She Sheds Tears For you (A Punjabi Poem of Dushwari in Translation)

O, where have you gone away?
So far off.
She wails, cries a lot.
Sheds tears for you
in your absence.

I tell her -
Sister, you’re going crazy.
Don’t lose your head.
Don’t cry, keep silence.
Have patience -

Friends tell her -
No good will come out of it.
Bad things will creep in.
Forget him.
God will give you everything -

What injustice he brought!
He came to see you
and asked for your hand.
Then he changed his mind.
Only he knows
what was in his mind.
There’s no measure to such grief,
if he only knows this.

She didn’t have to say
she wanted a truthful husband.
She doesn’t know whose evil
sight brought her misfortune?

Sometimes she looks at her hands.
Sometimes she looks into the God’s open skies,
and wonders when her moon will rise
across the shores -
Her moon hasn’t yet drowned.

Re: She Sheds Tears For you (A Punjabi Poem of Dushwari in Translation)

sahib, nahe baji sahiba.

rawal pindi is not far from sergodha.

parawa, haleye meye add ni kiti hegi, odheye wasteye, 'Cheethee Cheethee aa jaa feir', wali gael.
ohereye kitheye pajiya heye, mey wi ti wekhan kini lumi chal marey ga minu kudiyoon, teye injh kala chehd keye. ik hi teye sal da farak heye mera teye odha. luma zarroor si zara, adiyan teye paa keye meye wi utcha hi legna si,
perr onu huer kujh vi lubiya hoya hoye si galat matbel meirey vitch. mey kiya, jaan diyo feir.
khalaar teye nahee sakdi si na meye onu.

i am just making up punjabi here, too.
may he know the meaning as is intented in there.

in any event, nice summing up there, han?
thanks,
dushwari

Dushwari Sahiba Ji,

Thanks. I have now added two more translated stanzas. RK

really, r kopra, thanks s much for being so understanding and caring. be alway good to your beloved. there are good people in this world. i will patiently await him, but tme is running fast, for him to take a good step back to me. soon,, inshallah. amen.