Shahid Afridi - Test Watch

I really like this guy as he contributes in all three departments of the game. I just wish he improves on his batting temperament and time spent at the crease. If he can stick around for 30 to 40 minutes and settle in he can really change the complexion of the match - Gilchrist style.

I like the positive energy he brings to the team but can he be a little more carefull with hsi shot selection. The ball he got out in Sydney could have been placed anywhere in the field but he picked a fielder in the deep.

He gota chance in tests after 2 and a half years, and see what he did?

There is no doubt that he has what it takes to be a decent batsman. The guy has a good solid defence, and thats pretty much all thats required to build your batting skills on.

It would have been great for Pakistan had we been able to convert him into a Gilchrist or a Jayasuriya....but, the truth is at the end of the day he's an Afridi, the guy lives to his name.

Bycott, Miandad, Woolmer, Pybus...sab samjha samjha ke thak...

I like Afridi too but its so frustrating watching him play. His downfall is he tries to hit every ball for a six and that screws him up. Hes a good bowler and this adds extra strength to our attack but the guy needs to be more patient with his batting. You can't pi$$ around when you're up against an Australian bowling attack.

no matter what he does .. i love him cuz he does what he thinks hes best at … i like rebels :smokin:

he electricutes the spectators and with same style frustrates them … lol
hes unique

I wont come hard on him that he shouldnt have hit the ball on which he got out. That ball was there for the taking but he chose the worst possible spot. Yes he likes to play aggressively and he was doing that but he picked the fielder as ball hit high on the bat.

Re: Shahid Afridi - Test Watch

I didnt see him using his off-spinner at all. I wonder why? It was pretty damn effective in onedayers. Is he saving it for VB series ya karana hee bhool gaya itnay din mai?

ANother thing I noticed about SHahid is that he seems to be in some sort of a rush. Doesn't think while bowling (or batting) and rushes through the proceedings. He needs to look around and learn from other greats such as Shane Warne who takes all the time to think. Shahid has so much potential but no proper education (or training of any sorts) to make him a fruitful cricketer. What a shame.

The very fact that most of us have a soft corner for Afridi as a "test player" shows the level to which our test cricket has fallen. This guy is an entertainer and is a handy ODI player. Since he has proven times and again that he is not gonna improve via feedback, he should not have been considered for test cricket.

However, me included, most people believe that he is better than other available choices such as the Razzaqs and Ranas. This depicts the sorry state of Pakistan cricket.

i still say he's better than all those losers who will stay for a 50-60 balls and score 10 runs....
even if he goes early he manages to get 10 runs off 5-6 balls....

he's a must have for ODIs and if worked with properly, he can be a great utility players for tests....

if he learns anything from others, he wouldn’t be “Shahid Afridi” anymore.

Afiridi is a usefull cricketer to be sure. I think he is a great one day player, with Shaoib Malik not allowed to bowl anymore, Afridi will be hube for our one day team in the near future.
As a test player, I'm just not sure. His fielding is a bonus, but he can't really get many wickets as a spinner and his batting probably is'nt much more usefull than a tail enders in a test (expecially on a bouncy pitch)

I think that as a bowler he has improved a lot and his record shows that. To say that he doesnt think while bowling is rather unfair towards him because he has outsmarted quite a few players by his bowling since his comeback. His performance in this test shouldnt alone define his bowling.

i'm glad that he scored a quick 46 runs in the 2nd innings....

his bowling is not bad....
not many bowler got wickets in this test match anyway....
but he can be a match winner just by his fielding.....

This should cement his place for the next few years.

Infact with lack of any decent players Pakistan, this should cement his place for thr next 10 years.

Aalsi jee kya baat hai cement kee dukan hai app kee kya?

Aray ji, cement mai bohat paisa hai...especially in prosperous country like India where there are high rise building and outsourcing centres being erected all over the country. :)

Talking about cement, Pakistani players should made to stand in a bucket of cement/mortar until it dries up and drowned in Lyari river. :)

well, one of my fav. awesome person
as a cricketer... he is good in one day....
can make some runs quickly [if only 25 of 18 balls its good]
very good in bowling and one of the best fielders pak. have ever produced