Shahbaz Sharif vs Doctors

Re: Shahbaz Sharif vs Doctors

I acknowledge one thing that YDA shud not stop work in emergency deptt and ICUs where the crititcal patients are and actually they didn't till the gov started arresting them, they still shud work there even if government cracks down.

However, its mighty hypocritical and selfish of all those of you who trying to ride and moral high ground. It pisses me off to see that people want to judge doctors by different standards. Rest of you can screw up, neglect, delay or do all the rubbish to cause discomfort to anyone bcoz you are not doctors. But since the medical profession holds higher standards, they shud not. So gimme a break, you will get the same type of people as doctors as you people are as society.

Rest of us don't know how to resuscitate.

sigh..that is how clueless everybody is about what really is happening. It’s not about the money but rather a service structure which every other profession has. Comparing with NHS, doctors in Pak are paid peanuts but that is another story.

For 3 years they have been silent protests, nobody gave a heed. Each time the doctors would go on a strike, the media would jump at the opportunity and bash them. The govt would promise a service structure and the drs would go back to work. No promises fulfilled things are the same.

Everybody is working on a contract basis for more than 90 hours per week. People stay in one grade for 4-5 years despite having done their postgraduations and there are no promotions. There are no benefits what so ever. In surgery during housejob there are complete ward weeks where a doctor is supposed to stay there for 8 days.

All they demand is a stable structure where they are properly inducted and regularized and the promotions into next grades is done on merit and experience on a fixed interval without having sifarshi taking seats.

Now coming to the strike. The OPDs were symbolically shut down. In the emergencies doctors were treating even those who had come for the outdoors. In the 14 days of strike there were no casualties and doctors were working day and night. And then out of nowhere Govt decides to do a crackdown and arrests doctors ON DUTY? and beats up female doctors? Imagine that in the UK :no:

And the funny part is the police actually arrested my med school 3rd year 4th year **students **who weren’t even doctors, at 3 am ..barging in their hostels…females and males alike

WHAT kind of behaviour is that ..is that humane or do the doctors do not come under the definition of being human? If after all of this, the ridicule, the beating up, the constant bashing by the media and general public alike..who would have the heart to continue to work? And lo and behold even when they are working, they are being arrested and beaten up for nothing …wow

each time a death occurs media starts highlighting that saying there were no doctors. They kept flashing breaking news about how a 17 year old kid died in the hospital because there were no doctors. when interviewing the father, it turns out there was no oxygen cylinder in the hospital. doctors were there and kept doing CPR but the kid didnt make it.

^ the media is over sensationalizing the issue, at the end of the day it's the mishandling of this issue by the current regime.

PTI should stand with the doctors on this issue as their demand for service structure is just, the government is clearly lying here (for the past four and a half years with the doctors and now the public at large by posting false figures of the salaries they claim they are paying the doctors).

blah blah blah
screw the leeches or YDA.

yes without the reason screw the leeches or YDA or doctors ..kill them, hang them publicly to death. for what reason? do you have any?

I say arrest all the non-doctor community and put them behind bars…what for ..oh let’s say they are all horrendously fat and ugly :rolleyes:

that is how the public is being at the moment. Gilani said if 1/3rd ppl of Pak want to leave why don’t they …and everybody was appalled. The funny thing is in this entire episode na A B C pata hai k what’s going on and everybody else is remarking the same ‘why don’t these doctors leave then’ LOL..ironic aint it !

rant over.

First of all I'd say that smoke would be where the fire is, I have remained part of government service for a number of years and I know exactly how difficult it is to survive the whole month on the salary that you receive (especially grade 17/18 where most of the peoples spend their whole lives) that's the biggest reason for people going towards bribes. A small family of four people living on one salary in a rented house is impossible, and upon that most of these doctors have been employed on contract (that means no proper mechanism for getting promotions).

Over the years disparity between the salaries of doctors and other professionals has increased exponentially ( like a doctor having 4-5 years experience is getting 43000 or something and a SDO working in Wapda is earning facilities and salary close to 70000). At the end of the day we need to keep in mind that the doctors are also humans and they also have needs, besides if the doctor is worried about how he is going to spend the remaining part of his month can he concentrate on his job? The government should stop exploiting its people and do a realistic analysis of what the salaries of doctors should be considering the salaries are being paid to their equivalents in other professions.

What Ali said.

So let me get this straight... the media is lying and not a single death has occurred in the country because of the absence of medical staff? Not one?

I agree with you. Inflation is kind to none. Doctors should be paid handsomely so that they could serve the masses with full concentration. But I am not sure if the YDA has choosen the right method of registering their grievances. At the end of the day, someone must stand responsible for those who die for want of medicle treatment until doctors get a pay raise.

I was also wondering what will happen if we are in the middle of a war and soldiers go on strike to get a pay raise… :hmmm:

Government should stop exploitation of people, as far as the doctors are concerned they are asking the government to end the disparity between their salaries and their peers for the good part of the past four years but time and again the government has demonstrated that they don't care. Another interesting thing to note is that the people calling foul now are the ones who have shown these kids this way through the judiciary movement.

Young doctors in Punjab are already getting the heftiest paychecks as compare to their peers in other provinces who do not go on strike biannually.

Applicable to doctors as well :k:

^ that's wrong, when the doctors in other provinces started their strike the governments raised their salaries. See the previous post in which a yda guy is showing his pay slip and he is earning 44000 after 5 years and a doctor of balochistan is earning 48000. The government is lying in this issue and should have been clear by their claim that they are paying over 60000 to them.

See post 41.

but didnt these doctors violated their oath, by leaving unattended patients and refusing to treat them?

If a patient dies, while these doctors are on strikes, who will be held accountable for that?

It is sheer blackmailing that the more people die, the more pressure on the government will come. If the YDA did not get what it was promised a year ago, it should have launched a token strike first to bring the matter to public and media’s attention. Instead of going on strike en masse, YDA could have kept half of its members on job and half on strike to highlight their demands.

Call it service structure or pay raise, at the end of the day it’s all monetary at the cost of human lives. If you are a doctor and refusing treatment until you are adequately paid, you are actually setting your priorities on wrong values. An en masse protest of clerks, engineers and pilots is not as fatal as an all-out protest of doctors. Sanctity of a human life is holier than any service structure.

That is true, it is like people in Pakistan join police force to make money and that is why the performance of Police is what it is today, later they blame that the salaries of police is not enough to meets the end, bhai sahib didn't you told the salary before you joined it...

Same is with the doctors, mostly they become doctor because then you have more chances to make money in and out of Pakistan, once you are a doctor then people are at your mercy and most doctors in Pakistan normally do not treat patient if the patient is unable to pay their fees, they let them die... this strike by the doctor is the same thing, they say, they won't treat people until they get the rise in Pay... if people suffer then let it be... we are doctors and educated ones and we need everything which includes, a car with a driver, a house and hefty pay rise etc etc in the name of service structure....

Are you saying that Pakistanis in the West don't choose this profession for money but because "they want to serve humanity"?!
This is quite an obnoxious comment.

Remember that as much as you despise people in Pakistan, you are still a part of Pakistan. If you think that in some ways you are better than Pakistanis then you should be thankful to the goray Westerners for it.