Sharjah Tournament

Score Board
http://www.jang.com.pk/cricket/sharjah-cup2002/score.htm

Still not enough and good performance. 22 Extra Runs. Does it mean Pakistan played well?

Let’s Hope Pakistan played even more better in the final and concentrate on fielding.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/french.gif

Take Your Best Shot At Me

[This message has been edited by Pakistani Tiger (edited April 15, 2002).]

OK lets see review the current happenings with the Pak team:

1. Shoaib says he wants the team to win and does not care about personal glory anymore. He then proves his point by being perhaps the best Pak bowler on show in Sharjah.
  2. Afridi bats, gets a hundred in which his strike rate at one point was 33%
  3. Even the seniors aka prima donnas are diving around in the field. The captain is actually setting the example by some good efforts
  4. See the below article!

I do NOT believe that this is the Pak team, man. Some thing is wrong! They are actually giving their 100% and the team spirit is simply excellent. Kudos to Waqar and Mudassar!
http://icricketer.com/news/apr15/news4.shtml

April 15 Monday 2002
Friday’s defeat haunts Latif as Pakistan prepare for crunch NZ game

SHARJAH: Pakistan’s wicketkeeper Rashid Latif got an unexpected boost on Sunday when his team mates made a collective visit to his room and urged him to forget his Friday nightmare in Sharjah and look ahead to the last match against New Zealand in this tournament.

Rashid after his 11 runs from 23 balls was down in the dumps since Friday night and decided to also skip the practice session which the Pakistan team had this morning at the Sharjah Stadium .

But after the players returned to the team hotel they went to Rashid’s room and asked him to cheer up and forget about what had happened on Friday night against Sri Lanka.

“Rashid was very quiet and upset with his performance and blamed himself for the defeat and was not talking much to anyone. We went to his room to tell him he should not lose focus because of one bad performance and that we were all behind him and supported him,” said one player.

Rashid struggled to score freely in the tight finish after he was sent ahead of Abdul Razzaq in the batting order and the Pakistani supporters at the stadium were clearly unhappy with his effort. So much so that even back home, Pakistan television in its national news made a statement that if Razzaq had been sent ahead of Rashid, Pakistan could have won the match.

Captain Waqar Younis and manager Yawar Saeed also had a separate word with Rashid and reminded him of his past performances in crisis situations for the team," the player disclosed.

For Pakistan, the match on Monday against New Zealand is now a do-or-die battle and it would require a combined effort from everyone to reach the final. This was the message repeated again and again in a team meeting this afternoon in which every player participated and viewed the recording of the match against Sri Lanka.

Yawar said on Sunday that everyone was now focussed on the task ahead and hopefully the same mistakes would not be committed again.

“There are no excuses for our defeat. You don’t win matches if you have six dot balls in the last three overs. But what is done is done and now we have our work cut out for us,” he added.

He made it clear that there would be no changes in the team as no risks could be taken.

Asked if there was any possibility of the opening combination being shuffled, he said the team had only two openers in Shahid Afridi and Imran Nazir and they would be persisted with.

Reminded of the Pakistan Cricket Board policy to give Wasim Akram rest in some matches so as to not put on his fitness under stress, Yawar said this was a policy which could not be followed in this tournament.

“We lost the first match and we had to field our best side. If we had qualified for the final by now we would have given Wasim a rest because that is ideally what we want to do. But these are conditions in which we need our best players,” said the Pakistan manager.

He made it clear that in Monday’s match against New Zealand, lot of care would be taken to see that if the ball needs to be changed in the last 15 overs, a prompt request would be made to the umpires.

Interestingly, on Saturday in the team hotel lobby, English umpire David Shephard was asked by the former President of the Pakistan Cricket Board, Justice (retd) Nasim Hasan Shah as to why the ball had not been changed in the match against Sri Lanka, when the batsmen were finding it difficult to sight it properly.

And the experienced umpire reminded Nasim Hasan Shah that no batsman had made any complaint to him about the condition of the ball and since the umpires found nothing wrong with it the ball was not changed as happens normally in matches at the Sharjah in the last 15 overs.

Before the start of the tournament, in the meeting of the team captains, managers with the umpires and match referee, a request was made by one of the captains that the ballchange should be made mandatory after 35 overs because of the heavy dew conditions, but the umpires made it clear this could not be done as the ball may also have to be changed in the earlier overs.

The umpires made it clear that if the batsmen or fielding side found the condition of the ball unfit, then they could draw the attention of the umpires to this and a decision would be taken on the spot.

Good stuff by afridi........ i don't see deewana tera's replies who said jangli pathan ko nikaal do.....just let him play the way he is comfortable and he will give u good result.

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

Originally posted by Spitfire:
**Good stuff by afridi........ i don't see deewana tera's replies who said jangli pathan ko nikaal do.....just let him play the way he is comfortable and he will give u good result.

wanna make a bet that he will be out for a very small score in the final. first analyze the game before commenting. i want to see shahid afridi score against Zoysa who extracts a lot of bounce from the pitch. he made runs in the other match against NZ but did he score against SL????

Pyaar Bhi Zindagi Ki Tarah Hota Hay.
Hur Mor Asan Nahin Hota, Hur Mor Pay Khushi Nahin Milti;
Pur Jub Hum Zindagi Ka Saath Nahin Chortay To Pyaar Ka Saath Kyon Chorayn

Well i think pakistan would be the last team that new zealand would be willing to play. Is it only me who noticed that kiwis just cant win against pakistan under any cicumstances. Look at world cup 92 when New zealand were the best and unbeatable team but still managed to lose against pakistani side TWICE and then in sharjah alot of times pakistan accumulated heavy totals against them, not only that in one of the sharjah tournamnet pakistan were all out for around 167 but somehow pakistan puled out a victory against them.
Last world cup when pakistan team failed to chase a modest total on couple of occassions(india,south africa,bangladesh) but managed a "W" with an ease in semi final against kiwis taking in consideration that the total pakistan were suppose to chase was huge, 260 plus I believe so
I will be interested too see our record against new zealand can somebody tell me when was the last tme pakistan lost against NEw Zealand?I'm sure pakistan lost against them on couple of occasions but I cant remmeber when was it on mini world cup?

New Zealnd doesnt have strong pace attack but always rely on their medium seamers and they are generally very accurate with line and length only pakistani batsmen always seemed to capitalize their bowling attack.

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited April 15, 2002).]

hay question are you gonna show the replays at 4 (pacific) 7 eastern?
it is not working right now.

The last time Pakistan lost to Newzeland was in the one day series 3-2 and then tied the test series and Pak also lost to NZ in the semifinals of the ICC knock tournament in Kenya.

no doubt afridi is a very dangerous player but he need to prove his consistency. He reminds me of ijaz ahmed the only player I hated the most. Whenever there was a buzz in the selection committe that ijaz will be dropped , the next day he hits a century , retain his place and then continues his bad form.

Nazir has been lil consistent and is improving on game basis i was wondering if afridi also proves himself as a reliable batsmen then who should be dropped to give saeed Anwar a spot?or is he gonna end up like moin khan waiting for somoone to perform below par..must be an interesting situation..

I wanted to kill the coolest person on Earth. Then I learned that there were laws against suicide

hey question or tipz
can u guyz give me the link to that website which is gonna show replayz..
thanx

yo bro....
y don't u show it again tomm...lol
coz its really hard to watch coz of rush

it was a great innings by Afridi…
as the commentator put it, it was such an un-afridi innings (specially in the first 20 balls or so that he faced)…

anyway alls well that end wells…
hope he keeps his head cool and plays the same way in the final as well…

best of luck team

It was too HOT my comp. got burnt I had to put a big fan and take all the covers off my computer to cool it down. Luckly not a single part got damaged. Hopefully it will make to the final

. On top of that when I was watching the re-play my TV start giving me problem. I was trying to record the match and now my TV is not working. Hopefully it will be fixed today, but you guys don’t have to wory cuz my broadcast server is not connected to the TV, its connected directly to the sattelite box.

That was the reason no one was able to connect to the server while the match was going on, sorry about that.

I’ll make sure it won’t happen durning the final.

[This message has been edited by Question (edited April 16, 2002).]

Well I think man of the match deserves Imran coz he was the one who started this all. He was on fire and give both Afridi as well as himself confident by providing very sensible and at the same time extra-ordinary shots.

Btw I think the match is not starting at its usual time tomorrow it's later.

Can anyone tell me the time for the FINAL?

“w*Hy is **It thaT* i*F* y*Ou kiLL* a Man in wa*R* y*Ou aRe a hEro,* but
if you k*Ill a maN* out*Side of **War you are callEd a murdeRer *?**”

Originally posted by Ali_R:
**Well I think man of the match deserves Imran coz he was the one who started this all. He was on fire and give both Afridi as well as himself confident by providing very sensible and at the same time extra-ordinary shots.

Starts at 6:00AM Central Time

Pakistan are determined to take revenge for their poor showing earlier in the competition when they take on Sri Lanka in the final of Sharjah Cup.

Pakistan lost both of their league matches to Sri Lanka, but qualified for the final on the strength of their two victories over an injury-hit New Zealand.

"The victory (on Monday) has given the team a new confidence," Pakistan skipper Waqar Younis said.

"No doubt, we lost both of our matches (to Sri Lanka), but that's history. What counts now is the mood of the team, which is very positive.

"We need a good start from our openers Shahid Afridi and Imran Nazir. And if that happens it would make no difference whether win or lose the toss."

BLAZING START

Led by Shahid Afridi who stroked an unbeaten 108 off 92 balls, they produced an explosive display of batting to decimate New Zealand, winning Monday's league match by eight wickets with 111 balls to spare following their 51-run win in their first match.

Afridi and Nazir (57) made a blazing start to the innings, scoring 101 in 87 balls to set up Pakistan victory.

"Basically, we did nothing wrong in our last league matches (against Sri Lanka). Our second match, in particular, was pretty close," said Waqar Younis.

In that match Sri Lanka pacers Chaminda Vaas and Nuwan Zoysa conceded just nine in last three overs to guide their team to a nine-run victory.

If Waqar Younis thinks the openers hold the key to their success, his counterpart will be banking on his spin-pace attack to deliver the goods.

"The wicket here is taking a bit of spin and I hope Murali (Muttiah Muralitharan) comes good again," said Sanath Jayasuriya, referring to his off-spinner who took three wickets for 27 runs as Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 41 runs in their first match.

"I think the biggest plus of our team is that Vaas and Zoysa are bowling pretty well and giving full support to Murali.

"I don't want to predict the outcome of the final, but we have faith in our abilities to repeat our league performances," he said.

Both Pakistan and Sri Lanka are at full strength for this $250,000 tournament while New Zealand were considerably weakened by the absence of their top six players, including Chris Cairns, Lou Vincent, Shane Bond and Daniel Vettori.

"The tournament gave us a good chance to get used to conditions here ahead of tour of Pakistan," captain Stephen Fleming said.

The winner of the tournament will receive a purse of $120,000 while the runners-up will be awarded $80,000. New Zealand received $50,000 for finishing third.

Pakistan (likely): Waqar Younis (captain), Imran Nazir, Shahid Afridi, Inzamam-ul Haq, Younis Khan, Yousuf Youhana, Abdul Razzaq, Rashid Latif, Wasim Akram, Shoaib Akhtar, Saqlain Mushtaq.

Sri Lanka (likely): Sanath Jayasuriya (captain), Marvan Atapattu, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Russel Arnold, Tillekaratne Dilshan, Kumar Dharmasena, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Zoysa, Upul Chandana.

Originally posted by Ali_R:
**Well I think man of the match deserves Imran coz he was the one who started this all. He was on fire and give both Afridi as well as himself confident by providing very sensible and at the same time extra-ordinary shots.

Well.....Afridi was giving him the strike again and again on purpose coz he got on fire lately when on the other end Imran Nazir put a good score .... but when he started...the commentator was like " Afridi is saying now its my turn" when styris was brought to get a breakthrough and afridi punished his deliveries...
Thanx a lot to QUESTION due to whom me n my frenz were able to watch replay here in USA as we r in boarding school n we don't get PrimeTV or somethin.......thanx once again
GREAT JOB MAN.....n ppl who gonna watch LIVE plz don watch replay then as QUESTION suggested...

Well played Pakistan, inshallah, we will win the final too. And thanx Question Bhai, for ur live broadcast.

Do pal ka, yeh jeevan hay
Kuch karna hay tu kar guzro

for all who watched the game... did you guys see that poster when afridi hit one of the six late in the game... it read
"Sexy Shot"
whats up wit that

Afridi sayz
"Agar 8 , 9 overs ruka raha to srilanka ka bhi nzealand wala haal kardunga"
lankans say that they have upper hand but it will still be a difficult game on the other hand paki are confident as ever to win the finals.
Now wut they gotta do is just bring afridi down coz it doesn't matter to him n if he loses his wicket earlier it will bring the whole team into pressure which is not in real good form these dayz like youhana n inzi also waiting for a big knock sometime. Afridi can play murali well later when zoysa is gone...........lol coz hez gonna try to pull zoysa though in last match he was real patient but the spectators are gonna make him mad again n he'll try to play baseball not caring for the stumps behind him........
well GOOD LUCK

Hehe.. that sexy shot guy has been at every game for the past 3 years i believe.

Ahem.. where the good looking Sharjah girls at?