how to make shaljam gosht ??? ![]()
Easy Peezy... same as aaloo gosht.
Boil the turnips and throw away the water before you add them turnips to the meat saalan.
FF, wouldn't you be throwing away all the nutrients with the boiled water?. Why not add boiled shaljams together with water. I have done it and it works great.
And it stinks too. Mum boils them to get rid of that stench.
Shlajams stink? those cutie gondloos???...no way. They are as sweet as golden apples. You have to peel them off and cook them with TLC (tender, love and care).
We are both talking about turnips right? With the slightly purple/pink skin???
Yes, we are. Don't be a thipper.
What about the bit about adding sugar? Isn't the dish a little sweet?
I have yet to learn how to make this one.
FF, okie will get rid of the stinky boiled water...what after that...
FG, will prepare some soup or something and feed it to goras telling them this is authentic desi soup :-S
hayaa...recipe please
Ok, I'll ask me mom.
From what I recall Funguy is right, its the same as making meat n potaoes. I’m not sure where sugar comes into it, prolly another method of making it or the turnips are sometimes a lil sweet but errm its best when you mix your roti with it drool ok i’m hungry now.
thanks coco…will give it a try this weekend with exactly same process as of aloo-gosht
hayaa…official recipe ke liye still waiting :halo:
if you have aloo ghosht's recpie then use it and instead of aloo shaljum daal kar bana laeeN :-)
Add water, onion, ginger, garlic, salt ,pepper, turmeric powder and corriander powder and cook till the meat is well done. You shouldnt have a lot of liquid left. Add ground tomatoes/tomato sauce and oil and bhoonofy. Add the pre boiled (half boiled) turnips cut into wedges and bhoonofy some more. Add water and cook a bit till the turnips are well done. Leave enough gravy so you have enough of it to generously soak ur naan or roti.
thanks Mehroo jee and FF ![]()
will let you know kaisa bana tha agar zinda raha to ![]()
Oh Daagh bhaijaan, abb bana bhi dau yaar. Shaljam gosht naa hua haathi kay paavay haugaye.
Okie people i finally made Shaljum Gosht last night ![]()
and it turned out too good…mere housemates and mein still zinda ![]()
well I used the following process ![]()
oil mein garam masala then ginger-garlic and onions then saute’d them and then added the other powder masalas like corriander, turmeric, jeera, chillies and stuff then added gosht and let it cook for 15-20 mins then added shaljum and tomatoes and let it cook for another 15-20 mins…and it was all done ![]()
thanks all ![]()
sighhzz.. i,ve always hated turnips, dont know why.