Shaukat Aziz for Prime Minister – How come?

Shaukat Aziz will assume PM’s duties after he is elected from a constituency which hasn’t been decided yet.

I’m sure Mr. Aziz is a very capable individual but the whole setup to bring him in the National Assembly sounds very undemocratic. We are assuming that he will win the election and the opposition will accept this backdoor strategy deployed by Musharaf. As a citizen of Pakistan, are you comfortable with the process that is going to take place to ‘plant’ our new prime minister?

Not that I disagree with you on what you are saying or trying to be naive here, however technically speaking the change of Prime Minister is the decision of the ruling political party.

And as regards the criticism over 'planting' of a Prime Minister, isn't this exactly how it is also done in our neighboring country that claims to be the largest democracy in the world? Manmohan Singh is a respected technocrat who lost his national assembly election, is nominated as Prime Minister by his political party. He is not even a member of Lok Sabha (National Assembly). The plan is the same, i.e. to get him elected to Lok Sabha so that he can continue as Prime Minister.

So, at the end of the day, whats the difference?

question is, is it permissible by the pak constitution?

As long as legal channels are followed, as a Pakistani citizen I'm comfortable with it.

*Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *
As long as legal channels are followed, as a Pakistani citizen I'm comfortable with it.

i second that.

*Originally posted by queer: *
question is, is it permissible by the pak constitution?

Can you tell me wot is constitution of Pakistan ?
what i personally belive is that Mr. Musharraf himself is constitution of Pakistan :)

Faisal bhai, I don’t know why we compare everything to India.

Shaukat Aziz’s selection is a slap on the face of all MNA’s who have been elected by the ‘people’ of Pakistan. Are we saying, not even one of them is capable of completing the remaining two year period? Is the ruling party full of duffers? Pakistan ki awam nay nikamoN ko vote dala hai? What does it tell us about people of Pakistan? Are we good enough for democracy?

Although, the processes is according to the constitution of Pakistan but that doesn’t make it right or does it? The law makers under a dictatorship can make all kinds of undemocratic laws but it is up to us whether we accept it or reject it. Maybe this one isn’t made by a dictator but sounds pretty dodgy to me.

The confidence shown by the ruling party that Mr. Aziz will ‘win’ the election makes it even more suspicious. Do people have a ‘say’ in this process or are we being dictated?

who cares bout democracy? what did it give us anyway

I think we should care about democracy…It hasn’t given us anything is a different story. I would be the first one to vote for Musharaf and Shaukat Aziz if they stand in elections but unfortunately…jaisi qaum hai, onhi mein say qabeena...corrupt MFs

*Originally posted by Fayz: *Shaukat Aziz’s selection is a slap on the face of all MNA’s who have been elected by the ‘people’ of Pakistan. Are we saying, not even one of them is capable of completing the remaining two year period? Is the ruling party full of duffers?

The confidence shown by the ruling party that Mr. Aziz will ‘win’ the election makes it even more suspicious. Do people have a ‘say’ in this process or are we being dictated?

a) I'm sure that one of the MNA's who's been elected is capable of completeing the remaining 2 years. However, the extraordinary performance of Shaukat Aziz as Finance Minister suggests that he too would make an excellent PM. As the Finance Minister of Pakistan, he's held more responsibility than any of the MNA have over the past 4 years, and demonstrated that he can handle this responsibility extremely well for the benefit of the nation. Better this proven quantity as PM, than an unproven MNA.

b) His election is certain, because if you take a look you will see that the 2 seats he's contesting are PML-Q strongholds. There is no chance of him being defeated if voters there see him being backed by the PML-Q.

whatever he is selected by Mushi or others in hiding.

my question , will he be a powerfull prime minister?????
in this case he is tied to mushi and shujjat and co support. similar like jamali he hasnt got a political backbone.

though he can be good finance minister, but he won a lottery to be PM of Pak without any political background. We cant really compar Mr Singh cross the border cause he has been in politics for quite long in india though he is also technocrate.

is this the guy who mumbles when he's talking?

*Originally posted by Fayz: *
Shaukat Aziz’s selection is a slap on the face of all MNA’s who have been elected by the ‘people’ of Pakistan.

As far as MNAs are concerned, Shaukat Aziz will be required to become an MNA before he can become a PM. FOr that, he will contest in by elections from a couple of constituencies. I think he has filed papers in 3 constituencies. So once elected, he too will be one elected by the people of Pakistan.

However, I dont know his history with MQM or Altaf Hussain. This morning, clips of him and SHujaat Hussain talking to Altaf Hussain on phone were shown all over TV, and later on, they made statements saying that 'Altaf Bhai' deserves to come back to his homeland, and we have told him hes free to return, and that this is his country blah blah. Frankly, SHaukats affiliation with Altaf Hussain, in whatever capacity, is enough to throw me off from supporting him. I wonder what kind of a drama they plan to stage this time around.

^ Exactly. Everything is too planned for my comfort...even the 'people's vote'. God knows what they have in mind for the next few years.

*Originally posted by Fayz: *
God knows what they have in mind for the next few years.

Such as successful, competent governance?

Aziz has been the first choice of the dictator because he is a technocrat and has no political background thus poses no danger to the dictator Mush, pure and simple. Unlike Jamali, who didn't support the military dictator on some issues, Aziz would be a complete stooge.