share your cooking disasters.

I once burnt masoor ki daal. Im always burning onions.

Once I was boiling an egg and went up to get ready for school. I came back down when I smelt burning and rushed downstairs and the pan was actually on fire!!:eek: I put it out and threw the hole thing including the pan in the bin. Opened all the windows and went to school.
No body found out but a few days later My mum asked me where the pan was and i acted all innocent. she said you havent thrown it away have you. Im like why would I do that??? (she was always suspecting people of throwing things in the bin when she couldnt find something) lol.
I never did tell her the truth. :wink:

I don't think I've ever made a major disaster with food other than the usual burningh. But when we first moved to NY, I didn't quite figure out the gas oven. I used the bottom section, the broiler as storage for saran wrap and aluminum foil. So when i turned on the oven all that stuff was burning and on fire. Luckily my husband pulled it out and put out the fire. Our apartment smelled like burning plastic for a little while. We were both like, "Oh, so that's not for storage."

I've never cooked anything that isnt yummy
except Kashmiri chai.. always fudge that up.

It was probably the first time I cooked. I was at my chacha's place and chachi wasn't too well so she asked me to cook following her instructions...I'm not too great a follower. She had peled a whole lot of garlic probably sufficient for 3 different saalans. She told me she had some peeled garlic in the fridge and trusted me to use common sense with the amount. But i added the whole lot! She had already added salt to the daal which I must have forgotten and added it all over again. The end product was some sort of a double salt lassan mix. Her kids had no choice but to gulp it down.

It took many more disasters before I actually got good in cooking!

I nearly burned the kitchen making peanut butter cookies. Black smoke was seeping out of the oven and the kitchen filled up with smoke. My dad yelled at me so badly that day. :hehe:

Also, once my mother was making chawal but she had to go out. It was my responsibility to turn the cooker off after 45 minutes. However, I forgot and remembered 2 hours later. The bottom was all crunchy and burned so I threw that part all out. The top was relatively o.k. so nobody noticed. :smiley:

:hehe: Mehnaz

I have made some very silly blunders with baking. Examples would be adding no oil/butter, forgetting the sugar, using plain flour instead of self-raising :smiley:

boiled chaawal that turned into this ball of gooey chaawal coz i left it to boil for too long :frowning:

kheer that got burnt :frowning: i wasted two litres of milk …felt so bad… *sniff

sevyaan in which i put too much dry sevyaan so there was no milk left in the end and it all became a jelly like thing :smiley: i ate it all tho slowly n gradually…it was my breakfast for a week or so

the first time i made chicken saalan i put too much dayeen in it and the saalan was too khatta…but everyone ate it coz it was the first time i ever made saalan :blush:

making rotis the shape of different countries maps used to be my speciality :smiley:

and many many more karnamay not to be disclosed in public :smiley:

ahhh Iram same here ...... kheer ko hum see dushmani hai puraani ...hehe aur different shapes ki and sokhi houie rotyiaaN :o like paper.

meiN kitchen kee kammoN mein bilkul bhi sughar nahiN hoon :-/

mehroo aapi :hug: join the club :smiley:

*Originally posted by irem: *

kheer that got burnt :( i wasted two litres of milk ...felt so bad... *sniff

making rotis the shape of different countries maps used to be my speciality :D

oh the kheer reminds me of when I wasted two litres of milk on custard becuase I added salt instead of sugar...the rotis I really do hope I learn those some times I have good days with them and they come out perfectly round and then there are some days that are just unmentionable!!!!

once i got so carried away i added shan chicken masalaa to the daal.

Every day is a disauster .. :bummer:

yaar i burnt H2O once...

:rolleyes: Mr. Smartypants you did not burn the H2O all you did was change its physical state, you changed the water from liquid to gas.

I once put 2 eggs to boil and went off to the other room and started watching tv... about 1 hour later I heard a bang... followed by another bang... the water had dried up in the pan and the eggs exploded and were on the ceiling.. :o)

*Originally posted by Mem Saab: *
I once put 2 eggs to boil and went off to the other room and started watching tv... about 1 hour later I heard a bang... followed by another bang... the water had dried up in the pan and the eggs exploded and were on the ceiling.. :o)

ahaa .................i once tried microwaving eggs with the shell to see if it will turn out like boiled egg but it will cut down on cooking time...

and guess what after few minutes eggs explode..............

and i was being laughed at as i had guest in my house.........

take it easy… the guys just kidding.

btw…thanks for let us know u know ur sciences.

Not sure if this counts as a 'cooking' disaster per se, but Mr S once made his collague some coffee using my expressed milk. I wonder why he didn't get that promotion?

^ :yukh:

OOh I am one big cooking disaster :o
This one time I was trying to make a fresh fruit-yoghurt smootie and forgot to put the top on the shaker thingeee, took me 3 hours to clean the kitchen :frowning: