Shahab-III

http://www.dawn.com/2004/08/11/welcome.htm

Iran Test Fires New Ballistic Missile : TEHRAN, Aug 11: Iran today test fired a new version of its ballistic Shahab-3 missile, which was already capable of reaching U.S. forces in the Middle East and has since been upgraded in response to Israeli missile development. The Shahab-3, which Iran last successfully tested in 2002 before providing it to the elite Revolutionary Guards, is the country’s longest-range ballistic missile, with a range of about 810 miles. It has since been modified to improve its range and accuracy. Defense Minister Ali Shamkhani said last week that the modifications were in response to efforts by Israel to improve its own missiles. No details on the changes, including the new range, were provided. “The Defense Ministry conducted the field test today to assess the latest modifications as a result of research carried out on Shahab-3,” the radio said without elaborating if the test was successful. (AP/AFP) (Posted @ 22:15 PST)

[thumb=H]shahab_317338_8749596.JPG[/thumb]

capable of reaching U.S forces in the mid east? talk about dramabazi

^ Well, it helps cz US forces are right next door. They are probably even in the shelling range.

im waiting for a pre-emtptive steike from israelis or americans now:P

Sabi man they need something to fill those missiles with. Ghas ghoons bhar ker to nahi chala saktay. Unless they are capable of making nuclear chemical or biological warheads, those missles dont mean jack.

yeh bhi sahi hai lunatic bhaijaan, lekun how sure are you that Iran doesnt have capability to produce nuclear warheads. Can you say for certain that they do or dont possess the know-how ?

Can you say for certain that they do or dont possess the know-how

Hmmm thats anybodys guess, but from what i read a few weeks back, israel got 200 f-16i's from the US within the last two months. Now these planes are pretty decent bombers apart from being superb strike jets. Whether these were meant for taking out the nuclear reactors is still to be seen. However Iran has the advantage by having more than one nuclear reactor unlike Iraq, so they are in a much better shape.

Why Iran and why not Isreal?

http://www.dawn.com/2004/08/12/top12.htmTEHRAN,

Aug 11: Iran on Wednesday tested an upgraded version of its ballistic missile (Shahab-3), two weeks after Israel tested its Arrow II anti-missile missile, the official IRNA news agency reported.
Tehran fears Israel could strike its controversial nuclear programme, which Washington suspects is being used to covertly develop weapons. “The Israelis are trying hard to improve the capacity of their missiles, and we are also trying to improve the Shahab-3 in a short time,” Mr Shamkhani said, denying that the Islamic republic was working on a more advanced Shahab-4.

WON’T ABANDON N-PLAN: Coinciding with the test, Iran declared on Wednesday that threats to send its nuclear case to the UN Security Council would not make it drop its quest for peaceful nuclear technology.

The statement by President Mohammad Khatami came after US officials expressed growing confidence in recent days that international resolve was hardening to deal with Iran’s nuclear programme.
Washington says Iran wants to enrich uranium to bomb-grade levels. Tehran says it only wants to make low-grade enriched uranium for use in nuclear power reactors. "We don’t want our case to be sent to the United Nations.

We hope to resolve the issue through justifications and explanations," Khatami told reporters. “But if anyone wants to deprive us of our right (to peaceful nuclear technology) we and our nation would be ready to pay the price,” he added.