Sharjah FINAL: Pak Vs Zim

:bhangra: :nuch: :jhanda: Sami too slippery for Zimbabwe in Sharjah final

SHARJAH, April 10, 2003 (Reuters)

Young quick bowler Mohammad Sami took three wickets for 11 in his opening burst in the Sharjah Cup final on Thursday as Zimbabwe were dismissed for 168.

The 22-year-old Sami removed Craig Wishart, Gavin Rennie and pinch-hitter Doug Marillier to reduce Zimbabwe to 22 for three.

Thereafter the Zimbabweans, who have only beaten Pakistan in two of their 31 one-day meetings, failed to put together a substantial partnership as they were bowled out in 49.1 overs.

Wicketkeeper Tatenda Taibu, however, one of the finds of the 2003 World Cup, made a resolute 113-ball 74 not out to lend respectability to the card.

Zimbabwe, who lost to Pakistan earlier in the tournament but managed to reach the final ahead of Sri Lanka and Kenya, had elected to bat.

They were soon regretting it, however, as Sami sent Wishart back third ball of the match, caught behind off a short lifter.Rennie (6) also edged behind, giving Rashid Latif a 200th one-day dismissal, and Sami then yorked Marillier, removing his leg stump in the ninth over.

When Sami, a member of the Pakistan World Cup squad but who did not get a game, came off after six overs, Shoaib Malik immediately made further in roads by removing Grant Flower with his off spin.

The diminutive, busy Taibu, Andy Flower’s replacement as wicketkeeper, did his best to restore credibility, putting on 46 with Sean Ervine and 40 with Dion Ebrahim for the fifth and sixth wickets.

Sami ended with three for 44 from 10 overs. He took four for 25 against Kenya on Tuesday.

thanx for liking my signature

he socred 2 century faisal bhia.. take it easy :slight_smile:

thanksss ehsan bhai.. pics are great… commonnnnnn i want em to huddle one last time :stuck_out_tongue:

:jhanda: :jhanda:
HUM JEEEEET GAYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

So who’s next in the whuping list? Australia:D

kitni baar aap ko bataon.. Englandd :smiley:

**gem of a statement by Rashid, He said

" Jub hum Pakistan se ja rahay thhay tu hum superstars chor ker ja rahay thhay aur iraada yehi thaa ke wapis aayain tu super stars waapis aayain huamaray saath" :k::jhanda:**

:smack: jitni dafa hi bataaya ghalat baataya, next are SL and NZL :stuck_out_tongue:

hain hian hian hian..

when when when hwne.. :stuck_out_tongue:

Dont get carried away… :slight_smile:

Good to see the boys enjoying themselves after that nightmare WC :k:

Excellent performance by the team, keep it up and carry on with the winning ways.

*Originally posted by proudpakistani007: *
hain hian hian hian..

when when when hwne.. :p

in may :)

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Shoaib look alike in Sharjah.

[thumb=B]b1.JPG[/thumb]

desi learnado di capri?

Congratulations Pakistan and Pakistanis! Zinda Dil Waloon Khush Raho!

After poor performance in the World Cup, our team has certainly come back! Cheers for our team players, Captain, Coach and Management. Youngsters were truly amazin’ and came upon the expectations of our selectors. TWO THUMBS UP for Aamir Sohail and rest of the Selection Committe. Our team’s performance have made us proud and certainly have brought signs of happiness on our faces. My :hula: for you all, homies. :slight_smile:

Here’s how I see each player :slight_smile:

• Taufeeq Umer: After playing 3 poor matches with lack of foot work, Taufeeq made his come back in the Final. He committed himself altogether in this match, played lovely shots. Whenever he had trouble, The Great Miandad directed him. :k:

• Mohammad Hafeez: Talented player. Unpolished diamond has shaped up really good in this tournament. An excellent all-rounder and a good fielder. I won’t forget the catches Hafeez took of Flower in the first match and Bilgnaut’s in the Final. Homies, it was off the hook. All eyes on Hafeez. He’ll replace Shahid Afridi and I don’t see Afridi coming back into the team as he will playing County Cricket.

• Faisal Iqbal: Ditto Miandad’s batting style but Lacks consistant and got out on poor shots in this tournament. Inzimam-ul-Haq will replace him in the Triangular Tournament in SL next month. Inzy, we want ya back!

• Naveed Latif: I don’t know what to say about him. Frankly, it was my time to watch him play. He looked pretty rusty, afraid to take shots in the match against Zimbabwe, which is why he was dropped. P.S. he didn’t practice before the match as report from The News International said.

• Yusuf Youhana: Yoyo didn’t have a good WC. Glad to see, he came back in his form. We need our middle-order as strong as it can be.

• Younis Khan: Dashing Khan has been my fav. since he made his debut. In this tournament, his wonderful knock against Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka were superb!

• Misbah-ul-Haq: Though, he played only one game against Kenya, and was out on a bad decision, I bet this lad got some sparks. Interesting!

• Sohaib Malik: I reckon Sohaib is the only player among youngsters, who doesn’t find any trouble battin’ as an opener or coming down at 6 spot. More to that, good off-spinner. What else do you want…

• Rashid Latif: Congratulations Latif Bhai. He turned around the whole team. Standin’ behind the stumps, guiding bowlers every other ball, changin’ fieldin’ constantly, changin’ fieldin’ accordin’ to what Bowler wants, and all that were good steps that a Team Leader should take. And Latif Bhai proved it! Bohut Bohut Mubarrak Ho Latif Bhai. As you said during the presentation, Pakistan Team will bring more Cups to home, Inshallah!

Yeah Baby! WE ROCK!

• Abdul Razzaq: His 76 runs off 53 balls was a killer inning. Great hitting by bat. Great bowling against Sri Lanka. Good to see, Razzaq back in his form after being poor in the World Cup.

• Danesh Kaneria: Abdul Qadir Style! Ever since Danesh made debut in Cricket, I began to like him. His height favors him to bowl a lil bit with bounce. Good job done, mate. Danesh will replace Saqlain, who will be playing County Cricket starting from Summer, I reckon. Arshad Khan, is another spinner, with good height. Time to bring him back in the team.

• Naveed-ul-Hassan: Great line and length. In his debut game, Naveed was about to had Hat-trick against Sri Lanka. N.P. Better Luck next time. With bat, he was just fine. Naveed-ul-Hassan will be replacing Abdul Razzaq, who also, will be playing in the County Cricket.

• Umar Gul: Good bowler. At the age of 18, this lad has got great line and length, though, he doesn’t seem to bowl with used ball. 18 runs in one over is the proof. In order to get over this problem, he gotta have to to practice ALOT

• Mohammad Sami: Great bowler. I prefer Sami over Akhtar 'cause of great line and length, picking up wickets, keeping the batsmen in fear. Sami will replace Wasim Akram, who will also be playing in the County Cricket. Therefore, I reckon, Umar Gul will be replaced by Shoaib Akhtar; as he likes taking guidance from Miandad. Sachi, he said so in a Jang Newspaper of Urdu Edition. With Sami and Akhtar, Pakistan will have a deadly pace attack in the Triangular Tournament in Sri Lanka.

• Team Management: All credits to Javed Miandad for taking the responsiblility as a Coach when team was teared apart after the World Cup. Thanks to Haroon Rashid, who lauds youngsters progress instead of taking his credit. And to Dr. Rizivi, who kept check of our boys whether they are physically fit or not throughout the tournament.

P.S. Special Thanks to Teaser, who broadcasted tournament matches. Thanks bud. Without your help, I wouldn’t be able to watch tournament. Bohut Bohut Shukriya Aap Ka. :slight_smile:

:jhanda: PAKISTAN ZINDABAD! :jhanda:

:dhimpak:

*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *
Mubarakaaaaaaan !!!!!

khair mubarakaan!!!

Congratulations Pakistan:jhanda:…

claps for the boys. Mubarakbaad to everyone :slight_smile:

:jhanda:

congratulations!

It's good to see a victory after that poor World Cup :)

Congrats to everyone and inshAllah the boys should be able to continue their form.