shaved chin....

Re: shaved chin…

are we missing Monk Translator here. :konfused:

Re: shaved chin....

Maybe he is confused between female goats and desi girls. kyun ke dono hee bohut main main kertee hain

exactly, so how desperate Pakistanis guy must be to go after darhee wali girls ???

not necessarily. sometimes it's just genetic. as you know, my sister and I have have had extensive electrolysis. obviously, there was a sensitivity there in the first place that caused the excess hair (much more than most people have) but we are not still developing hair. what's treated is gone and what remains is not increasing (you get to a point where you remove all the obvious hairs and then there are extremely tiny and fine hairs that there is no point even trying to remove. so we didn't have a hormonal issue that could be treated. pregnancy or menopause might cause some new growth to occur but again, it can be got rid of if/when it happens.

No pcos

and cant afford laser/electr...

for info-how much is electrolysis...how many sessions..

i did laser myself , but nothing major happened hair still there after a while once laser stopped. and i dnt have pcos either.

Hair removal creams?

If you are getting laser you need to go for treatments for at least 2 years spacing them out every 4-6 weeks. I have been getting laser (not on the face though) and since September of 2010 and now, the reduction has been nearly 90% and the hair that is still there is so fine, I have to remove it once or twice a month at most. And with laser you have to shave the hair so you don't mess with the roots. I'll probably still go every few months after I am done for touch-ups but laser is the bomb.com.

DON'T WAX. I've been waxing my chin hair and now i've got a full beard and the hair has spread across my jawline. Waxing DOES NOT reduce the hair, infact its WORSE than shaving and will increase the hair growth and the follicle is injured. She's better off shaving/trimming. Especialyl for electrolysis, waxing is so bad because it messes up the follicle direction,makign it more difficult to insert the needle during electrolysis

Waxing may reduce eyebrows, or body hair but its not a good idea to use on the hormonal chin area. I'm trimming my hair now and my acne has disappeared on my chin area because there is less traumae as I'm not yanking anything out, meanwhile im saving up for electrolysis and doing research to find a good one.

please be supportive, my sisters were mean to me about my facial hair and really it killed my confidence :(.

I wax my chin and it works just fine for me!

with laser, you do NOT need to keep going every 4-6 weeks for 2 years if it’s permanently disabling the follicles. stop your treatments and see what happens. going every 4-6 weeks you’re not even letting the hair growth come through to know what’s going on. you’ll only know the end result when you have stopped for a year.

going every few months indefinitely is not permanent hair removal.

depends how much chin hair and how big the area is but if it’s just the immediate chin area and not too dense, i don’t see why one couldn’t be done in about 10 hours total treatment time over 12 months (if the electrologist is good). my sideburns took much less than this. my upper lip (which is a very dense area to treat) took less than 10 hours TTT too. a pcos client with dense growth over the whole chin/under chin area will require a lot more work and maybe touch ups every year (usually not more than one short session) to combat newly stimulated follicles. it’s generally about £60/hour.

stick to shaving waxing and amzsonikuri has said the rest.

oops stoping i think you meant shaving instead of waxing :bummer:

^I think she meant if you stick to waxing then what amzsonikuri said will happen.

yes thank you, sorry was in a rush.

im kinda busy to write long replies.

reha: imagine a guy, 19 years old. starts shaving his chest. 5 years later, the growth is denser and coarser. he attributes this to shaving. the reality is, it's part of the male ageing process and would have happened regardless.

a woman's chin is much the same. many women will find coarse hairs start sprouting as they age. the benefit of shaving/trimming is that you do not disturb the follicle. it does not become distorted (which will cause ingrowns), nor do those hairs become thicker and stronger. sprouting more hairs is not an effect of either.

i imagine hairs would have to be quite coarse to feel stubbly. i had 5 LHR sessions on my arms and there is about 20% hair left. most of it is fine with a some semi-coarse hairs mixed in. i only shave now; every 3 weeks-ish. they never feel stubbly. i only shave because they become noticeable. so if this is shaved arm hair not feeling spiky, nor becoming stubbly from repeated shaving, i imagine shaved chin hair would have to be pretty coarse to feel that way. i strongly doubt its because of the shaving.

Yes like with me, I used to have very light frontal neck hairs since i was young barely noticable, then all of a sudden whilst i was at uni dark once started to sprout at the front, I never even touched my neck ever and had no reason to! I've been too the doctors several times, this indian woman doctor looked annoyed and said it was normal because im pakistani or some crap. No women in my family ever had hairs on their neck. I've never even met anyone who does. I felt that if i was a white woman they would probably take me more seriously. But I did go to an endrochronoligist, I had to force my GP to refer me, and she checked my levels everything completely normal apparently. well I'm not complaining at least my health is fine.

Going to start my summer job soon, and hopefully will start my electrolysis real soon, then I can feel like a real woman again not amazon kuri :(

i know this thread is abt having hair ...i just feel the need to share this. i had my face waxed 5 weeks(whole face and neck minus cheeks n forehead) , i only grew hair on upper lips which i shaved a week ago but other that i hav no hair on my face(along jawline, on neck) ,like how could it be?i always grow back pretty quick esp on face. this time even eye brows r not ready to be done again. can it b due to some hormonal change? i haven't done anything different this whole time other than microdermabrasion and a liver/kidney/colon detox. could it b the detox? just dunno to b happy or worried :)
funny thing i was calling diff electrologists to book a consultation but there's nothing to consult atm lol

^If you waxed for the first time, the hair always grows back very slowly the first time or so and eventually you'll realize that they start to become coarser. I would never wax my face, I'd go straight for the Electrolysis or laser.

nahi yaar i hav been waxing my face n neck for 3 yrs now and its first time i see no growth except upper lips after 5 weeks. looks to me could b hormonal n detox has helped in tackling this but will wait more n see. i'm googling if a liver/kidney is connected with hair growth.

I don't think its the same for men and women as far as facial hair is concerned.

Anyway, I have been waxing for sometime now and don't need to do much anymore Alhumdulillah. I have slight fuzz on the sides of my face and if anything I will get it waxed once every 6 weeks. My chin every 8 weeks and that's if I really want to. I had hair when I first started though...so it worked for me.

It varies from person to person...if its not for you...then its not for you. Simple.

Japanese women have been shaving their faces for thousands of years. As long as what you are shaving isn't thick hair and peach fuzz you should be fine. A lot of celebrities do and did this too, including Marilyn Monroe. Obviously, you wouldn't use the same shaving equipment as men would, they have different blades for women out there. There is also a procedure called dermplaning that a lot of estheticians do before facial peels to help the peel penetrate into the skin better, pretty much using a blade to scrape off the dead skin which is shaving It's sucha big no no in the desi community though cause we have been told ever since we were little that hair will grow back thicker, MYTH. Hair will not grow back thicker unless the hair you shaved off was thick to begin with. the ends of the hair will be blunt when the hair grow back but it will definitely not be thicker. I say shave shave shave! who wants a hairy face!