Sharif Pakistan’s elected leader: US

Papa John Padri and Imran Khan should pity on their nirales and niralis and tell them to go home. Dharna sharma gaya bharh main. Third Umpire or Script Writers ki majal hay ke woh 111 Brigade ko take over karnay ke order den. Nirales and niralis in this forum should now cool down and attend their normal business.

Soon Papa John Padri Air Canada main nazar aiaga aor IK apnay susral landan ki fizaon main gum hojaiga. This dharna/drama was wastage of time and money and incontinence to millions in Pakistan. Expenses incurred by the government on this dharna/drama of Rs 547 billions be divided equally in to IK, Papa Johan Padri, Chaudhry Bratheran, bad nam-e-zamana Sheeda Talli and Script Writers, third umpires.

Bhai ne bhi resignations waapis kar di hain.

For Script Writers and Third Umpires, ‘barhay be aabroo ho kar tere koochay se hum niklay’ :slight_smile:

Sharif Pakistan’s elected leader: US - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

WASHINGTON: For the first time in the current political crisis, the United States has clearly said that it considers Nawaz Sharif “the elected leader of Pakistan”.

At a news briefing in Washington, a State Department spokesperson Marie Harf also said that the US ambassador in Islamabad had stayed in touch with relevant Pakistani officials throughout the crisis.

Also read: 2013 elections free and fair, says US

“We have said that Nawaz Sharif is the elected leader of Pakistan,” said Ms Harf when asked if the United States agreed with Imran Khan’s claim that Mr Sharif was not an elected leader because the 2013 elections were rigged.

**On Wednesday, another State Department official, Jen Psaki, had declared that the US believed the 2013 elections were fair and free but did not respond to questions about the prime minister.

In earlier briefings, the State Department had made it clear that the US would not endorse any “violent” or “extra-constitutional” changes in Pakistan.
**When asked if they believed the current situation might lead to a military coup, US officials said they could “not predict the outcome”.
**At the latest briefing, a journalist asked Ms Harf to state unequivocally if they supported the prime minister against the protesters camping outside the parliament building.

“Yes, we still do. He is the elected leader. We’ve said that repeatedly, and we’ve been carefully monitoring the demonstrations in Islamabad,” said Ms Harf while referring to earlier statements of support for Mr Sharif issued before the PTI-PAT march.**

She also pointed out that the United States had consistently encouraged all the parties to work together to resolve their differences through dialogue.

The United States, she said, opposed any efforts to impose extra-constitutional change to the democratic system and that’s why it wanted the warring factions to resolve this dispute peacefully.

“We’re monitoring it. Obviously, our ambassador remains in touch with Pakistani officials, but not much more analysis than that,” said Ms Harf when the journalists asked for more comments.

Published in Dawn, September 6th, 2014

Re: Sharif Pakistan’s elected leader: US

We don't need an American puppet in power. This just makes me support Imran and Tahir ul Qadri even more. LMAO.

When U.S./European leaders criticize mine, yours, or others' favorite political leaders, then they're wrong and get called all kinds of names and are supposed to mind their own business. But when they praise mine, yours, others' political leader then it's a certificate of validation.

Is that the standard we're going by? You know, just for consistency-sake, so next time when the script is flipped, we remember to adhere to this.

And yes Nawaz Sharif is the current PM of Pakistan. U.S. in its official capacity needs to recognize that, anything else would be very undiplomatic. If the U.S. supports domestic unrest in Pakistan, that would be detrimental to the relations.

No surprise here. Had IK won the elections, this statement would be in his favor then. In the end its upto the people whoever they chose.

I think you should go through history of Pakistan and when Pakistan became staunch ally of Uncle Sam during the times Liaqat Ali Khan, followed by dictators. Had Sam not intervened in 1971, West Pakistan and now Pakistan would have long gone along with East Pakistan. One elected PM opposed and he was hanged by mardood dictator. You have to accept the reality, beggars are not choosers. It is not NS who has to decide this, Script Writers, Third Umpires will decide whether they want to be with Sam or against Sam. Last time one dictator sh!t bricks after hearing this. So keep cool.

The U.S. has kept relations even with the dictators, does that mean the ousted leaders should have gone home along with their followers instead of protesting? Point of my post was exactly what you said, that we need to stay consistent and not flip flop just because the subject happens to be mine, yours, or others' political leader.

I'm cool as cucumbers, but just like to show myself the mirror every once in a while to keep up with a certain degree of integrity.

So if after a while, the U.S. becomes critical of Nawaz Sharif, will you still tow the same line or support your PM against external criticisms? A simple answer would suffice. Thank you.

dhaandhli se jeeta huaa election...yeh kab se legit gvernmenty ho gaii? jab se Uncle Sam ne kahaa yaa choroN uchhakkoN ne apnii himaayat pesh kii?

A Jiyala supporting US lulz](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=lulz)

No body gives a damn about what US says

[quote=“waleedhbk”]

A Jiyala supporting US #lulz](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=lulz)

Every uprising around the world is orchestrated or in your words 'scripted', the CIA supported a 'revolution' in Ukraine,Iran and the Arab countries and the Russians did the same in Iran and throughout Latin America etc there are hidden hands behind almost every global event, so I don't see why you measure the ISI and Pakistani army on a different scale -they aren't doing anything different from their peers.

Hanging chad says Shut up!
No to OP.
To world's best democracy.

It is not that simple. After Zia-ul-Haq, army had always upper hand in foreign policy. NS for that matter has no authority to go against wishes of army to lose PMship. NS went out of line when he asked CAOS to be mediator in dharna project to appease army. Army is still a deciding factor in relations with Sam and it will never do anything to antagonize Sam. Tell me which dictator had gone against Sam since partition? In the history of Pakistan only one legally elected politician challenged the status quo and he was hanged by mardood dictator. So what Sam says swallow it as bitter pill whether you like it or not.

Wrong. Foreign policy is still in the hands of army. They give a damn whether Nooras or PPP bow to US or not. Politicians have no choice except to compromise this complex situation.

Nawaz Shareef an elected leader? my foot!!!

tumahara leader bhi US ko support karta hay, parday ke pichay. Kahan gaiy us ke dharany drones ke khilaf? kahan gaay us ke ‘maut ke saudgar’ jin ko woh ghairat mand (beghairat) pathan kahta tha? Bhai tumhara kaam ha Kaptaan ki *** marna. so lagay raho apnay kaam par.

Last time official elections results showed that he was overwhelmed elected PM of Pakistan. koi shak?

I think we all are forgetting one very important factor in any Democracy.................

We should ignore the so called super powers and dictators .........

it is the silent Majority of Pakistan that really counts whether they approve of this Govt or not?

KKF no matter what any Indian says, Sharifs a far better than the that Modi guy in India who had all the Muslims Massacred in Gujrat while he was Chief Minister Right!

Narendra Modi, a man with a massacre on his hands, is not the reasonable choice for India

Expenses incurred? How about pulling out the money stolen by your lordships over the decades through their throats? Zardaris, Bhuttos and Sharifs are the biggest expenses this country has had to date. These are the only people the sit-ins are giving ‘incontinence’ to. (unless you meant inconvenience).

People like Fazlur rehman and bhai are better suited for alliances with crooked politicians, like PPP and PMLN. His reversal and drama doesnt mean a lick.

All of a sudden the word of the americans is gospel for you. That means the americans were right to given Gen. Zia a red carpet welcome. They must have agreed with what he did as well.
And I dont see any let down in the sit-ins, as they are not dependent on any external power, much like what status quo parties are used to.

What US believes with respect to Pakistan is least relevant. If today the government is toppled the US would be the first to give the new dictators credibility.