Sheer hypocrisy of Netherlands!

What complete hypocrisy! What ever happened to “freedom of speech”? Why do Muslim countries bother having relationship with such hypocritical countries?

DAWN.COM | World | Dutch to prosecute Arab group for holocaust cartoon

THE HAGUE: An Arab organisation will be put on trial in the Netherlands for publishing a Holocaust-denying cartoon in response to caricatures of the prophet Mohammed, prosecutors said Wednesday.
‘This cartoon is discriminatory,’ the prosecuting authority said of the sketch on the website of the Arab European League (AEL) which it said depicted the Nazi holocaust as a figment of Jewish imagination.
‘This is offensive to Jews as a group,’ said a statement.
Last month, Dutch prosecutors ordered the league to remove the cartoon from its website or face prosecution.
The cartoon was punishable, they found, ‘because it offends Jews on the basis of their race and/or religion’.
At the same time, prosecutors had announced they would not put far-right MP Geert Wilders on trial for distributing controversial Danish cartoons of the prophet Mohammad on his website.
It found those cartoons were not offensive towards Muslims, nor contributed to hatred, discrimination or violence against them.
The AEL, which had originally agreed to remove the cartoon from its website, decided to put it back in protest against this ruling which it described as unfair and incomprehensible.
‘Double standards are being applied,’ says a statement on the website of the league, which said it ‘stands for the rights of the Arab and Moslem communities in Europe’.
The Mohammad cartoons originally appeared in Danish newspapers in September 2005, sparking protests across the Muslim world.
In a separate investigation, Wilders faces prosecution in the Netherlands for inciting hatred against Muslims by making statements comparing Islam to Nazism.
He made a 17-minute film, ‘Fitna,’ which UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon has called ‘offensively anti-Islamic’.

Re: Sheer hypocrisy of Netherlands!

That statement "Freedom of Speech", is a JOKE... a LAME JOKE... So is this statement.. "We're doing a RANDOM check and your name came up". I hear it everytime I travel to states, yet all I find in that room is Brown and Black Coloured men...

It happens here all the time. There is no such thing as 'freedom of speech' for Muslims. If you're white, racist and atheist, you're free to say whatever the hell you want. 'Freedom of speech' was developed exactly for such morons.

Go ChillyMilly Go Chilly Milly
Chilly Milly for President!!!

Netherlands is one of the most hypocritical countries of the world unfortunatly.

What she said.. :chai:

Netherlands has Anti-Nazi Laws which it implemented in 1947 following World War II to prevent Nazi ideology from coming back.

Among them was Holocaust denial which is a punishable offense.

So deal with it.

If you guys are crying so much, then move back to great Pakistan where you can insult Jews and deny the holocaust to your hearts content.

Mr. Mercenary, when did you see us cry? :rolleyes:

Secondly since when is freedom of speech confined to Jews. This is where the double standards come in. It’s fine to bash Muslims and say all crap that comes in to the already narrowminded heads of theirs, but woe to a Muslim who dares to speak up about Jews or speak his mind about any other topic.

Thirdly, this is a multicultural society we live in. It’s time that they start living to the standards they had set for that society. That means accepting all views and all opinions, regardless of who they’re coming from. If the Holocaust is such a big issue than the killings in Sebrenica shouldn’t be ignored either and be shoved under the rug.

Lastly, we’ll decide for ourselves where we want to live.

As I explained before. Anti-Nazi Laws are part of the Dutch constitution since the end of World War II and hence denying the Holocaust is a punishable offence.

Making fun of religion is not. Thats just how their system works since they are secular countries.

When did they ignore the killing of Sebrenica?

Holocaust is a big issue because it happened on European soil and perpetrated by Europeans. As much as the massacares during the Partition is still an issue with Pakistanis and Indians. And thus Europeans enacted laws to prevent such crimes from happening again among them was Denying the Holocaust.

Or the Massacre in Nanking in 1937 is still a raw issue with the Chinese.

As for multicultural societies, that is forced multiculturalism. Europeans never wanted multiculturalism. People just came their illegally or as guest workers and just stayed there.

So deal with it.

Learn to live and thank the country that you breathe in..which muslim country has freedom of speech would you say? Denial of holocaust is an offense to remind the world such crimes should not be repeated in future. The wahabi extremism that has swept pakistan for decades allows a one way freedom of speech.

^^

This is something that really surprises me. The same muslims who talk about multiculturalism do not even bother when more vile things happen in their own backyard. It is OK for them to be racist and bigoted while it is not for others.

For your kind information, we know very well how to live here. We pay our taxes, we treat others with respect, we speak dutch better than the goray do.

Rahi baat abt being so grateful; should we bow down for the Dutch to let us live here? Hum muft ki rottiaN nai tortay.

And we are not talking about muslim countries here. Discussion is about Holland. so apni anti-islamism ki whaarh kaheeN aur ja kar nikalo.

If Holland is a so called Democratic country with this freedom of speech. Then the rules should be same for every one. And no ifs or buts. Either be democratic or otherwise dont pretend to be.

That’s incorrect, there isn’t any specific law that prohibits people of denying the Holocaust in public, however there is this law

So yeah, technically it’s not OK to offend the any group of people and get away with it, but the past proved this to be utter garbage. People offended and keep offending Muslims and get away without any consequences. So yeah, offend people as much as you want, as long as they aren’t Jews.

I also remember this back from 2006, it’s not about the Netherlands though, but about Denmark.

Danish paper rejected Jesus cartoons | Media | MediaGuardian

It’s the same Newspaper which printed those outrages cartoons back in 2006

Netherland is probably a hypocrite country (who isn't?) but I also don't agree with the step those muslims took. I don't understand why they made fun of Jews instead of Netherland Government?

lo jee aa gaye hypocrisy ka tokra lekey..ever heard of theo van gogh? he was trying to use his freedoms wasn't he? you wouldn't like me elaborating sir..

you want to insult and blame the jews and a country's law does not allow it..if you cannot live with it your road to salvation is just a plane ticket..pakistan mein mehnat kee roti tod lena miyaan aur yahoodiyon ko bolnaa kee holocaust kaa natak kiyaa hai!

freedom of speech is difficult for you to understand because you haven't been brought up thinking free :D

I am colored skin(as you call it) and have been in united states for few years...travelled to few continents never questioned. .americans do tend to become racist on security issues among others but it isn't skin color for what i know..

First of all, stop calling me miyaaN.
Yes, I know about Theo van Gogh. And it was sad that he got killed; the Muslims here were as shocked as the rest was. No one supports the killer of Van Gogh. Now you tell me, what do you want to hear? Kis baat pe aap elaborate karna chahaiNge? And please, dont teach me the Dutch laws, know them more then you do.

And yet again, you come with your own self made assumptions. I do not want to insult the Jews or anyone. But making you understand what the point here is, is a difficult task. Because you already have a negative mind set about Muslims and you only see what you want to see.

No no, sir ji YOU haven’t been brought up thinking free. If it had been the case, then you wouldn’t be so prejudges about Muslims.

^^ My point of reference for theo van gogh was to show people in their own country
face problems from fanatics because some fanatics want to impose their notion of the world is to behave.
It by no means is representative of whole or even majority of muslims..

I am not prejudiced against muslims. I have in past for a long time shared accommodation with muslims and
just like you point out they're shocked as well with the violent response..

Problem here is not freedom of speech..There are families in Europe and a few jews I know personally
here in california whose parents have seen first hand what happened on holocaust. Some countries ban its
denial so as to remind their population such does not happen in future. what if me or you had first family
members jews who died and we see on news holocaust was a propaganda?

It is better to concentrate on the evil against palestinians than petty cartoons offending a community..Same
goes for Geert Wilders for the record..

My statement for getting plane ticket for freedom was uncalled for..

It was wrong to publish the Mohmad cartoon with bombs etc.
It is wrong to publish that holocost is a figment of Jewish imagination.

Both seem intended to hurt people at large based on bigotry and hatred.

But you fight these in a court of law. You don't go around burning streets and killing people.

in the 1st case that's what happened.
In the 2nd case the law is taking its course.

Where is the hypocrisy?

I dont know.But I think i have no voice in sth.