Shadi Biya ki Rasmain

I have come across some weird ones
there are sooooooooooooooo many

like some i wasnt even aware of till the time i got married

Dadi amma had my bhai clean my shoe sole with his hanky before i left the house rukhsati walay din

it was so weeeeeeird
bhai went like ewwwwwww
but Dadi amma said no its Shugan

then there was this other one
when the dulhan leaves the mayoon ki peeri the girls run to sit on it
the one who sits on it first is the one who will get married next

got any weird ones?

What's up with these all shaadi bihah threads in cul forum these days?

Dadi amma had my bhai clean my shoe sole with his hanky before i left the house rukhsati walay din

Are you experimenting with composition styles again, Anchal? Take my word, it sucks.

Here’re two that i find particularly amusing.

First one where the women have to carry a karoli filled with water on their heads and walk around whilst other female guests sing galiyaN - can’t quite recall any of them, but one of them goes: ‘blah blah blah, karoli paryaY re’ It’s always really funny watching gore give us weird looks

The second custom is that of women shaking this stick thing over the grooms face. It’s like a small stick with all these glittery decorations attached to the end. They just turn it round and round over the guys head. Poor Guy

I’d love to know the meaning behind these.

The funniest one is when dulha says qabool hai, qabool hai, qabool hai...I mean come on! who r we kidding here!

When it was my rukhsati, I was given a hadnful of rice, uncooked, which I had to throw over and behind my head before I left my parents house.

When I got to the inlaws, they had put on the floor, cotton wool ki balls,from the threshold, right into the room where the chair was. I had to step on these when I firt walked into their house.

Oh yeah, and when the groom comes to get ya, there is a chair on which he is to sit. However the saaliyan sit on it first and wont get off it until he gives them a fair amount of money.

Umm, that`s about all I can remember.

Now that we are asking reasons, I have a rather common "Rasam" that I need an answer for.

When the 'Dulha' comes for Mahandi, why does he have to come under the "Dupata" I believe its of his elder bhabhi if he has one!

Secondly, when the Dulhan comes to Dulha's house, he is escorted in with another dupata held high up her head and also someone carrying Quran on her head. Any Islamic significance?

Do you think that the majority of these rasaams are from hindu traditions??

*Surah 2 Verse 201: "And there are some who say Our Lord! Grant us good in this world and good in the hereafter and save us from the punishment of the fire."

Originally posted by Hinna:
**Do you think that the majority of these rasaams are from hindu traditions??

Reading some of the posts here , I am wondering too.

[This message has been edited by chilli (edited June 07, 2001).]

chilli...99% sure they're from hindu customs.

*"Labaik, Allahumma Labaik, Labaik La Sharika Laka Labaik, Innal Hamda Wa N'amata Laka Wal Mulk, La Sharika Lak." "Here I am at your service, O Allah, here I am. Here I am at your service and no partners do you have. Verily All Praise and All Bounty belong to you, and Yours alone is The Sovereignty. No partners do you have."

Originally posted by ahmadjee:
... when the Dulhan comes to Dulha's house, he is escorted in with another dupata held high up her head and also someone carrying Quran on her head. Any Islamic significance

I was told that this is a HIndu tradition that Pakistanis have taken on from before the partition of India and Pakistan.

We still do it, and I like the idea of leaving my parents house walking under it.

But Hinna, whats the reasoning behind it being wrong? Im interested.

Islam being the universal religion absorbs a lot of cultures and their customs as well.

So some custom having cultural significance cannot to rejected on the note that the followers of other religions living in the same culture do it the same way.

But if there are cultural customs that are aganist the teaching of Islam are being practiced in 'Sadi Biyah' or any other occasions, then only should they be condemned.

farhana..wat? I’m sorry..wat are u asking me??

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

*“Labaik, Allahumma Labaik, Labaik La Sharika Laka Labaik, Innal Hamda Wa N’amata Laka Wal Mulk, La Sharika Lak.” “Here I am at your service, O Allah, here I am. Here I am at your service and no partners do you have. Verily All Praise and All Bounty belong to you, and Yours alone is The Sovereignty. No partners do you have.”

sorry Hinna I should have made it more obvious

I was just wondering if the tradition of walking under the Quran is Islamic or not?

Umm I’m not too sure about that one. I’ve only seen this in desi weddings. Lemme see what I can find.

*“Labaik, Allahumma Labaik, Labaik La Sharika Laka Labaik, Innal Hamda Wa N’amata Laka Wal Mulk, La Sharika Lak.” “Here I am at your service, O Allah, here I am. Here I am at your service and no partners do you have. Verily All Praise and All Bounty belong to you, and Yours alone is The Sovereignty. No partners do you have.”