Shahadat ( Martydom) in Indian religions?

I read a Sikh scholar saying that there is no concept of ‘Shahadat’ in Hinduism. The reason behind that was Hinduism got superb flexibility and can accept ideas from other religions without any conflict. When there is no conflict, there are remote chances of martyrdom (sacrificing life for religion).

Sikhs and Muslims, on other hand, got concept of Shahadat in their faiths. Muslims right from Badr to Karbala and Sikhs due to execution of their gurus by Mughals.

Do you agree with this observation?

If thats true how come Lata ji sings :

aye mere vatan ke logon
zara aankh mein bhar lo paani
jo shaheed hue hain unki
zara yaad karo qurbaani

Is it borrowed from Muslims or it was already there in Hindu scriptures?

Re: Shahadat ( Martydom) in Indian religions?

In Hinduism, technically,violence is used as a last resort to resolution after all other means have failed. Examples in the Mahabharata, before the war which commenced, even Arjuna was brought down with doubts, attachment, sorrow, fear. That is when Lord Krishna instructs Arjuna how to carry out his duty as a righteous warrior and fight.
The concept of mother and motherland being more respectable than swarga was a part of Ramayana. Warriors who died in righteous battle were supposed to go to heaven directly since their sins were washed away with their blood. So brave soldiers sacrifices esp for their dharma and motherland are glorified. Don't know if it is anyway similar to the concept of martyrs.

what do you mean by Indian religions? Muslims are in India as well.

if you are talking about just Hundus or Sikhs, then yes, there is no concept of shahaadat because in Hinduism everyone can reach nirvana by going through multiple rebirths. Shahadat as we know it catapults you to the highest levels of Jannat. besides, the shohadaa are alive but we can not perceive their nature of life.

i have noticed that Hindus are bowrrowing concepts from Islam recently. like the concept of shahaadat, fatwa and divorce. previously, i believe, divorce wasn't an option.

laRkii jab sasuraal jaatii hai to phir vo mar kar hii us ghar se nikaltii hai. yeh kahaavat hai,

I think and those who are of the Hindu way of life can confirm that:

When a Women commits Satti on her Husbands Funeral Pyre, She in a way is considered a Martyr!

Martyrdom as being an act to earn a reward in afterlife may not be a concept in Hinduism, but martyrdom as a noble cause to sacrifice yourself for the betterment of others must be an honor.
I am sure that Rajiv Gandhi's assassin must be s martyr in the eyes of many. Also Gandhi ji's hunger strike would lead to death, given him the status of a martyr.

After hearing from you the concept of temporary Swarga and Narka, this explanation makes good sense. But if we see the history of Hinduism, are there actually any Dharma Yudhs?

By Indian religions, I mean all the religions (including Islam) being practiced in India (Indo-Pak now).

As far as borrowing of Divorce is concerned, I think its not as per Hindu religious laws, but they are civil laws borrowed from British Law. Till Mughal era (popularly known as 800 years Muslim rule), Hindus were not following divorce.

Isn't there concept of Veergati, which meant ticket to heaven ?

so whats Hindi word for Shaheed (Martyr)?

Yes. What I explained about those dying in battle going to swarga directly is the concept behind veergati.

I am sure, there were kings through out history who convinced there soldiers that they were fighting a dharmayudh. If they had not, there would not be so many Hero stones all over the country. They are present all over South India and other parts of India as well. But I don’t know if they exist in the Punjab region of both the countries, Rajasthan or Sindh. Muqawwee, have you come across these in Pakistan?
Hero Stones:
Hero stone is a memorial commemorating the honorable death of a hero in battle. Erected between the 3rd century BC and the 18th century AD, hero stones are found all over India. They often carry inscriptions displaying a variety of adornments, including bas relief panels, statues, and figures of carved stone. Usually they are in the form of a stone monument and may have an inscription at the bottom with a narrative of the battle. According to the historian Upinder Singh, the largest concentration of such memorial stones are found in the Indian state of Karnataka. About two thousand six hundred and fifty hero stones, the earliest dated to the 5th century, have been discovered in Karnataka.The custom of erecting memorial stones dates back to the Iron Age (1000 BCE–600BCE) though a vast majority were erected between the 5th and 13th centuries AD
Hero stone - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

There might some hero stones in Pakistan, but like other pre-Islamic remains, they are not well promoted.

This whole concept of Shaheed become controversial, when people refer to the local rulers who fought against invaders for their land. One person’s shaheed becomes rascal of other person.

BTW, I remember that Rana Sanga and Babar both used this dharma yudh and Jihad cards against each other.

I agree. The song is for those of all religions. Muslims and Hindus are not even mentioned in the song only Sikh, Gurkha, Marathi and madrasis are. Perhaps because they are thought to be the most sidelined. Muslim heritage of Taj Mahal and Urdu are as indian as the various forts and golden temple etc. I think Lata Ji often used Urdu and has praised noor jehan as her inspiration. Both were great friends before partition.

I agree with calypso. I don't think such a concept occurs.

devi ji aap ne to poora kacha chatha khol ke rakh dia Lata ji aur Noorjehan ki dosti ka :)

calypso can correct but I think it is discouraged and forbidden practice. It was never a recommended practice and was often misinterpreted and misused by greedy relatives. I do not even recall such a case in the news these days. Dowry murders may occur but satti is banned and outlawed as is dowry. There are many powerful widows in the epics. I think only in early times when women were powerful and it was age of truth they had ability to self burn themselves without fire did it occur but even then it was not something encouraged. The person called Sati after which it is named did not even immolate herself due to her husband's death but in rage that her father disrespected her husband.

Muqa bhai aap Shukar kijiye ke humne un dono ki interview videos Nahi post Kiya :) thoda off topic Ho jata. Aur waise bhi youtube video hi hai. If I find daily motion video I will post on another thread so u can watch both videos if u have not seen.

Shayad iss topic ke liye Ek aur thread kholna hoga in different section

Dhanu and the L.T.T.E ??? Bunch of thugs and bandits they were.They eliminated one of the most promising leaders, the world has ever seen.

Not even her family members consider her a martyr. A whore from Jaffna.... Indeed she is the prime reason the Tamils in North East Sri Lanka lost their claim on a separate motherland.After Rajiv's assassination,the L.T.T.E lost it's one time great supporter India and the logistical and other supports from India. :) . Happy that two days before the 18th anniversary of Rajiv's assassination,the entire L.T.T.E leadership along with their off-shoots were anhilated. Good riddance :) This world is a better place now.

:eek: Jaffna?

since there is no concept of shahaadat [as Muslims have], there is no word for it, as far as i know...at least i haven't heard the word ever on 'shudh Hindi' radio or TV broadcasts. they used the Arabic word that we use. the most famous name is:

Shaheed Bhagat Singh.