Shaharyar Khan expresses concern over too many Pak-India matches

Shaharyar Khan, the Pakistan Cricket Board chairman, has added his voice to those expressing concern over the number of international fixtures, warning that more matches could lead to player burnout and dwindling interest. He said he was particular worried about too many games against India.

“We are going to be very careful and selective on the number of matches we play against India, especially at off shore venues,” he told Reuters…

**Those comments appear to clash with the views held by the Indian board, who earlier this month sold media rights for off-shore matches for $217 million, with fixtures against Pakistan being key to the appeal of those. **

“Every corner of the world wants to host India and Pakistan matches but for us finance is not the only consideration,” Shaharyar said. “We will be very selective about our future matches with India at off-shore venues. We have already told them we don’t want to play at neutral venues in the year we play a bilateral series.”

SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/245000.html

I would like to say that these comments not only clash with the views of the Indian Board but also with Shaharyar Khan’s own statement, which he gave couple of months ago:D
Check out his comments and the whole cricinfo article below from Jan '06

Concerns were expressed recently - by both the Indian and Pakistan boards - that an overkill of matches between the traditional rivals might induce viewer fatigue, and with these announcements, it seems likely that the number of times both countries meet every year will remain high. Shaharyar, however, was insistent that it was not so: “A balance has been struck between not playing too often and playing every two years. It will whet the appetite of the two countries - we have played over 20 times in two years which is too much. It is still a popular rivalry.** I don’t think this is too frequent. Indications from sponsors are that they remain very keen and it is us who are holding them back from demanding more matches.”**
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/233035.html

Shahyar Khan gave that ^^ statement during a meeting of heads of cricket boards of India-Pakistan, back in Jan 2006. During that very same meeting, it was decided to arrange matches between Pakistan and India at offshore venues.
*Why the hell he is now raising his concerns about frequent Pak-India encounters when couple of months ago he himself said that it is not frequent and during that same meeting he himself decided with his India counterpart to arrange bilateral ODI series on neutral venues. *

Re: Shaharyar Khan expresses concern over too many Pak-India matches

Very true Fkhan bhai,
It is a clash of his own statements but for general public sakes and even for our team's sake, I believe the # of games against India should be limited for every other year rather than every year. If it's every year encounters, than some games should be alloted to foreign venues like US, Canada, Abu Dhabi or even Sharjah where both boards can cash in from the # of ex-patriots of both nations.
Umer

I think Shaharyaar Khan has way too much of the consumption of those luxurious air-conditioned first-class seats, freshly-prepared canteen foods wrapped in those birthday gift wrappers and the daily round-trip flights to almost anyplace around the globe with the touch of a button, not to mention the convenience of traveling anyplace with the National team. This burnout has caused him to go against his own statement. He needs to be at home, with his family* (Biwee bachay)*. Which then reminds me of this thread made by Some1 Jee yesterday.

Who’s next? The Curators? The Airlines?

Imagine this Jang Akhbar’s front-page news:

PIA kay kaptaanon nay garmee ki shiddat kay maaray bhook hartaal kar dee. Tafseelaat agley safhay pey…

warning that more matches could lead to player burnout and dwindling interest? I though Sharyar Khans' idea of playing with orange balls was stupid enough.I think they should do a survey of fans and find out how much interest they are losing watching India and Pakistan play every year.I think all these guys like Ramiz Raja,Sharyar Khan and a few others know nothing about marketing and business and got their jobs for nothing.If they were involved in baseball club or a soccer club and making such statements that fans are losing interest because Manchester United is playing too much or that New York Yankees are playing too much they would lose their jobs the next day.Cricket is like religion in India,and India vs Pakistan cricket is the biggest source of entertainment for people over there and here too,bigger than watching a bollywood movie...how could they lose interest?

The lack of gharailu biwee will do this to you. One day, all the desi biwian in the world will leave their disgruntled and dhokay-baaz shohar all alone, once and for all, and with that, we will be able to take a deep sigh of relief and be capable to enjoy the rest of our lives in harmony, watching regular once-a-week India/Pakistan buddhay-buddhay encounters and fixtures, writing one bhaari post after another, memorizing stats, burning CD's/DVD's whilst utilizing that much-needed hard drive space and putting it to a good use, and all those pretty things that once were banned from your chooti si dunya just because of the addition of that one extra person in your house.

• Logs Off and goes home empty-handed *

lol when will Shaharyar Khan understand that when BCCI wants them to play, they will play hehe, he doesnt get a say in the matter (only technically) :)

Yesterday he got rubbed on wrong side on SemiFinal of the worldcup thing, so he is just drawing lines for negotiation........ :-)

what do you mean? any news source?

I think India should keep playing ODIs against Pakistan (preferably everyday) until the head2head record is back in India's favor.

Seriously though, regardless of what the motive may have been - I agree 100% with Shaharyar Khan.

There was this time when India was losing matches against Pakistan consistently.. they lost for like 10 years in a row especially in Sharjah and Indian's Kapil Dev made a similar plea- that India should stop playing against Pakistan and India didnt play esp. when Waqar younis was in his peak form.. otherwise it would have been worse for India.. Right now I guess as far as ODI goes its like 60%-40% in Pak's favor.. had Kapil Dev not stopped it would have been like 80-20% in Pak's favor cuz the Indian team would never fight and give up and then put the blame on to Sharjah's crowd and Friday's namaz and similar useless stuff.. I guess Shehryar khan is afraid this time reverse can happen.

There was a thread regarding who will host WC final. Let me see if I can get that.. Following is one article regarding that India / Pak aren’t decided on who will host the WC 2011 final..

http://cricket.indiatimes.com/articleshow/1489694.cms

Here is the article
http://dawn.com/2006/04/20/spt6.htm
By Our Correspondent
ABU DHABI, April 19: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) are talking different languages over the issue of hosting semifinals and final of the World Cup 2011 if the four-nation Asian bid gets the nod from the game’s ruling body, International Cricket Conference (ICC), later this month.

Shaharyar M. Khan, the PCB chairman, recently claimed that Pakistan would host the final while India the semifinals.

But PCB chief’s claim was flatly refuted by BCCI secretary, Niranjan Shah, who while talking to media on Wednesday categorically stated that there was no such arrangement and the final decision on semifinals and final would be taken at an appropriate time if Asia won the right to host the World Cup.

This was not the first time that the PCB chief was snubbed for making tall claims since he was prone to issuing such statements without consulting the other side.

Meanwhile, the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council (ADCC) is planning to organise its first tri-nation tournament in September/October this year. This announcement was made by B.R. Shetty, president of the ADCC.

He expressed hope that India and Pakistan would participate in the competition along with one more team for which negotiations were under way with Australia.

“bagal mein chora, aur saray sher mein dhindhoor” :smack: wah ray Uncle Sherry, probably you want to be the next press secretary of Pakistan, I think he is a perfect case of bipolar disorder “Yes…No no no no… No…actually Yes!” :smack:

I think Shaharyar Khan was impressed by Some1's there here and felt compelled to issue the statement (thread's original post) :D