Shalwaar kameez on chubby girls

How do you think shalwaar kameez looks on chubby girls? What style do you think suits chubby girls the most?

You know they say in our culture tall, skinny, gori, girls with big eyes are considered beautiful… but what about the rest of the population that may be short, chubby, dark, with small eyes… where does that leave them?

If they have heavy hips they shud stay away from short kameez and capri's as well.. they shud select a medium-length kameez. If they're top-heavy then it's best to avoid fancy embroidery around the neck..this draws attention to the problem area's.

If u have toned arms.. most sleeve lengths wud look nice.. but full sleeves have a slimming effect. Try and stick to single colors.. and small prints :)

A heavy chest doesn't necessarily = a problem area. If you are told that beacuse you have a full chest it's a bad thing, don't pay attention because it's what god gave you to work with. Don't listen to people that tell you to wear a looser kameez tops because it just makes your stomach look like huge. If you turn to the sides and your rack is smushed that's how you know let material out for them, but if it's not and it's too loose and the material around your waist goes out almost as far as your rack then you're doing nothing for your figure. which tends to look very AUNTY like. Also whenever wearing a salwar kameez that someone else got made for you, always tell them to leave extra material for letting out purposes bc many times ppl back there make clothing wayyy too tight. Also do a stretch test, bend over and act like you are going to do a dive. If you can comfortably move then it's the right amount of room. All too much I do see girls with bigger racks stuff themselves into tops that smush theirs down and create a bad shape. If anything make sure your outfits hold a bit better around the sides of your stomach and keep your dupatta around your neck kinda resting on the chest. Also i'm so annoyed that other girls that aren't flat but aren't super well endowed can wear the tightest salwar kameez and no one says anything about that but when you have too much our culture tends to make women feel guilty about having them which is ludacris.

Anyhow if you do have a big chest or you have extra weight around the tummy please avoid horizontal stripes or for that matter even sometimes verticle stripes looks bad (just matters). I dont think you have to avoid work around the neck or on the top as long as their is work on the bottom edges it all balances each other out or if there is all around work you should be fine. Certain patterns or prints look good all over because it can camofaluge any problem areas you may have from bigger arms to a wide waist.

Also I don't think you have to be stick thin and flat to look good in a salwar kameez I mean have you seen the actresses of yesteryears? Recently I watched an old Saira banu film (her first) and then I watched a comedy that came later in the 70s and she gained a lot of weight from when she first started. Did she look good, yup. Madhuri gained weight for dil to pagal hai did she look good ...yup. Hema Malini was and still is a lot more stunning than her daughter who has always been a much smaller side and being as thick as hema malini was she was just fine. Madhubala, thick as well where as nargis was thin as a rail, and to me I just took to madhubala's features better. Priety and Kareena's weight used to be that they'd start a movie chubby and end lighter and did they look cute ...YES.

Do we remember how bottom heavy actresses like sri devi and kajol and rekha are? Do they look nice in salwar kameez, yes. I don't mean to be rude but what do people assume a chubby girl is suppose to wear to desi functions?

shalwar kamiz is something which looks good on EVERYONE.. regardless of your figure.

Re: Shalwaar kameez on chubby girls

^ i have to agree with this...altho short kameezan are not always flattering for apple shaped ppl---but no worry b/c that trend is out!

Standard kameez length, standard shalwar and TAILORING!

what shay said. the fitting is most important.

Desi_Beautii,

You can play around with the color, style, and print of the fabric to create a more slimming look. For example, darker colors always create a slimming look, especially BLACK…and colors like navy blue, dark brown, dark purple, etc. Lighter colors such as white, light pink will make a big person look bigger.

Also pay attention to the print of the fabric. You want to stay away from horizontal designs and patterns. For example, horizontal stripes make people big people look wider. You should buy fabrics that have VERTICAL stipes/patterns/designs…because this makes you look slimmer and also elongates your body so that you will look taller as well.

Now let’s talk about galas (collar shape). Stay away from collars that are too high and sit close to the base of your neck. Instead you should design your kurtas with deep cut collars. And you should design your kurtas with a deep cut square shape gala or a V-shaped gala. These two shapes are known to create a slimming look. Even t-shirts with a square or v-shaped neck are more slimming. Propper fitting of kurta is important. You don’t want something too tight and you don’t want something so loose.

Slim girls and chubby girls wear the same clothes. They both wear jeans, dresses, skirts. But it’s ALL about finding the type of design that works well for your body. And it’s also about the overall look. For example, if one is on the heavy side…then it’s NOT a good idea to cut your hair really short…because that makes the body look rounder. It’s better to to keep the hair longer with stylish layers, for example. So, even hair style can help to create a slimming look.

Even jewelry and makeup play a role too. You mentioned small eyes. Well, you can make your eyes look bigger by applying light colored eyeshadows. Then, apply eyeliner to the upper lid and apply a coat of mascara as that will open up your eyes more. Lining the inner rim of your lower eyelid with white pencil will also make your eyes appear bigger. Jewelry not only helps to complete a look, it also brings one’s attention away from the body/figure. Have you tried BIG HOOP earrings? They are sooo flattering and outgoing and suit most faces and figures. Even long chandelier earrings are very flattering and help to make a body appear longer.There is nothing wrong with wearing shoes that have bigger heels to appear taller, girls do that all the time.

Lastly, it’s all about confidence. A chubbier girl with confidence and positive/friendly attitude will be more sexy than a skinny girl with zero confidence and a stinky attitude. Carry yourself with confidence no matter what you are wearing and smile…trust me it makes a difference. And realize that nobody is perfect. Even skinny girls are not perfect. One can be skinny and tall and have big eyes…and also a HUGE NOSE. Everybody has something positive in their features. And it’s good to play up the positive features. Do you feel you have pretty lips? Then define them with lip gloss! Do you feel that you have beautiful clear skin? Then play that up. Do you feel that you have beauiful hair? Then style it to your advantage! Do you feel you have a nice nose? Then go ahead and pierce it! Maybe you have nice eyebrows? Go ahead and define them! Everyone is different and its not only about weight, height, and eyes.

Sorry, for the long post. But I hope that it helped. I have posted two links that have clothing tips according to body type and it also advises on what style of desi clothes are best for each body shape.
http://www.shaadiadvice.com/index2.php?view=dynamicPage&pageId=40&PHPSESSID=6dd1c88a4e7373454526d92ade68f280

http://www.mystiqueasia.net/fadsnfashion/index.htm