Share ur Massi's background

if only u knew how important this project is

the purpose is to research the lives of the maids of Pakistan, once you have knowledge u can work to improve their conditions :)

Re: Share ur Massi’s background

^you want to improve their conditions? based on what?

based on - if they are working as maids because they are poor? - how are you going to solve this problem?

Please tell!!! I might be able to save some zakat next year :cb: if ALL the poor are not so poor anymore!

Hummm, OK. Weird project.

They work and get paid.

Good luck.

Yes, because things like min wage, getting over time, reasonable working hours, harassment free work place and off time are only for office workers. Who cares about massis anyways. They do this job because they love doing it.

lol. Sorry, they do have rights.

I am no expert on them but I think the system is complex and when these issues are raised, people stop hiring these workers due to cost and sizable people are left jobless.

A bigger example is unionization of workers and companies either go bankrupt or they stop hiring people (Auto, manufacturing and computer industry)

Other solution companies find is they take the job somewhere else.

All these problems are real and can be resolved by making the laws available to everyone at low cost. Simple contract is all what is needed in many cases.

Re: Share ur Massi's background

TeenDabbayWalla - hmmmmm!? makes me think you deliver food at work!!!!!!

hahhahahahahahahahhaahahaaaaaaaaaaa

once u have identified the problems then u find the solutions :slight_smile:

Re: Share ur Massi’s background

^LOL please don’t find a solutions for the maids - cause we ALL LOVE THEM just the way they are!

W-O-R-K-I-N-G-A-T-O-U-R-H-O-M-E-S :cb:

Just a thought - why do you want to take up this “maid” project? What made you get involved? What were your concerns?What made you narrow down to “maids”?

Well i was interested in violence against women and specifically wanted to work for ‘my people’ i.e. women in PK because a lot is being done for women other places but PK seems to be an area where no attention is given to women especially in the interational community. I mean you will see funding going to projects in India but the same funding for the same project would be denied in PK… why? because its Pakistan.
and why i chose maids… well despite what i just said there are a few projects running for women in general. most projects focus on rural areas. but the issue with maids is that they are ignored. the rates of violence aimed at maids is surprisingly high, though most of it goes unreported and unspoken of. similarly sexual violence is also high in such jobs.
what is interesting is that you will find a lot of research conducted about maids in Phillipines, Dubai and even India but I couln’t find any for PK. So these are the overall reasons for me choosing this project.

Now I feel you are more weird than I thought.

Come on.

You are not for these women.

You are for yourself.

If you were for them then you would not be making an attempt to disguise yourself as their advocates or potentially their advocate but eventually hurting them by depriving them from the very source of income they thrive on.

Read my post above.

I am not against these workers not I want them to be abused. But the moment someone comes and try to become the champion of these poor people's right, a red flag should go up.

The same argument of so called oppression of women can be applied anywhere in the world my friend. You just need to open your eyes and look around where you are.

How about you stay where you are and try to solve problems of women where you live? That is a good start. Saves you time and trouble.

Sorry, not buying your so called 'sympathy' here.

I m not selling sympathy, was asked a question to which I replied. I am not here to start a debate, you have your own views and I have mine. I respect you for ur views and I hope to recieve the same respect for mine.

OK. Good luck. Let people of the land deal with the issue themselves. Still not buying your intentions. Your answers were not satisfactory.

Stop being the advocate for the world.

Poor Maasi and her family did not ask for you to travel thousands of miles to solve her problems. Take care of your business first.

It is very obvious you just mean business and not welfare or benefit for these people.

Sorry, I don't have any idea. They always live in.

Dad's side they come in the morning, leave after dinner. They seem to treat their servants much better, don't just sit there expecting them to do every tiny little thing, don't let their kids shout at them etc.

thank u :)

diwana, yaar ....... why do you question the OP's intentions behind almost every other thread especially in life forum ??

I don't get it!

The machoistic desi married men describe their wives instead.....

I m sorry if you have this impression. Perhaps those threads I agree with I just read them and not write anything. Will keep this in mind though. There are many threads I did not question. As for this thread, I explained why. :-)

Shhhh .... thats just their role playing theme .. *Maasi and The Saab Ji *

Dont take it literally.