well this may sound a bit outdated but iam a big fan of old paki dramas and i just love ankhahee, tanhaian , and dhoop kinare
i find startling resembelence between shehnaz shaikh and marina khan
but i found shehnaaz more rich and suave that marina who was sexy
what did u think?
rich and suave or sexy. Very interesting question. And these are old dramas you say?
I don't who of the pair is more sophisticated and loaded but I can certainly compare them on their acting abilities.
I think Marina Khan is highly overrated. Case closed!
Shehnaz Sheikh is a whole different ball game now. She in my opinion is the finest Pakistani actress along with Khalida Riyasat. Her roles in Ankahi and Tanhaayian were as different as day and night but she was splendid in both roles. I don't think it is a coincidence that the one common factor in the two finest plays that PTV came out with happens to be Shehnaz.
Does anybody have any new info on Ms. Sheikh? Has she taken up any new projects or not?
BTW, excellent topic Kabir bhai. You have good taste.
http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/ss1.JPG
[This message has been edited by ~Sehar~ (edited July 24, 2002).]
yea i used to find them the same but now know the difference. Appreciate both. Shehnaz looks mature compared to Marina.
Shehnaz appears to be more sensitive, conserve, serious & mature while Marina seems to be the happy-go-lucky type.
the performance of both them is worth the appreciation
b/w i liked the role/acting of their uncle in “tanhaiyan”
***I dunno where I’m going. I dunno what for. But I’m making progress.
Originally posted by sambrialian:
**I don't who of the pair is more sophisticated and loaded but I can certainly compare them on their acting abilities.
I think Marina Khan is highly overrated. Case closed!
Shehnaz Sheikh is a whole different ball game now. She in my opinion is the finest Pakistani actress along with Khalida Riyasat. Her roles in Ankahi and Tanhaayian were as different as day and night but she was splendid in both roles. I don't think it is a coincidence that the one common factor in the two finest plays that PTV came out with happens to be Shehnaz.
Does anybody have any new info on Ms. Sheikh? Has she taken up any new projects or not?
BTW, excellent topic Kabir bhai. You have good taste.**
THATS exactly how i feel about these 2 actresses,iam also dying to know more of shehnaaz she is amazing woman
and thank you sambrialian
Kabir bhai, when i left Pakistan, Shehnaz Sheikh was back on PTV but only as an anchor. Recently I remember reading somewhere that she might consider a project if she deems it suitable. Now, considering that most of the current dramas can't even be mentioned in the same breath as classics like Ankahi and Tanhaayiaan, I doubt if Ms. Sheikh will do anything anytime soon.
Maybe if a project with some sort of a stellar cast comes along, we might see her back. It seems to me from her work that she is very picky about who and what she works with. So, maybe it will take old timers like Marina, Qazi Wajid and the like to perhaps lure her back into dramas.
General comment:
Isn't it just wonderful that we have multiple threads running on a movie made in an enemy country that will be a surefire waste of a good three hours. Still the threads don't die and resurface again and again. In many cases NEW threads are started over and again to reminisce over the genius of Bharati films and music.
Yet when it comes to discussing a pair of actresses who are perhaps the only female performers of Pakistan worthy of international recognition, all we can muster is a measly 6 replies. Now, I understand why all the good artists either succumb to overexposure or just slip right out of the limelight. They know that the public does not have enough cerebral capacity to appreciate anything other than Bharati films as an art form. Shor Sharaba is just a representation of the trend except at a smaller scale.
sighhhzzz, my babyhood crushes
sambrailian
I had checked this thread a few days ago and had meant to reply to your 'general comment' but hadn't found the time till now.
Shor Sharaba is precisely what the members make it out to be, depending on their likes of different types of entertainment. Why is that more Indian entertainment threads are successful than Pakistani entertainment threads? I can narrow it down to a couple of reasons.
There's more publicity given to Indian films which generally tend to do better with the desi public than the pakistani films. I think we can agree on that. Indians have established entertainment channels abroad long before Prime TV or others alike came along. Which is precisely why i am advocating that Pakistanis keep Prime TV despite it's lack of organization and good programs, so at least we have 'some' pakistani entertainment with the hope of improvement over time. I don't know the situation with UK, but here in USA and rest of North America, we hadn't a Pakistani channel till last year. My only way of seeing dramas was to rent them from local Pakistani stores. Music i heard from either the net, or when i bought the albums. There was no publicity, hence myself and others alike hadn't the means to keep uptodate with whatever was going on in Pakistani entertainment.
You touched upon Shahnaz Sheikh and Marina Khan. With that i'd like to add that both of these talented females haven't appeared in any dramas for a while, i remember 'TanhayaaN' and liked it because it was funny due to kabacha. I was too young to really appreciate either of these actresses. Because these actresses haven't appeared on TV for a while, much of the younger lot cannot really appreciate their talent hence many people haven't replied to this thread.
Sehar ji, I also missed your response for some reason too until now. Either way here goes..
I agree that our Bharati friends carry out extensive publicity campaigns for their projects and they are sort of hard to miss at least their ads. But I don't think it takes too much to counter the propaganda. I still think it is very immature and hypocritical of our people to get all boiled up when it comes to Kashmir, etc when they are going to home to marvel at the curves of a Bharati female or the dance moves of a Bharati hero. Either way this is a endless debate which I'm sure has been beaten to death a million times here. So, I won't even debate this anymore.
About your second point, ya know I'm not exactly fifty years old myself. I also saw Tanhaayian when I was quite young but I still appreciated the drama but not in the same way as I do now. Either way, I have gone back and watched classics like Tanhaayian and Ankahi to get an appreciation for these people. (I plan to watch Aangan Terha soon, somehow that drama has eluded me for a long time.)
All I want is for our young people to appreciate what true talent and verstality is by watching the greats Salim Nasir and Shakeel, and not that idiot from across the border who dances like he's got a needle stuck up his rear (there are so many of them).
Hmm, maybe I should consider a career change and start making dramas. Do these director folks make decent money?
Shehnaz Sheikh
Samb-- my parents made us watch Angan Terha last year. Good drama
I finished Unkahi last month. Shehnaz Sheikh is great but damn, till now, I have only seen the ‘fat’ version of Javed Sheikh. What a change!
Oh yeah, Salim Nasir! I think I remember him to be the servant in Angan Terha as well as the mamoon in unkahi. Both roles beautifully done.
[This message has been edited by X_Communist (edited August 02, 2002).]
Originally posted by X_Communist:
**I finished Unkahi last month. Shehnaz Sheikh is great but damn, till now, I have only seen the 'fat' version of Javed Sheikh. What a change!
Oh yeah, Salim Nasir! I think I remember him to be the servant in Angan Terha as well as the mamoon in unkahi. Both roles beautifully done.
Actually Javed Sheikh was quite a talented performer. You must have noticed that he really did well in Ankahi. It was only after he made the transition to movies, did he screw up.
Salim Nasir was pure class. Undoubtedly the best Pakistani actor of perhaps all time. I have heard rave reviews of Angan Terha, will watch it soon.
And Salim Nasir, as magnificent as he was in both Ankahi and Angan Terha, was not a one trick pony. Supposedly he was a master of the genre of serious acting as well. It's really sad that he's no more. He truly is a legend. May his soul rest in peace, Aameen! Hope he gets his due recognition.
truly the are awesome performers
and like all others here, i remember them from memorable roles in dramas like ankahi and tanhaiyaaN
At the end of the game the king and the pawn go back in the same box.