Shanakht HUMTV

Re: Shanakht HUMTV

I noticed in the serial they used Mulla/Mullani a lot. True everyone judges the other. Religious people are worried that liberal people will act like those in West and liberal people worry that religious people will impose views on them and are rigid/inflexible. But having hijab and beard doesn't change someone's personality. Like in episode 8 Rouhan's mother is worried he will think they are kafir because he has changed. His personality is still the same.
Rouhan has good personality but i don't understand why in episode 4 he said to Hashim. I am glad you are not Indian or white person. When they showed the scenes in UK it was good . Only thing i felt is that they should have shown at least one nice non-Muslim. I mean lot of people wear hijabs and have beard. Koi masla nahi hai. Not usually that people face violence. Then he said in episode 5 he started growing beard so people wouldn't think he is Hindu, but technically people in West don't know that much about different religions. They could also mistake him for being Sikh. If someone makes mistake then isn't it better to correct them? Other than that he seems like a great guy and his having a beard is to make him closer to Allah (SWT).

Nadeem Paracha wrote a blog where he said Malala was a Polish girl born of Christian missionary parents as a joke. Havent read his other blogs yet.

Also sometimes it can depend on the place where someone is from what they are more likely to wear. My friend from Dera Ghazi Khan says Niqab, burqa and chador are popular in DGK but hijab is not as much. He said if i visit DGK as a tourist in public i will have to wear burqa lol. I never knew so many varieties in burqa. In countryside of Punjab he said the shuttle cock burqa as it is known is also popular. He said in Lahore hijab is more common. I've found in West hijab is more common. I see plenty of females in hijab every day in all jobs and it's not even an issue. In India in some parts dupatta is used as head covering, other places like big cities hijab is popular and in some places burqa and niqab are popular like in lucknow and hyderabad. WHat is popular in Sindh?

I noticed on youtube people felt Qurat-ul-Ain was not wearing hijab properly in the house. They said it shouldn't be transparent cloth.

After Shanakht i did some research on different types of head coverings. I didn’t realise how much variety there is. I didn’t know there was a type of covering shayla and almira. But apparently not so popular in West but more in Gulf areas so we never get to see it in West :frowning: Now when i see someone with a hijab/burqa i can appreciate it better

A Guide to Islamic Veils | Visual.ly

I made a Pakistani liberal friend from DGK, a conservative area in Pakistan, who is like my younger brother. He says he feels comfortable expressing his views. They have projectors on streets when there is a big game. Everyone watches. Like in conservative areas in India women wear burqa and chador. So he said if i were to watch a game in public i’d have to wear one also but he recommends chador as it is more comfortable.

He said there is this old serial called Sassi which originates in the area.

i don’t know when niqab and beards become controversial. In old movies and songs you see plenty characters with this like in Rafi’s mere mehboob song.

Guess what Anaa means? It’s from the Shanakht theme song.

You too will be inspired after watching Shankht.

How does this relate to my question even remotely?

The previous comment addressed it directly. This comment was to show you that even in conservative cities like DGK liberal thoughts can flourish. He was the first Pakistani liberal i met 3 years ago and since then i was introduced to a whole new world of Pakistani liberalism. Life has never been the same. For balance i made a conservative Pakistani brother from urban city Karachi who is part of Tableeghi-Jamaat. He dresses conservatively but is liberal minded and sees the commonality between us. And of course i knew plenty of open minded Pakistanis in real life also. Basically it's meant to give you incentive to watch the show as Shankht mentions liberals/conservatives a few times. :)

Something in the back of my mind warned me against asking the question.

I am sure it was that part of your mind that told you my answer would be a random one. I am just convincing you to watch the show with examples :) Basically you can't judge anyone from appearance and nationality. There are only 2 moments when i was disappointed as i did not expect it. The moment where they showed one of the good characters glad his housemate was not an Indian or a white person because his eyes are sore seeing white people. Obviously if you go to a European country you'll see white people. Imagine a white person who is a good/ideal character saying that on an English show about Indian/Pakistani people. I get Indian entertainment does stereotypes of Pakistanis as well with partition type movies but they always show Indians/Pakistanis getting along well abroad as desis. I still love Shanakht though. Mostly only guys do such things. Qurat-ul-Ain would never do that. She wouldn't mind having Indian friends especially after she's dealt with a stubborn MIL. Seriously, why does this India/Pakistan come into every unrelated video?

Phir kya huwa?

u write so less and i write so much :( What happened next in the scenes i described? Then Hashim, the housemate, asks him what made him change. And he said it was his faith in Allah (SWT) but also because he didn't want to be mistaken as Hindu since his name is Rouhan. So he grew a beard. If i tell you all how will you watch it.

good ending!

Really you thought it was a good ending?
I was waiting for the punch line and it never came
I'm glad Annie told off hot cousin guy

Why this drama was even made :konfused:

To teach us everything wrong we do.
heheh

Acha tha halka pulka

Great ending. Loved the way Qurat-ul-Ain explained to Hashim at the end. :)

..because Qurat-ul-Ain is like a Pakistani Mona Lisa. Perfect from near and far.

True. So many lessons one can learn. The drama was amazing. I just wish it was few more episodes longer.

Is this show any good

Yes it is good. All the people even bi jamalos think so. Waise what does bijamalo mean? I was called that once. :) Google says wise old woman, interfering neighbour as possible choices. Someone said it was a classical PTV character. Whatever it is this is the place to ask. I am sure a nice GS member will help me learn the true meaning of bijamalo. Also what does it mean when someone says that you are giving "choosni." Woh bhi kisi ne kaha.

aap bataye toh. I am planning to have Urdu dictionary so i can get translations for all the mushkil words.

what is bijamalo according to you?

bhus main chingi daal , Jamaloo door kharii

IF you under stand this you will understand Bi jamalo .

Hope the story is available on NET