shadionline and mustansar hussein tarar

growing up, i read stuff by mustansar hussein tarar and found it interesting. never had a chance to meet the guy although.

Now seeing his interactions with guests on the shadionline show, I have come to the conclusion that the guy is essentially a pompous idiot.

never before have I seen a shows host berate its guests (weakest link being an exception) and engage with them in a demeaning manner.

he is dismissive towards his co-host, who is less of a co-host and more of a “choti” to him. they are defintely not equals.

if it has not happened yet, someone will tell him off on the show soon. It almos happened last night with a guy who seemed to be getting quite annoyed with the cross questioning.

Tarar also seems to suffer from incorrect stereotyping, when a guy mentioned that he wanted to marry someone from abroad because he wanted to move abroad, tarar asked him if he would be okay to be bossed around by his wife, because she will always say that hey I brought you abroad.

ofcourse his co-host- or choti is not the sharpest kinfe in the drawer either, yesterday when a guy mentioned that he is not concerned about how gori or kali his wife is, Alia jumped to the question that what if some african american wanted to marry him, tarar had to remind her that the girl being pakistani was still a requirement. Additionally complexion is a very different issue than race.

a few weeks ago, some guy who worked in family business and lived in a joint family system was questioned by tarar if he would be able to support his wife. the guy responded by saying that he does not really have many expenses since he is in a joint family system etc, tarar responded by saying “yes if you dont eat anything”.. okay Mr. tarar so not everyone is a published author like you and on Tv shows, and you may even question if one will truly be able to be financially able to be married, but lets be a little sensitive to people here.

And lastly, he is thick, he does not get what the guest is saying and starts asking idiotic questions.

I think that the hosts need to be changed, atleast Tarar, he needs to go, he is out of touch, and can not relate to the younger generation. What they need to do is bring a host who is younger but married, and one who is younger and unmarried. I think they tried this with the current team because the girl is single, but Tarar needs to go.

Re: shadionline and mustansar hussein tarar

the sad thing is that he comes across with a little more class than the other hosts on geo/ary/primetv shows.

Mr F i hear ya on this but lemi explain

im a fan of Mustansar Hussain Tarar btw

i was asking my dad the same thing, why the heck is he so rude with the participants coz even jus watching the program some of the questions seemed offensive n totally out of order, i was surprised the guys dint take em personally n were still answering him calmly

but khair.

dad brought up a very good point: that's the need of the program. he HAS to ask such questions in order to make sure that the guys have indeed thought abt all these things. and after all shadi questioning and shadi is no child's play and the candidates better have a good answer for all these questions.

and he's not thick at all. he's a hecka smart person. u can tell that just by the way he asks questions analyses answers and gives witty comebacks.

i like tarar saab's traditional style. his chubhtay huay questions make the program interestic, his practical and realistic approach keeps it real, and having him in the program adds some seriousness/sobriety and credibility to the program. some WAZAN. which is needed for a prog of this nature i reckon.

That show is Pathetic regardless of how hosts behave. Wanna be American/Indian dating show. They should stick to dramas where they are good at.

Given the fact that one has to be an idiot to show up on that show, I think they deserve more humiliation than what Tarar dishes out. I mean c'mon have u watched those 'introduction videos'?. A well grown up man in his early 30s posing on a bed with floral bedding with a suitcase size stereo on the night table! And then he will have his whole family saying good things about him;

the mother: mera putter khaalud (Khalid) barra farmaa bardaar tey naik hay. Mai iddey laee koi changi jee noo waikh raee aaaN

the dad (unshaven): Khalid beta umer may tau chota hay (it would make more sense if he adds an 'i' in that description) laikin isko shaadi kaa shoq hay (btw, the beta looks as if he is well past his 40).

Bhabi: May chaahoongi kay Khalid ki biwi zara parhi likhi hau kiunkay khalid khud metric paas hay

And don't you dare criticize Alia Shah... one reason I wanna watch that show.

i dont even know why i watched that show last nite, but then again it was like 2 am

hmm i didnt think he was rude atleast not in the parts i watched and i think its a good show cuz i am guessing they are successfully hooking ppl up

I find it funny when they have 22 yr old boys loking for potentials. Mum is always like...'is nu kee agg lagi ey?'

:hehe: @ FF’s mum.

agg mukaanay kay liyay hee tau wiya ker raha hay bechaara.

I agree with funguy. Those idiot contestants deserved to be treated with such humiliation or even worse.

lol. But really such young guys wanting to get married annoy the hell out of me. Get a life first guys! Study, get good jobs and then get married. Ugh.

PCG- he comes across with more class than who? I think there are some excellent hosts on ARY, PTV and Geo, and some may be lame, he is one of the lame ones.

Irem- I have read tarar's stuff, I liked reading his stuff, but I am not a big fan of his personality, or atleast his on show personna if it is an act.

Irem the guys were answering the questions calmly, which shows class on their part. The participants putting up with his rudeness does not make his rudeness right.

That may be the need of the program to ask questions, but there is a way to ask these questions. And he is thick, he does not understand sometimes what the guy is saying, and some of his comments are dripping with stereotypes that do not have a place on a show like this.

the questions can be intrusive and to investigate, but the show is not some thana. Tarar would have won many points if he had the tact to ask difficult questions in a tactful, civilized and respectful way. which he does not. Being a good author does not mean one is a good host.

funguy, on one hand I too am amused by the floral bedspread and the ghetto blaster on the night stand, but thats how those people live. the cheesy intro in this show in not different from the cheesy intro on that desi idol show "wannabees"

waisay you are right, kaafi characters aatay hain iss show parr..

tarar bhi rota ho ga, yaaar kahan ohans gaya aur kin say sarr phorr raha hoon.

and yes all these losers jackoffs want a gori, dubli patli, khoobsoorat wife who can cook everything.

The one thing that ticks me off the most is this;

"ladki hum-zaat honi chaahyay, mutlab hamaaray level ki zaat ho".

Oye khoti dey putra, jay inni demaands nay tey khud jaa kay lub lay

the father: ladki kaa khaandaani hona zaroori hay. Oye assee vee Butt honay aaN

Another thing I don't understand is that every guy is making 15,000 Rs per month at 21. Is this a normal payscale for an FA BA non-technical non-career degree earned individual at such a ripe age?. It doesn't make sense.

haha. One idiot who was FA pass or maybe even matric said he wanted a graduate wife without any compromise. When asked why the dire need especially since he was less educated than that the idiot said well she must be educated since she has to bring up the children!!!

FG I don't think 15 grands is a great big deal in Pak any more. Your visit is overdue.

Another weird thing (not so weird considering Pakistani culture) is that I have seen ONLY two girls appear as contestants in over a year worth of programming. I still remember one the girls who was from Faisalabad and she had restrictions on zaat khaandaan. She wanted someone who is better educated than herself. I believe she was BA. But she seemed like an uptight.

^ thats true but its not the hosts or the shows fault that pakistani cultures like that and i know alot of ppl who still beleive in zaat n all that crap even though they are like educated(especially in faisalabad or atleast thats all i know of)

:hehe: Very true

but you forgot the most used sentence by ammis of the guys

“biatey tu mairey aur bhee heen liken YEEE WALA sub sai farmabardar BACHA hai. Behen sai tu itnaaaaaaaaaa piar kerta hai k bus…”

and eligible girls watching the show think if there is some love left behind or not :slight_smile:

that is such a funny (read cheesy) show. I can never sit thru a whole episode without cracking up (esp. when those videos come on as FG aptly described hahaha!)

one thing that we always find funny is the jahez part - hum ko jahez naheen chahye but if the girls parents want to give her something then we don’t have a problem with that. It comes off as so Fake! :smiley:

And yes Aliya Shah is there to keep the guys glued. She serves no other purpose. A robot can say hamara number or e-mail address note kar lijiye and we’ll be back after the break :rolleyes:

Yeah but Tarar sahab robot ko “chair” (tease) tu nahi saktey na!

I enjoy Tarar's quipping of Aalia and also the way she takes it on the chin with a smile. Actually it's this quality of hers that appeals me the most. She is not liek every other desi host who takes such jokes seriously. It's all in ood humor.