Shami Kebabs

I’m suffering from severe withdrawal symptoms at the moment, I have become so addicted to shami kebabs when I was in pak. So I need your tried and tested recipes for these please.

ps) I know you can probably get some kind of ready Shan masala but I would prefer recipes that don’t use these.

Funguy, don’t let me down.

Without Shan I am as good as a vacuum cleaner without power.

But do this...

Boil bonelss beef, channay ki daal, garam masala, salt, dhanya powder etc. in water
once tender, mince the mixture in a chopper or blender
add a couple of eggs and knead.
set aside for an hour (in refrigerator)

make small round tikkis and flatten them out
dip in egg and fry

Thanks funguy.

Two questions though.....firstly are there any spices in particular that go into shami kebab? And secondly what ratio meat to lentils? (oh and is the meat meant to be minced first?

You use BEEF and NOT minced meat. Boil beef and then mince afterwards along with daal. I never work with ratios. Just do by intuition.

I think Garam masala is a must ingredient. The rest is really by hook or crook.

Uff i miss afia :smack:

hmm, i carried out that experiment couple of months ago, and it turned out well. my friend gave me a recipe similar to what funguy said, but she told me to also boil garlic along with the meat and the dal. she said adding it later kinda ruins the flavour.

:yummy:

Well I have the ingredients ready and will make them tomorrow. Hopefully they'll turn out delicious.

Funguy can u really cook all this stuff or do you just copy and paste these recipes? Cos if you do then i'm impressed but if you don't then who the hell are you trying to impress???

FF, I don't cook to impress and if someone gets impressed by my cooking then they need help.

Cooking to me is relaxation. If I don't feel like cooking, I go eat outside. You should come and see my kitchen. It's the most organized and decorated room in my house. I spend a lot of time there when I am home. Not necessarily cooking all the time. I do reading, internet, and listen to music while in the kitchen.

And I have my own ways of simplifying everything. I NEVER fry onions in my kitchen. I would not cook a dish that required freshly fried onions. I use those pre-fried french onion packs from desi stores. I do all the smelly frying such as fish outdoors. I have a little Bar B Q / stove in my patio.

So what I am trying to say is that I don't look like your typical khala jaan who is half soked in paseena and half in the curry she is cooking. I do things very cleanly and hygenically. And NO I AM NOT GAY.

Sure about the gay part?

You cheapstake!

Shami kababs ka zikar ho raha tha ye GAY kahaan see aga beech mai !

Hain ji :D

roshnie, shami kabab aisay hee banain GAY

shahreen, i hear ya!

funguy gave a good description, thats how we make shami kebabs at home too (i think we put onion and some garlic also) ... gook luck, i think i might make some soon. yummy

Most days I eat a shami kabab sandwich at breakfast and shami kababs at lunch and dinner. My ammi and Khala and phuppo say that my wife will be very lucky as all she has to learn is how to make shami kababs.

I dont like premixed masalas, so I mix everything myself. As my way of mixing does not require measuring, I go by andaaza, so I will do my best when giving quantities. Try this out and tell me if you have eaten anything better in your whole life.

Ground beef or cubes 1/2 kg
Chanay ki daal 1 cup
Red chilli(dried) 10-12
Salt 1 teaspoon (yes teaspoon not table)
Potato 1 medium size
Garlic 2-3 cloves
Onion 1/4 small size
Water 3 cups
Ginger One piece about 1" x 1/2"
Garam masala 1/2 teaspoon

Boil all these ingredients till dry. Now grind them. Add 1/2 teaspoon Garam masala. Then add one medium size onion chopped as in an omlete, 3-4 chopped green chillies, finely chopped ginger, 1 egg and small amount of chopped hara dhanya or podeena. Mix all these and make kababs. You can change the amount of salt or merch according to your taste.

Rolling a ball and pressing it into a patti does not work. The patti has to be properly beaten so that it stays together in the frying pan. I do not like dipping the patti in egg before frying, that spoils the taste.

Bun-Kabab Fast food chain (Mac Khan's) is my post retirement plan, so kindly keep this recipe to yourself. Instead of fries you will get aaloo kay pakoRay.

Well the ones I made turned out pretty disgusting, probably because I didn't know the amounts of ingredient to put in. So looks like I will have to sucumb to the temptation of Shan next time.

Funguy, I like your tip for using dried onions, thats going to save a lot of time and tears for sure

shami kabab...

ok here's the recipe that my ammi uses shahreen :)

put half chanay kee daal and aadha keema in pressure cooker...in a small cloth kee potli, put saabat garam masalay, [daarcheene, kali gol mirch, long, bari ilaichi] and adrak and lehsan pieces and tie that potli and put it in the middle of the qeema and daal...

then put water and put some salt, laal mirch powder and thooorri si haldi in the dal qeema..
and put the pressure cooker on stove..

jab achee tarhaan gal jayay to potli ke andar k maslay nikal ke pees leyn sil battay pe...or use grinder..

and also peesofy the daal qeema...

then cut saabat hari mirch into th mixture...

some people add onions and tomatoes, but i dont like that, aur onion kee smell bhee aa jati hae,,,

then mix well...and make tikkies...not too big but not too smal...like 2 inches diameter max...and not too thick either...

u can make lots of shami kabab and freeze them...

when frying, beat some egg, dip tikkie in that and fry on low heat till outside is crunchy...they r not deep fried, just put some oil on frying pan..

chutnis that go well wit it r: raita/ ketchup