Shahrukh Launches Website Finnaly SRK World

For the patient fans of srk,real official srk site is constructed ,to be officially launched to -morrow morning after all night roudy part with the shah!

Search the Internet
          Tips

‘We have no imminent plans of going public’

Shah Rukh Khan’s luck is finally changing. It began when his latest
release, Mohabbatein, did rather well at the box office, despite the
challenge posed by the Hrithik Roshan-starrer Mission Kashmir.

And, now, he has finally launched – after many delays – his
much-awaited website, srkworld.

Promoted by Aryan Informatics (I) Private Limited, a company he has
floated along with long-time friend and business partner Juhi Chawla,
this website promises to be an industry showcase, apart from being
Khan’s official site.

“Rather than a personal website,” demurred Khan, “I feel that this is a
platform wherein the film industry can synergise completely and provide
users with the kind of information and pictures that are not found
anywhere on the Net.”

In a long-drawn presentation, where he led select guests through the
website page-by-page, Khan began with a long explanation about how this
was not “a megalomaniac’s venture into self-promotion, but also a
convergence of talent and business resources that have been pooled in
from various people and organisations.”

Some of these organisations include Tips Music, Venus Music and Dreamz
Unlimited. Talks are currently on to get software giants Microsoft and
Compaq involved in the venture.

The business plan, formulated and moulded by B4U’s Kishore Lulla and
Bharat Shah, states that revenues will be garnered via advertising,
merchandising and publicity. Shah feels that this is a winning
proposition all the way “since the Internet is the next big thing. And
who better than Shah Rukh Khan to promote the film industry in such a
big way?”

Lulla revealed that, though about $ 1 million has already been sunk into
the project, they hope to break even within six months. The investors’s
confidence seems to stem from the fact that an idea of this magnitude
has not been explored, let alone implemented, before. They are, in fact,
ready to invest up to $100 million in the venture – “Whatever it takes”
being the motto.

But the strategy they are following is to start small before they go
international in a big way. “We will focus on branded merchandise that
will be given away on special schemes and contests on the site. We are
looking at the Asian market as a whole, because China, Korea, Singapore
and markets like these are huge in terms of volumes,” said Khan.

Branded merchandise, a new concept to India, has already been created
and will be available the site. There include clothes designed by film
stars, high-quality stationery with photos of Shah Rukh Khan on it,
posters, autographed snaps and trinkets.

When asked whether the site, with these kind of give-aways, focused only
on the younger generation, Khan vehemently denied it. “The entertainment
industry in India is the biggest binding factor in all our lives. It
cuts across boundaries of location, culture and language and appeals to
people of all ages as well.”

The big bucks, said Shah, was expected to flow in from the NRI market
where Hindi cinema has a strong and growing influence.

The company has started with a big bang but, with the huge shakedown in
the dotcom scenario, what of its future?

“The shakedown, as it were, is affecting people who were in the business
to launch, go public, collect cash and disappear. We’re here to stay –
and we have no imminent plans of going public,” said a confident Khan.
“But you can never tell. For all you know, this could turn out to be a
very carefully thought-out bad decision!”
Do tell us what you think of this report

bheyee this Shahrukh Khan website has been on for a while now. I remember Shahrukh saying www.srksworld.com many times. I visited this it right after when he mentioned it!

Ali beta,you are right but in to-days rediff,they keep saying launched TO-DAY!!
http://www.rediff.com/entertai/2000/nov/14box.htm

Komal Nahta
More and more of our stars are getting into alternate businesses. By
alternate, I mean business which have nothing to do with the stars’s USP
– acting.

Today, for example, Shah Rukh Khan launched srkworld.com. This, though,
was not his first business venture. Earlier in the year, his production
company (in tandem with actress Juhi Chawla and director Aziz Mirza),
Dreamz Unlimited, released its debut film, Phir Bhi Dil Hai Hindustani.
The company also makes ad films.

Another actor who has proved very technology-savvy is Ajay Devgan. He is
seriously contemplating starting a B-to-B portal with his wife, Kajol.
So, while Shah Rukh’s portal exploits the fun side of entertainment,
Ajay and Kajol’s portal will look at its business side. Ajay, meanwhile,
has already set up a production and distribution company called Devgan
Entertainment Private Limited.

Anil Kapoor has also entered the field of film production. Of course,
father Surinder and brother Boney have always been making films, but
Anil’s chosen to walk his own path. He’s formed a new company, called
Kapoor and Kaushik Entertainment Pvt Ltd, with Satish Kaushik. They have
already started shooting for their first venture – Badhai Ho Badhai.

Sunil Shetty is yet another actor known to possess a sharp business
acumen – everyone knows about his Mischief boutiques and restaurants.
Now, Sunil and some of his friends have floated a company called Popcorn
Entertainment. It is into event management in a big way and is also
building a multiplex in Powai, Bombay. We are sure this is only the
beginning though; after all, Sunil definitely has plenty of dynamic
ideas up his body-hugging tee shirt sleeves.

Aamir Khan, who believes in doing only one thing at a time, completed
his acting assignments before he began working on his first film as
producer. Lagaan is now being readied for a May release.

Hrithik Roshan, of course, is drowning in offers of product endorsement
– so much so, it’s almost become his new business! And a very, very
profitable one too!

As for Amitabh Bachchan, it took the debacle of several films (post-Hum)
and the collapse of Amitabh Bachchan Corporation Limited before he
realised a great actor need not necessarily be a great businessman. In
his attempt to revive ABCL, the Big B agreed to host a game show on the
small screen. And, boy, did he succeed!!! Rumours have it that Abhishek
too is planning something similar to resurrect his career. Just kidding
– about the Bachchan kid, that is!

Sunny Deol tried his hand at direction, but burnt his fingers badly. The
guy is now back with his first love, acting.

Dimple Kapadia is into making candles, but that could be because she is
out of work. And the way things are going, daughters Twinkle and Rinke
could join her and make it a family business. Father Rajesh Khanna is,
of course, now busy with his small screen appointments.

Govinda too has joined the game show bandwagon by agreeing to host one
for Sony. Keeping in mind his habit of reporting late on the sets, Sony
might be forced to telecast today’s show tomorrow. But, knowing Sony’s
efficiency, we’re sure they’ll keep standby shows ready. Jokes apart,
Govinda, like Ajay Devgan, tried his luck at distribution. While Ajay’s
company released several hits in Bombay (Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam,
Refugee), Govinda wasn’t as lucky.

Anupam Kher and Manisha Koirala have also succumbed to the television
mania. But we’d rather not reiterate the fact that they are making a
hash of hosting Sawal Dus Crore Ka. Anupam has also announced his plans
to get into full-time direction.

Mithun Chakraborty, of course, is minting money through his hotel
business in Ooty. After all, he makes sure all his producers shoot in
Ooty. But, as his hotel rakes in the profits, his films simply don’t.

Jackie Shroff proved a smart investor when he invested his money in Sony
Entertainment Television. The success of the channel is showing in
Jackie’s balance sheet too, which, otherwise, looked none too healthy.
He too has launched a production company that is looked after by his
wife, Ayesha.

Danny Denzongpa too has business interests, but they are not even
remotely connected with the industry.

Which just goes to show that, all in all, we have a very dynamic set of
stars in the industry.

How the movies fared at the box office last week

Ratings based on box office collections and cost of the film

RatingFilmProduction HouseVerdictPosition Last WeekNo Of Weeks Since
Release1MohabbateinYash Raj FilmsAbove average to hit (Superhit
overseas)132KurukshetraTime MoviesAverageNewNew3Mission KashmirVinod
Chopra ProductionsAverage (Above average
in Bombay)234Jis Desh Mein Ganga Rehta HaiQuest FilmsFlop (Fair in
Bengal)355AaghaazSuresh ProductionsAverage in some circuits,
losing in others766FizaThe Culture Co; UTV Motion PicturesAbove average
in Bombay; average to losing in most other circuits (Initial was
overwhelming)6107DhadkanVenus Records & Tapes LtdGood in Bombay,
Maharashtra8138Hamara Dil Aapke Paas HaiS K Films EnterprisesAbove
average in Bombay, hit in Gujarat, losing to average in the rest of the
country9129Dhaai Akshar Prem KeInderjeet Films CombineDisaster5710
ShikariKavita PicturesDisaster

Komal Nahta edits the popular trade magazine, Film Information.

Earlier column

Do tell us what you think of this column

: News: Newsmakers: Shahrukh
   "I think I am a nerd. A complete geek!"
By Priya Ganapati
India.CNET.com
November 14, 2000
The convergence began in school. And it seems to have become a way of
life for superstar Shah Rukh Khan. The young Khan set up a little play
(“my first acting assignment”) to raise funds to buy his school a
computer. Ever since then, Khan has had two loves: acting and
technology.

Today, if you ask him how tech savvy he considers himself to be--on a
scale of 1 to 10--he grins: “Twenty-seven!”

The man who just set up an entertainment portal finds words like B2B,
B2C, convergence and broadband rolling easily off his tongue. The
superstar, incidentally, is now also the chairman of two companies:
Dreamz Unlimited, a movie production house, and Aryan Informatics
Private Limited, the latest venture that owns srkworld.com.

At a glitzy party on Tuesday, Khan unveiled srkworld.com, which he says
is an entertainment portal targeted at the South Asian and NRI
communities. The site will gravitate towards e-commerce by selling star
merchandise, movies, and music online. It will also build star sites for
the likes of Juhi Chawla (Khan’s partner in both, Dreamz Unlimited and
Aryan Informatics), Anil Kapoor, Rani Mukherji and Namrata Shirodkar.

This places Khan squarely in the ‘businessman’ category, his third hat.
He already likes to wear two hats--apart from being a super-successful
actor, he considers himself a technology freak. An avid surfer, the
charismatic Khan is reported to carry his laptop to the sets, where he
surfs the Net between shots. The actor claims to browse the Web for
about three hours everyday.

Khan was one of the few actors who launched an official Web site,
shahrukhonline.net, long before the trend caught on in Bollywood. "I
have been very involved with my sites. Even with srkworld.com, I spent
two or three hours everyday working on the project," Khan says.

He is quick to agree knows that dot-coms have taken a beating in the
last few months and revenues and profits have become more important than
eyeballs. Khan says srkworld.com will soon offer broadband and streaming
services. Srkworld.com, he says, has also tied up with music companies
like Tips and Venus to sell music cassettes online. "We will soon
introduce a section where users can download just one song and pay for
it, or cut their own CDs," he adds.

"Today, no one has the perfect business model for a dot-com. No one even
knows if dot-coms are here to stay or will succeed. We are launching a
portal but we do not have all the answers. Maybe we will succeed, maybe
we will not. But if we don’t succeed, it won't be because of lack of
trying. For all we know, this venture might turn out to be a carefully
thought out bad decision," Khan says.

At the launch of srkworld.com, Khan spoke to India.CNET.com's Priya
Ganapati about how technology impacts him professionally and personally.

India.CNET.com: What makes srkworld.com different from an exercise in
personal vanity by a Bollywood superstar?
Khan: Srkworld.com is not just about Shah Rukh Khan. One man does not
make a product anymore. Just as the industry realizes that a single
person cannot make or break a film, it will realize that we need to work
together to build something. Srkworld.com will be a complete
entertainment portal and will try and bring together stars from the
Hindi film industry on one platform. I have been very involved with this
site. For the last few months, I have packed up from my shoot at
6.30-7.00 pm and spend two to three hours helping out on the project.

But it is also a very professional exercise. We have Microsoft and
Compaq as our technical associates. We are hosting on Exodus, which
provides the best hosting servers in the world. And we are talking with
Hathaway, which provides Internet access through cable. Once the
alliances come through, we will provide video on demand and pay-per-view
features on the site.

Professionally, what does technology mean to you?
I believe our films are the best in the world and this is not just
because I am a part of this industry. But, when it comes to technology,
we lag behind. In the west, they have different lenses for every
conceivable situation. Lenses for special effects, lenses for a
particular location, lenses for a particular type of lighting… They have
things like sync sound that are only now being used in the Hindi film
industry, like in Aamir Khan's film Lagaan.

How are you trying to change this?
At Dreamz Unlimited, I have tried to provide the best technology. I am
trying to make films that are technically superior or on par with those
shot abroad. That was the basis on which we set up Dreamz Unlimited. And
that is my way of trying to bring high technology to the Hindi film
industry.

Personally, how involved are you with technology?
I think I am a nerd. A complete geek. Anything that has even a little
bit of technology built into it fascinates me. Even the smallest and
mundane bits of technology fascinate me. I just got hold of a cigarette
lighter that makes some kind of noise when it lights up, and I found
that fascinating. I love fax machines, telephones, computers… in fact
any kind of gizmo. Jay Mehta (actress Juhi Chawla's husband) has just
given me these new headphones and I like them.

My laptop travels with me all the time. And I used to surf the Net a
lot. In fact, while I was looking through all the Web sites on the
Internet, I realized that people who are not involved with the Hindi
film industry have created most of the Hindi film sites out there!
That's how I decided to set up a platform like srkworld.com and bring
together people from the industry to build a site that would give users
all the information and entertainment they need.

On a scale of 1 to 10, if you had to rate how techno savvy you are, what
would you give yourself?
I would be a 27!
Quick Facts
Filmography
More Newsmakers

Top Tech NewsBT to sell India assets if partners buy
Orissa govt to set up corporation to facilitate infotech sector activity

Compaq adds management software for servers

What's in a domain name?

India, Brazil sign e-MoU

India | International

News Daily Dispatch
News Weekly Dispatch
Software Dispatch
Hardware Dispatch
CNET Gamebuzz

Services: Tech news · Software reviews · Games · Hardware guides · Free
newsletters · Expert opinions
Other CNET sites: CNET.com " Singapore.CNET.com " Malaysia.CNET.com "
Hongkong.CNET.com " Taiwan.CNET.com
   Home | Corrections | How to advertise | Support | Contact Us | About
UsBack to topJoin us, we're hiring
Copyright © 1998-2000 Asiacontent.com. All rights reserved. Privacy
Policy.
Copyright © 1995-2000 CNET, Inc. All rights reserved.