Shehnaz's Plea

Shenaz Treasurywala writes an open letter to NaMo, Big B, Tendulkar, Khans, Ambani | PINKVILLA

So, here is a link containing Shehnaz’s letter to prominent figures about taking action against sexual abuse. I read the article and my heart went out to the victims…especially her friend that was raped in the train. But at the same time, I’m wondering…why appeal to people like Amitabh Bachan, SRK. Salman etc? What will it accomplish besides creating a temporary awareness and then these middle-aged heroes will be back to either featuring in their raunchy item-songs with heroines more than half their age…OR…if they’re working behind the camera they will include the racy song in the movies they’re either directing or producing. The item numbers which depict women “enjoying” the lewd attention that she receives from the men around her…which ranges from staring to cat-calling to touching/grabbing her…to following her…and she is shown to enjoys all this while feigning annoyance. Why did Shehnaz not think of this? Would the celebs that she’s appealing to give up entirely on these item numbers?

I am not a fan of Aamir Khan (or any other khan for that matter)…but I liked what he said about this issue a few months back. He said that he himself and the film industry has played a role in society’s disrespect of women. So far, I have not come across any other actor or director who has been honest enough to admit this. I cannot post the link to Aamir’s comments as it was several months ago…but I remember reading it and being pleasantly surprised at the ownership.

I don’t know about others, but I admit that I feel very very put off when the more current lot of trending Bollywood actresses and even yesteryear ones come forward to condemn a rape incident. It’s not the condemning in and of itself that I have an issue with…for such a heinous crime should be condemned. But what irks…and that’s putting it mildly…what disturbs me is for these actresses to speak out about the importance of respecting women …and then for them to go back to raking in their millions for Sheila ki Jiwanai and Munni Badnaam Hui etc etc. I admit they’re catchy to listen to…but what message is the picturization and lyrics sending to people…especially those who are obsessed with the celebs and support and defend their every move and belief?

Or is that the film industry fears lash back from the public when such crimes happen and as damage control, a bevy of the current popular crop of stars comes forward to cushion the perception of the industry. Maybe I am being too harsh.

And for anyone who will say that item sings are not solely to blame…I never said that. What I mean is that your condemnation loses validity when you will go on to portray yourself on the screen in a way that contradicts your words. An analogy that comes to mind is of a high-end designer product that “is not all that” but consumers are “besotted and blinded” by the high-end label and don’t look/assess the product critically. Similarly, I feel that some fans are so mesmerized by their favorite celebs and their off-screen messages…that they don’t look at them critically to see if their messages are truly endorsed on the screen as well.

What are your thoughts?

Re: Shehnaz’s Plea

I heard about this as well. It is quite sad what happened to her. I thought initially it is not a good idea. What impact could it make? BUt then if they can do fairness ads and other such ads why not this. Lot of people follow them, Surely they can change views. She also contacted Sachin Tendulkar apparently. Salman Khan does lot of charity work and even visited an Afghani fan of his who was shot in the face by her husband. He helped her with the treatment. If he can do that then why not this? I do realise he has a controversial past life.

Salman Khan Visits Afghan Woman Shot By Husband

They may do item numbers because it is popular and sells but in personal life they don’t have to agree with it. Amir Khan has lot of social consciousness and his satyamev jayate program has shown episodes on dowry, domestic violence and rape. I recommend watching those episodes. They are very touching.

Item numbers have got worse recently but even in times of Helen they were around in some form. But back then they were more dignified. There are some who don’t do item numbers and are conscious of the effect they can have. Kangana Ranaut refused 2 crore offer to do a fairness ad. So there are people like her as well.

Farhan Akhtar and some other celebs have come up with MARD (men against rape and discrimination) and have made short films/songs for this. What impact it would have i don’t know but it is heartening to see.

And a song on empowering women

Re: Shehnaz's Plea

Savera,

If Salman Khan actively helps out those living in poverty or those who are handicapped or who have a life-threatening diseases.....his movies will not negate or contradict those noble actions.

But if he participates in a march against sexual assault of women and then months later he is seen smacking some chamak challo's "moneymaker" in an item-song, he negates his condemnation of sexual harassment of women.

You're not understanding the point that I'm making. I am already aware of his off-screen charity events and they are all well and good. If let's say that he actively helps to clean up the environment or helps to eradicate poverty and does not make "light" of such issues in his movies, then great.

But of what real benefit would an active charity-giver like Salman who is often seen wearing his "Being Human" t-shirt be in helping women stay safe if he is going to be seen in movies acting in ways that send young men the message that women enjoy harassment while chamak challo or munni or sheila is sending women the message that you're supposed to enjoy such unsavory attention?

Are him and SRK the best people to appeal to.....like seriously? They depend on such "masala"...as it's like their "bread and buttah" and they know all too well that sex sells and it especially makes commercial or mainstream films sell. Even someone like Jaya Bachchan....of what real profound benefit would her teary-eyed condemnation of a gang-rape be when her husband and son will be be seen meandering and prancing about drunk-like around Aishwayra or some other wench with a teeny tiny choli and kajraray naina?

Yes, I do think that it took guts for Shehnaz to write this letter and to share her experiences and those of her loved ones. And maybe it makes me a big-jerk for rolling my eyes at Shehnaz's idea. I wonder if Shehnaz would refuse to do an item number for a movie on grounds that it's degrading to women? Or even if not an item number...let's say she's offered a meatier role in a movie....would she put her foot down for having to do scenes which depict her as nothing more than a sex object?

I agree appealing to them does go against their character and image in movies. But they are very popular and will have more impact than an actor who does art movies and has not appeared in item songs like Nana Patekar. Or Rahul Bose. Even Farhan Akhtar has done the above but would he have same impact as SRK or Salman Khan? Maybe not.

How much power do actors have in deciding whether they should act in such songs or scenes. It is the director and choreographers decide that. We might be giving actors too much credit. Ultimately the audience is to blame. If they reject item songs and if they aren't profitable no actor would do it. The supply happens because demand is there for whatever reason. In a competitive industry where older stars are afraid of losing out to younger competition anything that increases popularity of a movie counts whether that be a hit item song or having such dances.

Is Jaya Bachchan responsible for the movies and songs her husband and son do? There may be disagreements amongst them. I recall her saying one of Abhishek's latest films was bakwas.

I'd hope people would have enough sense to tell difference between real life person and a character on screen. Just because a hero can attack 8 guys at once doesn't mean the real life actor can. Just because Amrish Puri played a villain in movies does not mean he has a villain like character in real life.
Technically she should refuse to do such songs and roles but as a struggling actor looking for work she might end up compromising her values.

If movies have such a big impact on people of India, they should start making more comedies to raise public's sense of humor.

Didn't know who this chick was, so I googled her. Now am surprised @redvelvet did not have any objections to the letter-writer herself. Some of her pictures are wudu-breaking.

These people are jokes.

You know me well, OMYA. I actually did start typing that one can find very racy pics of Shehnaz in very provocative poses on Google. Surely she knows the impact that this would have on men and how they perceive her when according to the letter she does not want herself or any woman to be perceived or seen as a sex object. But then I deleted that bit from my post cuz I thought it might be a can of worms as someone might then say that a guy could assault a woman who is modestly dressed too. Aisay banday/bandi ko yeh baat nahi samajh main aati that risks increase with some things.

Let Bollywood fix its own sense of humor first...I don't like their slapstick comedy.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1150214/aamir-khan-demands-swift-action-in-rape-cases

See it how you may, but some of these personalities do hold a great deal of clout in India.
While I agree with you in concept, I can't deny that a single initiative from any of these Bollywood bigwigs can influence mindsets....

The thing is that while the masses may be influenced by celebrity initiatives for social reform, simultaneously their movies and item songs send a conflicting message. I may be wrong, but it seems like walking uphill...where you have to exert greater force. You take 5 steps forward but the crap in the movies takes society several steps backward as both these are simultaneously occurring.

I read title as "shehnaz pizza" I should have break fast now.

Yes, I think you should as well. Lol.

Kangna has been vocal about her refusal to do a fairness add. Clearly she understand the detrimental effects of such ads on society, right? Either that…or she wants to send the message to the masses that my fairness was God-given and not achieved through applying creams in my face :stuck_out_tongue: Par theek hai…let’s say that Kangana refuses such ads because it’s a societal dilemma. And she’s not the only actress to reject these ad offers; there are several others. So, if these actresses understand the harmful effects of these ads and even have the guts to admit this openly despite that fact that their other celebrity friends actively endorse these ads…why do they not show that admit the harmfulness of item songs? Why do we not see that same courage and forthrightness then?

So, actresses have a problem with being seen as fair-skin endorsers…but they don’t have a problem with being seen as “sexy” or as a piece of meat in item songs on Maxim covers etc? The latter image is seen as a positive thing. And mayhaps 2 crore would not be that huge of a loss compared to losing out on movies for rejecting item numbers or declining to do sleazy scenes. Nobody forced them to do the fairness ads…they chose not to do them…just as they chose to strip down for a Maxim cover. They made a choice in what image they wanted to project of themselves in both scenarios.

Also Savera, not sure I quite agree with you saying that it’s mostly the audience’s fault in that they make the demands…hence the supply by the entertainment industry is provided. Who introduces trends into a society? Usually not the average person. It’s the big wigs of tinsel town that introduce the titillation to the masses…to give em “a lil taste” and if it’s a hit…then they churn out more and more. So, it’s a two-way street, no? And many times celebs and the entertainment industry churn something out several times to develop a tolerance or immunity among the masses. Many would deem this a conspiracy-theory, but I feel there’s truth to it.

Got to disagree with OP on this.

I think I will have breakfast now.

^siekkiram

Monk is not arrogant, after all.

I knew you would ask me about Kangana’s intentions so i did some googling on her views of fairness creams. :slight_smile: she believes she has a responsibility to her fairness obsessed society and it also as a response to the personal experience of her sister who is dusky skinned. http://www.hindustantimes.com/entertainment/bollywood/never-understood-the-concept-of-fairness-kangana-ranaut/article1-1149723.aspx

**“My sister (Rangoli Ranaut) is dusky, yet beautiful. If I go ahead and be part of this campaign, then, in a way, I would be insulting her. If I can’t do that to my sister, then how can I do it to the entire nation?” **

She is one of a few actors who have refused fairness ads including Ranbir Kapoor.

I don’t know if Kangana has done any item songs or if Chitrangada Singh, another actress against fairness ads has done any.
Ab to maine aap ko convince kiya na :slight_smile: ya mujhe aur research karne ki zaroorat hai

I do not know if them speaking out against item song numbers by other actresses will do well for harmony within the industry. We know how competitive such an industry is and no one wants to make rivalries. Then there would be that tricky situation of hypocrisy if down the line a director compelled them to do an item number and then these words come to haunt them. Actresses always don’t stay popular and as movies is their job they may have no choice. With fairness ads it is just something they do on the side. Katrina Kaif earns more with 1 item song number then she does with a whole movie numbering in the crores so even though not right in a material world this probably influences her choice.
HOw much say do they have in whether they can decide to do an item number or not? If they don’t will they be replaced?
With item songs maybe they see it as an extension of their role in the movie. I do agree they shouldn’t endorse “sexy” covers because they have more choice than over a song in a movie.

The audience shouldn’t take all the fault but maybe part of it. Why are item songs popular hits like munni badnam hui and they weren’t as popular 10-20 years ago? Why are the older item songs less revealing then ones today? I would say it has to do with trends and westernisation. More people going abroad getting westernised or people in the industry wanting to be more like Hollywood, the biggest film industry in the world. Maybe they do introduce new ideas but how many people adopt it. How many people walk the streets in miniskirts like shown in movies? The ones who do also observe the ones dressed like that get catcalls, which is obviously wrong, but it is not a behaviour anyone wants to attract.

There is also a big divide between the skimpy clothes of movies and the daily soaps Indian watch where the females are in traditional clothes and completely covered. Then parents say to their children when watching movies/tv shows be more like the females in Tv shows who act better and more appropriately than Bollywood actresses. Bollywood does some have influence but i feel like we give it too much credit.

My parents were telling some family friends why they prefer Pakistani dramas to some Indian dramas and amongst the better plot, shorter episodes and less hugging/type affection between the couples.

I think once they get older actresses will have more courage to come out against this. Hema Malini has come out against item numbers. She says especially established actresses should not do item numbers

My detailed investigative work made me find this article. Maybe not much, maybe publicity but seems her attitude to item songs has also changed.
I think you will** like** this.

Apparently the last episode of Amir khan’s Satyamev Jayate was on real manhood and false perception of manhood in society. Kangana featured in that episode and talked about how cinema affected perception of women in society. It will take more people for serious change but it is a start.

SHe hasn’t done any item songs in last 4 years and she rejected 6 item songs. It could be worth checking out that episode.
Kangana Ranaut Reveals Why She Rejected Six Item Songs in Four Years - India West: Bollywood

Kangana Ranaut, along with fellow actresses Parineeti Chopra and Deepika Padukone, was a part of the finale episode of Aamir Khan’s show “Satyamev Jayate,” which discussed what real manhood was and the effect false perception of manhood has on society.
The Bollywood actresses were a part of the segment that discussed the effect of cinema on how men treat women in real life.
While speaking on the issue of objectification of women in films, Kangana revealed why she hadn’t done any item songs in the last four years.
**“The kid of one of my friends was dancing on one of the item songs. She was rehearsing her steps. It was looking cute on her because she was a tiny kid. But it made me think about how it would shape her mentally as she grows up. She would start feeling that this is what gets appreciation and it is a way of being accepted. For the first time in my life I felt responsible for it,” **said Kangana.
“That’s when I took a little stand. I have rejected six item songs in the last four years,” she confessed.
“The way we show girls in our film, and the kind of words that are used like ‘Tandoori murgi hoon’ are not good. He will pull at her skirt or take off her dupatta. And it doesn’t seem to matter. No matter how much we defend our country and our films, this (the portrayal of women in films and item songs) is shameful; the way we are showing things in our films to the next generation.”
Kudos to the actress for accepting her social responsibilities as an actress and taking a step towards improving the portrayal of women in films.