Share Stories of Successful Fertility Treatments!

Re: Share Stories of Successful Fertility Treatments!

I love this post.

Thanks for sharing everyone.

would anyone clear me about ovulation ??i mean what is the concept..?? can anyone get pregnant after ovulation ? so before ovulation period wud it b useless if one wud try to get pregnant? and what after ovulation how long one shud try after ovulation ? kindly clear me these things as i have heard about ovulation etc but i didnt study .. hope that sum1 will give me detailed answers...

Ovulation is the time where you're able to get pregnant. Basically an egg is "ready" for fertilization. I cannot remember how long time it is, but usually ovulation period is like 24 hours (I think, cannot remember). Sperm is able to survive up to 4-5 days inside you, so if you try some days before and after your ovulation time it is best. If you've a normal 28-30 days period cycle, ovulation would occur on day 14-15 in your cycle. (Your cycles first day is the first day of your period)

Ovulation is when your egg is released. An egg survives up to 48 hours after you ovulate. An ideal time frame to try and conceive would be starting 2 to 3 days before you ovulate and up until 3 days after. You can track when you ovulate with an ovulation kit, which will detect your LH surge. LH surge begins prior to the release of your egg and after getting a positive on the ovulation stick you can ovulate 24 or 48 hours after.

Ovulation doesn't necessarily occur on the standard cd 14 to cd16 for everyone. So it's best to first track how long your cycles are and if you want start using the ovulation sticks start them from cd 11 or adjust that according to how long your cycle is. Another good indicator of an LH surge is egg white cervical mucus.

PM me if you want.

thanks for the information !

all pregnant women should also share their diet during pregnancy and their complications regarding pregnancy as well, like women with fibroids,poc and many other complications they had to face. So that other women who are falling pregnant but going through the same complications can feel better

I don't really see a lot of needed information being shared. It would be great if people would mention which clinic / doctor they saw, and what kind of medications they were given for IVF. Another area where community help might be needed is finances. It would be great if people could share approximately how much they ended up spending in one cycle and more importantly, if there are any ways to reduce the financial burden other than the usual insurance-through-work scenario.
Also, how about sharing the frustration? Infertility is a tough battle and for some, it is also life long. Let's speak out.

A little more: this is coming from an Ontario, Canada resident where fertility treatment is yet not covered by the province for a vast majority.

AOA ladies, My family is a successful IVF story, if anyone needs any help please let me know :slight_smile:

^wont you share yours here?

She has numerous times. If you go back through the TTC sticky, or do a forum search, you’ll find all the posts where @KS09 has very candidly shared her struggles and news of her blessings

If you go through the TTC sticky, you’ll find a lot of posters have done just that.

For the newcomers who need some info…

Our story was a problem of genetics. My husband and I were both carriers for Cystic Fibrosis but we had no symptoms. We saw numerous doctors. My husband had no sperm count. And then a random visiting doctor suggested he get tested for CF. Apparently male carriers may have internal blockages due to CF. Anyway, he had surgery, they got enough sperm to freeze.
In November 2012, I did one complete cycle, in which 19 eggs were retrieved. My doctor did the Colorado method. I was on antibiotics, aspirin, injections in the belly, a nasal spray ( I don’t remember the exact names, sorry), and then had a day procedure when the eggs were retrieved. We had 9 embryos after a couple of days. Pre-Implantation Genetic tests were carried out on them and 3 had CF so they were discarded. I had severe bloating after the cycle, and the doc suggested not to transfer but as I had travelled a long way for the clinic I forced him to transfer 1. Obviously it didn’t stay and I had a period 2 weeks later.

I tried again in March 2013, used the pill and nasal spray to bring all my dates together,and then had a frozen embryo transfer. Aspirin and progesterone was used to support the hormones. But this didn’t work and I had a period 2 weeks later.

So while I was waiting for the next attempt I did some research and read other peoples stories (bubhub.cm.au). I went to the gym daily, prayed and asked everyone around me to pray or me.

[FONT=Times New Roman]Acupuncturist near to the clinic, spoke to them and arrangeda time to meet. We flew to the [FONT=Times New Roman]big city a day before the next embryo transfer. While at the clinic I spoke to the doctor and requested 2 embryos be transferred. The doctor was against this, as he said I’m young and have time, and also the 2 can become 3 or 4. There are also the added high risk pregnancy complications that come with multiples. But we had spent so much flying to the big city, that I was ready to try for more. I was thinking “well at least 1 will work”.

So I had an acupuncture session before the transfer, rushed o the clinic, got the embryos, and then back to the acupuncturist for another session. She also gave some herbal drink to help with blood flow and relaxation. After that I was on my own, with aspirin and progesterone, and 2weeks supply of the herbal drink. We survived the 2 week wait, but I did a HPT secretly and it was positive. The blood tests were an agonising wait, as I had the tests done in my village, and then the results were sent to the big city and then they would call me. I called my hubby to celebrate but he was still too scared. Then we had a call about mid-day to confirm I was pregnant, but the hormones levels were so high that they were saying to do another test i n a couple of days. Those tests showed even higher results so we guessed that both embryos had stuck!

Financially- I haven’t ever sat down and calculated ourreceipts and costs. Every trip to the big city was about $5000 AUS as we had flights, accom, rental car, food etc to pay for. We had 4 trips.

Doctors fee was about $8000 for the cycle which included the genetic testing. Hubby’s surgery was about $1500. Each individual embryo transfer was $1500. We are still paying storage fees for the remaining embryo and sperm storage about $600 a year. But during our 7 year struggle, I don’t know how much we paid for going to diff doctors and heaps of blood tests in our own town. When we were told there’s a genetic problem, we had a to go to the big city.

Big City= Melbourne Australia, Doctor Nick Lolatgis atMonash IVF. I didn’t give this info out earlier as I thought no one wants Australian info.
Acupuncture at Quiescience in Melbourne City.
The rest of the pregnancy and the emotional side of things is a whole different essay to write up. Hope I’ve helped.

^thank you. Though i was aware of your struggles and read up your posts quite frequently while you were ttc, i don’t think you ever posted about how you finally became pregnant and all, which you wrote just now. That’s what i wanted to know and you shared it. Thanks. May ALLAH SWT bless you and your family AMEEN.

I have a cute baby now mashAllah. I would say Allah helps everyone if you have faith. I didn’t get any treatment but I got pregnant with a fibroid. Pregnancy went good but o faced complications like gestational sugar , I followed the chart strictly but my baby was weak, I had borderline sugar, 1 should not follow the chart that much because you need extra food for baby in my view, my baby had a club foot , but she is really a cutest n smart baby . I love her a lot she is now 1.8 years old but her weight is just 11 kgs. My delivery was easy but painful in the end. I was admitted in Agha khan n my ob was Dr arshia jawed she is rhe best Dr n quiet friendly..