Re: Share Jumua'a Sermons you hear this Ramadaan Kareem
Cricketplaya: it is quite worthy to note that "death" was also one subject discussed in the sermon I attended...
Jazak Allah khair for sharing ...
Cricketplaya: it is quite worthy to note that "death" was also one subject discussed in the sermon I attended...
Jazak Allah khair for sharing ...
Re: Share Jumua’a Sermons you hear this Ramadaan Kareem
:salam2:
Today, we had the guest speaker Imam Mikaail (Mee-kaa-iL). Imam Mikaail was born in a Puerto Rican Family and accpeted Islam about 10 years ago. Lived in Pakistan for 3 years and in S. Africa for 6 years. Very proficient in Urdu as well (I initially thought he is a native speaker of urdu, when he used it in between his speech, until his introduction was conducted) - He is running Dar-ul-Uloom, NY in Jamaica Queens where around 120 students are currently enrolled for the Hifz and Alim classes.
… The main points that I could remember, I will share them here:
He mentioned that Taqwah itself can not be defined in a proper synonym. Even in arabic, scholars have used sentences to describe it. Some use it as “Fear of Allah” (out of His Love), some use it as “Concious of Allah” .. and some have used it as “staying away from sins” …
He used the example given by a scholar who went to Arabia… He was travelling in a taxi towards Makkah while it was sizzling hot… He asked driver to turn on the AC and driver replied that it was already on… so he looked around and found a window was a bit opened… so he asked driver to roll it up… and once it was up, all of a sudden, the environment became comfortable… So, he concluded that Fasting and doing good things is like the air of AC but if we keep the window of Sins open, we won’t feel the benefit of our good deeds.. hence, it is inevitable to stay away from Munkars (wrong deeds) even after Ramadan and that’s what attaining Taqwah is all about…
He also mentioned that how Taba’ Tabi’een have recorded the fact that Every Sahabi they met had one thing in common - everyone used to fear that they might have the element of hypocrisy in their heart or they might be hypocrite and this concious and fear kept them on the right path…
Today, the guest speaker was Mufti Naumaan Zaheer - a prmominent member of Sharia’ Board, Jackson Heights NY. A very solid speech I must say - basically he reiterated most of the things which are noted in previous sermons… let me point them out as much as I can recall…
He started with the well known command of Fasting given in Surah Baqarah that is usually quoted… based the topic on attaining Taqwah and how it means to abstain from things that are fobidden.
He mentioned the link of Taqwah in ayah 2 & 3 of Surah At Talaaq (65) where it is said that "those who fear Allah, He (ever) prepares a way out" and "And "He provides for him from (sources) he never could imagine. And if any one puts his trust in Allah, sufficient is ((Allah)) for him. For Allah will surely accomplish his purpose: verily, for all things has Allah appointed a due proportion."
He mentioned how our Fasting is not fullfilling the main purpose for all we see is that we do not find an exit out of our problems as mentioned in surah Talaaq - ayah 2… and that is because while Taqwah means “To abstain from forbidden things” muslims are still involved in lying, back biting and all different major sins… that’s proof enough that our fasting is not making us muttaqi… a place of pondering for us…
On the subject of Gheebah, he mentioned the hadeeth quoted in all books of ahaadeeth including Bukhari that the definition of gheebah given by the Prophet(SAW) was that** it’s a back biting about a bad thing that exists in our fellow muslim which he/she will dislike to be talked about in front of him/her as well**…
There were many supporting ahaadeeth, aqwaal of Scholars and material persented for the subject as well..
He talked about Muslims being target and not Islam as always been the case - even during times of Mangols and Taataars and in Muslim Spain.. etc…
He also talked about the certainity of death and how even Atheist can not deny it.
At the end, he touched upon the matter of moonsighting … totally disregarding the two school of thoughts currently in north america.. One of ISNA which goes only on astronomical calculation now and the other which wants scientific calculation be part of the matter… According to him, hundreds of Scholars have met ISNA fiqh counsil on the matter letting them know that the position taken by ISNA is not according to Islamic priniciples…
He supported his claim by mentioning the hadeeth where Prophet (SAW) clearly mentioned that LOOK for the moon on the 29th.. if there are clouds, keep the 30th Saum… which means, even if moon is in the sky, and due to clouds you can not see, you need to complete the 30th day… hence, the dissapproval of astronomic calculation method.. also how there have been two eids even in the times of Khulafaa-e-Rashideen… and that there was never a roar about unity ever in last 1500 years .. this is only our apologetic behaviour about how non-muslims ridicule us on the matter… Fact of the matter is that non-muslims ridicule us on Quran, should we reject Quran then, too… they ridicule, Prophet (saw), should we leave obeying him too??? People like Atheist ridicule the cocept of God, should we please them too???
JazakAllah…very nice mashaAllah. May Allah give us tawfiq to understand and act upon it.
7:179] Many are the Jinns and men we have made for Hell: They have hearts wherewith they understand not, eyes wherewith they see not, and ears wherewith they hear not. They are like cattle,- nay more misguided: for they are heedless (of warning).
There is a wonderful lecture by Shaykh Hamza Yusuf about this ayah. Here’s the link.
Thanks for sharing hareem..
On 27th night during the Khatam of Quran in Taraaveeh, we had Mufti Muneer Ahmed Akhoond delivered the speech as well... it was about our relation to Quran and why we need to carry it along with our lives beyond Ramadaan.. I will try to posts as much as I remember about that also... Insha Allah
Tonight... 29th night of Ramadaan, Maulana Ehtaram-ul-Haq Thaanvi will be presenting his speech after taraaveeh as well.. I will Inhsa Allah post about that too...
I will touch upon a bit on 27th night speech before giving a detail account on last night’s (29th night) speech.. 27th night speech by Mufti Muneer Ahmed Akhoond was also a thought provoking one reminding us about how to make connection with Quran through out the year… He gave an account of Miracles given to the different prophets of different times and how those Miracles were in accordance with what was prevelent during those times… Like during Ibrahim (AS) time, chemistry was at its peak and he got the miracle of being saved in fire… In Mosa (AS) time, people were perfected in performing magic so he was given a miracle in accordance to that… in Isa (AS) time, Medicine and Physics were the most saught subject and hence the miracles of giving sight to a born-blind, giving full recovery to the person who had leprosy .. or making a bird from mud and make it fly…
He gave a detailed account of Mosa(AS) miracle about his staff turning into dragon… he noted many key points that scholars have written down… couple of them as I recall, were:
Allah gave guidance to the magicians because they were perfect in magic (though haraam) but being perfect in haraam gave him understanding of the truth better…
Allah also gave them guidance because they respected Mosa(AS) by offering him first in the competition… and when they went into prostration declaring their belief in Allah (Rabb e Mosa wa Haroon), Allah showed them all the secrets of earth (Teht-us-siraa) to heavens (Sidrat-ul-muntaha) - quoting ahaadeeth …
Simlarly during the time of Prophet (SAW), the works of Literature and poetry was on its peak so the Quran was given… he also noted that besides Quran, he was also given all the miracles which were given to all previous prophets and apostles… He also noted a point to remember that all miracles given to other prophets were present till the prophet was in this world.. but Quran is a miracle that will stay even after Qiyamaah… He quoted Abu Jahel saying that there is so much tranqulity in Quran that is hard to describe and strange to understand; it’s neither poetry nor prose yet it catches ones attention .. then he described how Abu Jahel, Utba ans Sheeba made a pact not to listen to Quran at night when Prophet(SAW) used to read it… but all three found each other in nearby bushes the next night listening to Quran…
He mentioned how little kids of Arabia during that time used to say poetry (type: Qaseedah) of 90, 90 couplets… he mentioned about how someone used to write poetry and hang it in the Ka’abah with the challenge to bring an answer till sunset and by sunset an answer used to be hung with the challenge to bring an answer back by the morning and sure enough the challenged was always fulfilled…
He mentioned about Saba’ Mo’allaqa - the Seven hanging pieces of poetry that were the top most work of that time… Mufti Akhoond told that those Saba’ Mo’allaqa are taught in Madaaris of Pakistan and then Quran is taught… It gives the idea to the students how Quran is so much better than those while reading them earlier, one may think that there can’t be any better work in the language that those…
He touched upon the Quranic challenge to all in the same manner they used to challenge each other.. starting from bring something similar to Quran and categorically easing up the challenge to 10 Surahs to one surah to 1 ayah at the end… and no one could not do that… There was one famous poet of that time who tried to copy the idea of Surah Fi’L and what came out was ridiculous ending up describing elephent itself by telling how it has small tail and long nose…
Then, he talked about another poet who had started living in the cave with shame after he could not fulfil the challenge himself… His students used to go to cave and put their works their and he used to look into that and make corrections for them… One of his students once put Surah Kouthar there showing as his work..
**Inna A’atyena Kal Kauthar. **
Fassal lay lay rabbeka wanhar
Inna Shane’aka Howal Abtar
The next day he went to the cave and found the line added to the end of that… Laissa Haadha Kaalaamo Lil bashar (This can’t be the work of a human)
There were other minor things that also came up in the middle like the sunnah of Sydena Umar (RA) of kissing the Quran and touhing it with eyes before or after reading… etc.
At the end, he urged to read Quran daily even if it is for two ayahs only… and then we had a long long duaa session with all lights off… Beautiful night:-)
29th night (last night) sermon by Maulana Ehtram-ul-Haq Thanvi will be posted soon Insha Allah… as soon as I am able to pen down all the points and details…
Always in need of prayers.
-AQ
Salam AQ bhai, where do you live? All these great scholars, very lucky.
WasSalaam...
I got lucky this time... I am not in my usual NY home... living a bit far from where I used to live (though the most prominent scholars visited that place too in the past, were Dr. Israr Ahmed, Yousuf Islahi, Siraaj Wahaaj, Imran Hussain, Zakir Naik, etc.), this mosque I am going to this time of the year seems to have managed to get couple of prominent scholars of our time...
Re: Share the Speeches and Sermons you hear in Ramadaan-ul-Mubaarak
You are so lucky. We need those scholars in our Mosque where they fight for parking every Jumma prayer. The management keep telling them where to park but every Jumma there few who would NOT listen at all.
teaser bhai: this issue is all over USA :-D
29th night, Maulana Ehtaram-ul-Haq Thanvi delivered the most thought provoking words to be acted upon…
He started the speech by saying that in our life, there are occassions when it is hard to decide whether to be
happy or to be sad… one example he gave was of the feelings of those parents who get their daughters
married… hard do decide happiness of the marriage is greater or less than the sadness of her departure… Such
mix feelings are evident in many instances of life…
He said that it is very sad moment for us that Ramadaan is leaving us but on the other hand, the happiness of Eid
is bound by this sadness…
Then, he talked about how every good deed is dependent on Khatimah bil kher… He quoted a hadeeth **Innamal **
A’amaalo bil Khawaatim that is Actions are dependent upon their ends
In it was the hint that fasting was just the beginning of an action and then, there are far more effects of it in
our lives and that there are lait-ul-qadar to make good ending of this fasting practice as well…
TO explain the hadeeth quoted above, he gave an example… He reminded us of the game we used to play in
childhood … Behind the Ludo board, used to be a game of SaaNp SeeRhi … in which we had 100 points to
cover with the throwing of dice.. and there were ladders through which we can jump high or there were snakes that
can throw us down in the game… so there used to be this snake at like the 98 or 99 position that was the
longest one and often reaching at that position meant to be a loss… He compared the A’amaal which have worked
upon so patiently but the end of which are similar to this…
So, he touched upon the good deeds of calling others to enjoin what is right… From Maulana Room’s hikaayaat, he
mentioned a story of a saint who wanted to preach to a very hard headed prince but he could never get into the
palace because of the presence of guard on the entrance… One day, the guard was caught napping and this old
fellow sneaked into the palace… He found the prince coming towards him and had a chain in his hand to which his
dogs were all tied together… Prince was not only astonished to see the old person there… but became angry as
well so he asked the question to this old lad in anger: Who is better? you or my dogs?
At this question, Maulana Ehtaram-ul-Haq changed the subject a bit … to something that is sad too… …
he said… if it was today’s time and age, and it was any one of us, our answer would have been along the lines of Yes Boss!. As Allama Iqbal has said something which can be interpreted as: **Today’s era is the FITNA ****of words… we say something and it means something… All we do is JEE HUZOORI and Khushaamad… But it’s an art ****and there are two ways to do it.. Those who do it with the bhoNda method, it will harm the person.. but these **days only those are the winners in this world who know how to use this art… Then, he read Iqbal’s sher along the same lines:
Naheen maaloom yeh khushaamad hai kay haqeeqat
keh day koi ullu ko agar raat kaa shaahbaaz!
Therefore, that old saint first thought that if he would say that dogs are better, it will be against the
teaching of Allah which says that humans are the Ashraf-ul-Makhlooqaat but if he says that he is better then, he
does not know about the future either… Who knows if his end will be worst than the dogs…
After touching this careful mentality of a believer, Maulana moved the topic to Logic, Aqal, Ishq, Faith
in practicing Islam… He said that the disease that muslims (especially in the west) have these days, is that
they start questioning the reason and logic and bring their brains behind a command of Islam… Why, how etc.
Intstead of getting benefit, they refuse to perform the command unless they understand it through Logic… It is
imperative to understand that not everthing can be understood by logic… He presented many examples… two of
them which I could remember are:
A child was sent to a molvi to teach him Quran. The first day Molvi saahab asked him to read Alif, Baa
… The child responded saying **Molvi Saahab! I will read this only when you can tell me why Alif is straight **
line standing up like that and why Baa is laying down like that with a dot underneath? … Molvi saahab sent
the child back to the parents saying that the it was not the fate of the child to read Quran with such
thinking… This was the example of using logic and AqL where there is no use of it…
The second example he gave was from the Hikaayaat of Maulana Ruum (RA)… A person makes the Niwaala of rice and looks at it before eating. He realizes that each grain of the rice was in different direction. He questions himself how is it going down the throat if they are not in one direction. A person who was sitting next to him tells him it was not in his fate to eat that for he can spend his long life while straightening the grains in all directions while others will have the meal and thank their Lord…
On the same account of Logic versus Love of Almighty, Maulana Ehtaram-ul-Haq noted down a story of a place in India called Sandela… In old days, people mostly used to go on Hajj via sea-ship carrying ration of several months with them to Makkah al Mukarramah. During such time, people boarded on a ship when they found a 9-10 years old kid on the deck… Surprised, the people asked him where he was going… The kid asked them back where they were going. People replied that they were going on Hajj.. SO the kid tells them back, so was he… People then asked him where was his provisions, rations etc. The little boy replied them “It’s such an insult to go to visit a King and take your meal with you… Insult of the king for sure…” … People were silenced… The journey started…
Meeqaat came in… People started putting Ahraam and starting the Talbeeh: Labbaik Allahuma Labbaik… The kid hid in the corner… People looked for him and told him to put on Ahraam and start with the Talbeeh… Child responded: You people are so courageous that you are saying Labbaik… I am afraid if I put on Ahraam and say Labbaik Allahuma Labbaik, what if the answer comes back: Laa Labbaik… “We do not need your presence”… … People were silenced again…
At the end of Hajj, everyone was slaughtering animals… this kid was alone walking and observing the occassion… he did not have the provisions to carryout the ritual… so he started crying looking at the sky: Oh Allah! I have nothing to sacrifice except my ownself!!! and people heard a loud cry… the kid fell on the ground… Bt the time When the people gathered around him, the small kid had gone to his Lord… Such is the story of Love - something totally opposite of logic and reasoning…
There was one more narration he mentioned about a saint at the end… The saint had many mureedeen… and he had also taken loans from many of them… He was on his death bad and all his mureedeen were sitting around him… He was covering himself with a quilt, asking Allah to ease his death and ease the issue of loan before his death when he had an ilhaam according to which he was told to see the faces of his mureedeen. If he finds even one single person whose face does not show the hardness of his heart, his duaa would be answered… He looked at the group and disappointed to see all of them withour such a heart… and put the cloth (chaadar) back on him… It was the time when he heard the voice of a small child outside who was selling Halwaa… He calls the boy in .. make a deal with him about the whole halwaa and asked the boy to distribute it among his mureedeen. When boy asked for the money, the old saint asked him to sit in the group of mureedeen. The innocent child started crying out loud for not getting his money… At that point, someone came at the door, gave a bag to the old saint telling him that he can pay everyone from there and that Allah had answered the cry of the child…
WIth the mention of this incident, Maulana Ehtaram quoted Mualana Ruum saying that all the bahaaraiN in this world are due to the tears and crying… when clouds cry, it rains.. when an infant cries, then comes the milk in the breasts of his mother…
and, and when the slave of Allah cries in front of him, that’s when bahaaraiN in his life and in life hereafter come in… and with that lights in the masjid were turned off and we all raised our hands for long supplications in front of Rabb-e-zul Jalaal in the last odd night of the last days of Ramadaan… Heartening moments… Undescribable times :-/
Today is the last friday of Ramadaan… tomorrow is Eid… I will try to update my last entry for this Ramadaan after Eid Insha Allah…
:k: wonderful idea MashaAllah.
Please keep posting the Jumma Sermons here. Its always nice to read Khutaba delivered by real scholars.
hmmm.. thank you for bringing the thread up....
I could not write the fifth jumuah sermon and eid sermon ... but in a nut shell they both were very much similar to the things mentioned in 2nd Jumuah and 27th night Sermons....
last jumuah, they had invited Maulana Ahmed Yousuf Palan Poori from Deo Band India... who is the Mufti-e-Azam hind (Grand mufti of india) and Shaikh-ul-Hadeeth in Madrasa Deo Band.... I will try to put as much as I remember once I get time :)
It's only encouraging if others also participate and share though...
maybe you can give them an idea of making copies of the sermon & leave for those who wanna take them home.
A lot of mosques & centers do that here in CA.
I will try to keep this thread updated insha Allah this year as well...
I am not living at a place where known scholars visit that often so will try to update whatever I hear during the month.. insha Allah..
I will humbly ask fellow members to please contribute so that we may learn and implement things that we may not know and you have the knowledge of it...
The First Jumuah of Ramadan 1429 AH:
The sermon was on basic things regarding the month of Ramadaan, its virtues, dos and donts. etc.
Most of the things are well known and come under common knowledge.
A good point raised by our Turkish Imam was that the 5 minutes before Iftari are very crucial. Some people might be continuously looking at the clock and wondering if the Imam has got late in giving the Adhan, while others can make good use of it by praying to Allah (s.w.t) as Allah (s.w.t) never rejects any dua of a fasting person at the time of Iftar (Hadith). He should sit there in front of the meal and tell himself that he is waiting for the order of Allah (swt) in order to begin this meal, and enjoy the happiness that comes with eating this meal but he should also remember this condition of his hunger so that he may realize how poor people feel when they need help and their stomachs are empty....
He said many good points, few of them were common knowledge, few in difficult Turkish and few I might not remember.
May Allah (s.w.t) forgive me if I made any mistake in conveying. Allah knows BEST!
Thank you STP bhai for that. Please, keep sharing… ![]()