What does this tell you ?

Aisha waged wars against the holy Imam. She hated Imam Ali (as) and Fatima. the holy Lady of Light. She was jealous of the prophet's other wives, especially Khatija.

I will not say anymore. There are brothers here, Humble, Mr. Pakistani, and others who are more eloquent in speech than I.

I will not be posting anymore. I wish you all (my sunni and shia brothers) the best and ask that you keep the love of the prophet (pbuh) and his holy ahl bait (Imam Ali, Fatima, Imam Hasan and Hussain (as) ) in yr hearts. Remember that they are the leaders of paradise and love for them is proof of yr belief in Islam and fulfillment of the holy prophet's commandments.

Do not forget what the Qur'an says where the prophet reminds us "Say, I ask you nothing (in return for my efforts), except the love of my ahl-bait.

Keep searching for truth.

May you all be protected by the blessings of Allah (swt), his holy and mightiest messenger (pbuh), and his holy and sinless progeny.

Wa Salam.

I never did that. Its a mere accusation.
Clear enough? Now, I understand why we (pakistanis) are far behind other nations, its because we are against the freedom of speech. We suppress our intellectual minds and abuse them. I told you and I repeat Mr. or Ms Admin, I dont need aother screen name. Clear enough. I really clear least now if you ban me, because I have come to known, that this forum is useless. We cannot express what our inner feelings of soul are, then whats the point of posting all these fake posts here.
Three of your moderators are not worth it (girl from quresh or najd, akif, outlaw).
Keep suffering, and suffer more . Its because of this that our nation is going behind because people do not have tolerance to give a chance to other side or listen to their views.
Keep suffering!

Humble.

Humble.

Brother Humble,

Pls give me yr e-mail address. Since this is my last posting here, I will not be able to get in touch with you.

Wa Salam.

Allah Hafiz my friends. I'll miss you all:

Cool Dude
Shakir
Black Beauty
Face up
Farooq
Aisha Khan
Muslim786
Pakigurya
Janu
Mem sahab
Dr. Loveless
Ajmalsiddiqui
Mr. Pakistani
Ms. Pakistan
Young brat
Bladamunda007
Uzee
Spawn
Ramesha
Hk
And others!!!!!!!

My only qussor is that I always say haq (right thing). And truth hurts them, specially if its bitter. My message to you all is never give up and have faith in Allah.
Our coutry is far behind many other nations because the hirarchy over there also tries to suppress the intellectuals and then our dear country suffers.

May Allah save Pakistan!

Khuda pakistan ki hifazat karey aur usko dusmanoon (androonee) key shar sey mehfooz rakhey!
Humble.

[This message has been edited by Girl from Quraysh (edited September 24, 2000).]

To Humble,

Keep the Faith and keep Posting!

was salaam!

Brother Allshah and Humble it was real nice to have you people, you were a great source of knowledge for me along with some others, but some people have trouble accepting the truth, they just want to hide it. We won't have split into so many sects today if people wont have tried to hide the truth and would have open their judgement of mind and leant to face and search for the truth. I feel sorry for them, Allshah you gave very good arguments and with some goood daleels, hope these people would have tried to benefit from it, Humble your views on Islam were very admiring, I wish these narrow minded moderators wouldn't have kept deleting your posts and we all could have benefit from your deal of knowledge.

Humble and Allshah please give me your email adresses so we can share our opinions and views through email, other guppies who want to be in touch VIA emails, email me your adresses and i'll create a list for us to share our views.

Originally posted by Admin:
**Who's banning you?

We just want you to pick one nick and stick to it rather then cluttering up the board with agreements to yourself.

I wont mention names, but what about other people with more than one nicks?

Three of my close friends are Shia. We all share the same views about Islam. Makes me so mad when people tell me all these fictitious stories about Shias.