Sharmila Larka And Larki

Re: Sharmila Larka And Larki

If we are not shy then we must pretend to be shy, if we can't pretend to be shy we must be decent, if we can't be decent then we must be discrete, if we can't be discrete then we must be subtle, if we can't be subtle then there is no shred of shyness in us ... but at all costs we must not be blatant.

Wah! Nice grading.

That reminded me "Amr Bil Marouf Nahi Anel Munkir" kind of grading in actions to thoughts.

Just be yourself people...shy ya shy na honey se kya hota hai?

But what is ' be yourself' in terms of shy and not shy?

Do shy people exist?

Is being shy good or bad?

I'm too shy to reply!!!

^It took a lot of courage for me to ask. :blush:

Shy people exist but they're shy because thats how they are built. Not being shy doesnt mean there is something wrong with someone.

You shouldnt want to be shy or not shy...just be you.

OH and as for shy being good or bad...the perception is shyness is a virtue...but so is being true to yourself.

Ohooooo so this is about yiuuuuuu o people of gupshup diwana is diwanaaaaaaa and he s shyyyy!!

No no. I was merely answering your post in similar way.

You said you were sharmying in answering so I said was also sharmyiing in asking. :hehe:

Being shy is a virtue in Islam in those things where one could be praised but out of shyness refrains, being true to oneself is true only if it does not mean hindering the rights of others.

Modesty is a form of shyness, but not every form of shyness is modesty ... there are times and places to be shy and other times and places when it is not.

Interesting point.

Anyways, I think I used to be very sharmeeli...still get told that I look innocent and bholi bhali....but I don't consider myself that way anymore. I guess to be more precise there are still times when i am shy about something but I don't consider myself to have that quality anymore.

And like Reha siad..being shy is a virtue but so is being true to yourself and not acting fake.

Yes, just be yourself is a catchy sentence and universally acceptable.

But what should that yourself be?

It is becoming more socially acceptable to not be sharmeela or sharmeeli.

Then girls/women be sharmeeli is more acceptable than boy/men be.

A sharmeela man is considered geek/nerd/cookoo!

Good or bad?

"Being true to oneself" - does it mean "Don't submit to the Will of Allah (SWT), do as ye will?"

There is room for confusion there - I think it means doing as the heart bids ... which is dangerous because an untempered heart will bid one to do bad as well as good. Some hearts will only enjoin on the soul evil bidding. We shouldn't be true to ourselves, but true to the higher principles which may or may not be what our desires ask of us.

According to the fitrah - shyness is a virtue in that modesty is a virtue, but feeling embarassed when duty demands action and unable to speak the truth in critical situations is the same trait but an extreme position against the fitrah, the other extreme would be flamboyance, extravagance and lewdness.

^ But don't you think today's society advocates the opposite? It's considered 'cool' to be as flamboyant, extravagant and lewd as possible... Referece: american television programmes..

Shyness can be related to behaviour or interaction with the opposite gender but it includes the overall behaviour of a person.

I am shy and my behaviour shows that. When attending a party, I am too shy to make my way ahead of people and tend to give way to others while waiting for dinner and I usually hear from my mom and siblings k jab sab khana le chukain ge tau hi ye khana ley gi :D I am too shy to ask for anything from anyone (unless they are my family/ close friends). When attending parties, when there is limited stuff like samosas, pastries, I am shy enough to not to hurry and get myself one and would rather wait till others are done and then only I will help myself with the item and this usually leaves me with nothing :D.

I am not shy to talk to guys and absolutely ok when interacting with people both genders and any age.

As one of my friends say: Jis ney ki SHARAM, us ke phootay karam :D

ahhhhhh i heard they do exist. but people like to call them non confident freaks?

inconfident *

Modesty is different though...I think that it leans more towards humility.

Shyness is a personality trait. If the person isnt shy...is that bad?

I am too shy to take initiative in talking to strangers. I am too shy to express my real feelings to my friends and family i am too shy to tell you more about myself :p