share ur ideas

if i’m a vegetarian now …what would be your ideas for me …not just snacks but proper meals too …!!!

while thinking about it,…i noticed our desi menus usually are planned with meat …n there r very limited choices for vegetarians …!!
is it really so…???
if u or someone in ur family is vegetarian …will u share some ideas …???

i’ll prefer to know some quick dishes …so that i can cook it in not more than 30 minutes

n please keep it in mind …desi veges r not that easy to find around my place …i mean desi stores r too far away n not in easy reach

so far i know …mutter pulao…kaRhi…daal (moong, masoor, maash , chanay etc.) vege. biryaani …aloo mutter…mixed vegetables …aloo palak…!!!

but i need to know more n …midday snacks too

i’ll really appreciate any help

thanx in advance

logo......i'm waiting:(

actually i really really need to know

so please ....be quick

I'm not sure if I understood your message. Do you want names of dishes or their recipes too??

Here's my list of vege dishes:

aloo ki bhujia
aloo gobi ki sabzi
fried okra
aloo andon ka salen
chinese vegetable fried rice
palak daal with capsium(shimla)
aloo lobia
aloo bengan with rice
beghare began
hyderabadi green chilli curry

I'll add more later...

oh and you can find recipes on net..lemme know if you need help with any of these..:-)

Re: share ur ideas

also try some Middle Eastern dishes some are meat free.

try:

Hummus
Falafil
Baba gunoosh
Cheese pies
Zatar
and many more that I can't think of right now :)

thanx CA

i know some of these but not sure about palak daal with capsicum …:confused:

i need recipe for this one

n what will u suggest as snacks…???\

You’re welcome Afia…actually I’m totally a new cook so I don’t have my own recipes…I use recipes off from net and I’m posting the one I used and it worked so try recipe for palak dal with capsium

Re: Re: share ur ideas

*Originally posted by Majestic: *
also try some Middle Eastern dishes some are meat free.

try:

Hummus
Falafil
Baba gunoosh
Cheese pies
Zatar
and many more that I can't think of right now :)

majestic ...if these r easily cooked n don't need much prep. time then please share the recipes:)

Afia, as a vegetarian it's really important to make sure you get your protein otherwise you're at a risk of deficiencies. Daal and beans are a great source of protein, as is soya. You can do amazing things with soya, like make different types of curries and you can use soya sausages or polonies in sandwiches.

thanx cat woman
i don’t intend to stay vegetarian …its just for sometime …so i don’t think i’m gonna be deficient etc.

n i;m real paindoo…never used soya or even seen that …just know one thing…soy sauce :hehe:
but well if it tastes like other desi food …i might give it a try:)(once i know what is it)

how about pakoray?

Soya is a wonderful bean which has so many uses. It is rich in protein and is basically the meat/chicken for vegetarians. I should know because my best friend is vegetarian and I have to be vegetarian because I can't eat meat that isn't cooked by my mother or that isn't halaal. So just go into a supermarket and ask for the soya produce. It should be in the frozen foods section.
This afternoon I had a soya hotdog. It's so good, tastes like the real thing!
And my friend's mum makes soya koftey and you also get soya prawns. lol it's basically soya shaped like prawns.

Aslomlakaum afia dear
I am not vegetrain but some of my friends were and they always had "cold lunch" brown bread with some salaad ,sandwichs ,etc in school ...as there is no vegetrain in my own family (sabhi ghosht khoor haiN ) :D so i dont know much about it ,try some arabic food as majestic mentioned , falafil is good as snack as well .
Do you like chines food ? they have a good variety of food for vegetrains .

Afia, its interesting to see a vegetarian thread here..i had been reading and making some vegetarian recipes for a while..coz several people in my relatives circle have started eating vegetables due to health issues..and i have lived with several vegetarian families..and one of my good friend is vegetarian so i do make lot of vegetarian dishes.

Here's the list which i have eaten so far either in restaurants or at home or with packaged food.

Mexican rice, chinese rice, different vegetable pulaos, khichris, tehri, anday aloo ka salan, mirchoon ka salan, bagharay bengan, timatar ka salan, any vegetable salan, subzis (dried ones..one or several mixed ones), rajma (red kidney bean curry), spinach dishes like saagh, paneer saagh, daal saagh, daal, kiyoti daal (two daal combined), pach rangi daal, cholay ka salan, cholay aloo ki sabzi, aloo ka bharta, vegetable kababs with potatoes and other vegetables, sweet and sour vegetables, mashed potatoes, couscous, eggplant wrap, falafel, greek rice with boiled potatoes, vegetarian samosa, vegetarian pizza, vegetarian lasagna, vegetarian pasta, mixed bean salan, cabbage kofta curry, salads, vegetarian parathas, soya shashlik, idli, dosa, sambhar, cream of mushroom soup, bhindi ka salan, bhindi ki sabzi, beet curry, beet subzi etc

Well i personally think that whatever you can make with meat..you can make a substitute of it..like the other day i used the recipe of steak with potatoes and baked them..

lets say if you make several types of koftas..you can make them with potatoes..and if you make seekh kabab ka salan..you can use the same recipe and make potato walay kabab ka salan..

the possibilities are endless :)

SuMi…yeah pakoras r great …thanx:)

Qrius n cat woman…thanx a lot:)

Qrius…u mentioned so many things …n many r those i never heard of …now i don’t wanna ask you to post the recipes but it will be very kind of u if u could post some reliable links

sad enough as right now i’m in no mood of experimenting …n i really need to know some really quick alternatives…which can be cooked in less than 30 n preferably 20 minutes

mehroo…i’m surviving on those salads n bread for last 4 days :crying:

Afia, feel free to ask me the foods that you don't understand from my list..and i'll provide you with the links and recipes from net :) and when i do experimenting..i do follow a recipe from net..so it never goes wrong.

Qrius…:slight_smile:

then here is the list

Mexican rice, , tehri, , mirchoon ka salan, bagharay bengan, timatar ka salan, , paneer saagh, daal saagh, daal, kiyoti daal (two daal combined), pach rangi daal, cholay ka salan, cholay aloo ki sabzi(is it same as aloo cholay ka salan or different :confused:, aloo ka bharta, vegetable kababs with potatoe and other vegetables, sweet and sour vegetables, , couscous, eggplant wrap, falafel, greek rice with boiled potatoes, , vegetarian lasagna, , mixed bean salan, cabbage kofta curry, soya shashlik, idli, dosa, sambhar, cream of mushroom soup

look how jaahil i am :crying:

Qrius and afia hey girls itnay mazay mazay ke kahnay kee naam paar ke mujay bhook laag gaye hai, i am going to kitchen now :mad:

asak Afia baji long time no see where have u been nice to see u back :hug:

Hmmm…u have turned into a vegetarian? woh kyun? beef aur mutton bayshak chor deyn par chicken aur fish khana toh acha hae…

hmmm…khayr vegetarian ideas…

lets see…

how abt…

vegetable fried mixed rice

veggi stir fry

vegetable bhaji [different ones r : bhindi, aaloo gobi, cabbage, bayngan]

daals of different types

cholay aalo

anda aaloo

lots n lots of things :slight_smile:

Afia I would never recomment samosa pakora as snacks to anyone...there's too much oil used in these and I don't think it's healthy. My type of snacks are:

cholay chaat
dahi bare
cutlets
spiced potato bites
fruit chaat
boiled corns with chaat masala
garlic breads

Morningstar veggie patties n chik patties..
makes awesome sandwich