Sharjah Cup: Pakistan vs Zimbabwe

3rd April 2003, Pakistan taking on Zimbabwe at Sharjah Cricket Ground. Pakistan playing with new captain RASHID LATIF and other new youngsters in the side. Pakistan playing without Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Shoaib Akhtar, Waqar Younis and most of all Wasim Akram. This tournament will be a tough tast for the team but as they captain said, they will try their best. Zimbabwe are also facing some trouble because retirement of Andy Flower. Zimbabwe is also having a tough squad and capable of doing anything.

Lets hope best for the Pakistani Team:jhanda:…

inshallah.. our new boys will beat them for sure

It will be so different watching this match.. no Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib, Inzi… the list goes on. :frowning:

Anyways, best of luck to Pakistan!! :jhanda:

-Pehla to tera saath nibhanay mein guzar jaye-

yup...

The package is only 30 bucks so I think I will be ordering it, but this Pakistani teams looks to be very young, I think experience counts big and we will only have 3 experience players in Latif, Youhan, Younis Khan.

I think Pakistanis will be underdogs going into this tournament, lets see what happens.

Well as long as the 3 experienced guys can shed their experience on the others and make them feel comfortable, we shouldnt have much trouble should we?

good luck, Pakistan. :k:

Anyone showing this online? :(

Teaser might show it online. But as Umair said its only $30 bucks so I’ll be ordering that too.
If anyone else interested in ordering here’s the link.
Click here to order

Is ATN showing it in Canada?

*Originally posted by PakistaniAngel: *
Is ATN showing it in Canada?

I dont think ATN will show cuz they show stuff thats from ZEE so if Zee showed it ATN would have definitely shown it but for not stick to VCC

how about pay per view showing in toronto?

*Originally posted by Rehaan: *
how about pay per view showing in toronto?

no ppvs either u just gotta rely on Dishnetwork which is in U.S so put up a dish or u can watch for free at Teasers link or Aik pakistani's link if they are showing

*Originally posted by khiska hoowa: *

no ppvs either u just gotta rely on Dishnetwork which is in U.S so put up a dish or u can watch for free at Teasers link or Aik pakistani's link if they are showing

aww man.......thats not fairrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

TORONTO SUX!!!!!!!!!!

Why are all Canadian channels anti-cricket??? :mad2:

Stop complaining you dumb canadians :D. It’s your time to suffer. You were required to pay 30 bucks(plus or minus) for the Wc. WE paid 300 dollars. Ab paushtaou :hehe:

Latif takes up challenge
Sharjah |By K.R. Nayar | 02-04-2003

Newly appointed Pakistan skipper Rashid Latif is facing the biggest challenge of his career. Rashid has been asked to lead a new look Pakistan team, minus the top stars, in the Cherry Blossom Cup set to commence at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium tomorrow.

“I was planning to retire after the World Cup but I’ve decided to put it on hold to help my country in the re-building process,” remarked the 34-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman to Gulf News yesterday.

Commenting on the team a confident Latif remarked, “Ours is a young team with a lot of new faces and its a challenge and I’ve accepted it.”

"I know it is not an easy task without the top players like Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis, who have served the country for nearly 15 years. This is the right time to look into the future and rebuild our team.

“We have promising players in the side who have done well for the Pakistan A team and have toured a few countries. What they need is more international experience and this tournament is a good opportunity for them to gain it,” he said.

“It may not be easy to establish ourselves as a top team quickly . They need time to get the feel of international cricket. The more matches they play the better they will become, Once they get the required experience it will show in their performance,” he revealed

Latif is delighted that he has one of the most experienced players in Javed Miandad as the coach.

“I have worked with Miandad from 1992 and have enjoyed his style . He is different from the others and his presence and guidance will make my job easier. His ability to analyse the game and spot the drawbacks in the young players will serve our team a lot,” said Latif.

On whether the Sharjah wicket would help the youngsters showcase their talent, Latif said: "The Sharjah wicket has always been batsman friendly and we have some young talented batsmen in the side like Naveed Latif, Misbah Ul Haq. The players will have to handle the pressure and give their best.

“Except for a few all of them have played in different conditions and in different countries. I think Pakistan has a bright future if the new faces can be given time to gain confidence,” he concluded.

Source: Gulf News

In my opinion .... this paki team is not able to beat any one .... who says keh yonis khan is a experienced player .... wat yousaf youhana has done in this wc .... n wat abt razzaq ... no body is looking at their performances .... Rashid Latif is not an inspiring player .... i mean while keeping wickets u hardly can hear his voice .... whereas Moin Khan was a gr8 player n is very inspiring ... so i Moin Khan shuld b recalled n PCB shuld appoint him or Wasim as the captain so that the vice captain can learn sumthin ..... Amir Sohale said that v r appointin Rashid to groom youhana under his captaincy .... :) ..... mark my words ... there r 3 very emotional persons having powers in their hands ..... Miandad Amir n Rashid Latif .... this combination is going to end up in a disaster ....

*Originally posted by undefined: *
there r 3 very emotional persons having powers in their hands ..... Miandad Amir n Rashid Latif .... this combination is going to end up in a disaster ....

well you are entitled to your opinion. But i disagree with this emotional bit you said. Whereas Aamir And Miandad may be emotional, Rashid has been very calm throughout his career, hardly shows any emotions. Kindly relate any incident. And waisay bhi right now we need passionate approach in our cricket. I certainly hope so Miandad and Aamir do the required job.

Good Luck to rashid Latif and his young guns :k: