Shaadi Shopping Guide: Karachi City Guide

Heyla:

I came across this on Nirali and decided to share it will you all… :smiley:

Markets and Shopping Areas

Ashiana, Clifton
This market—a bridal favorite—offers a gorgeous selection of fabrics for tailoring.

Empress Market, Saddar
Karachi’s central business district is full of fabric, kaam and tailor shops.

Kahkashan Market, Clifton*
This is the place to go for any kind of kaam you can imagine. Bring a close-up picture from a magazine, and the artisans here will replicate it. An economical way to get beautiful bridal clothes without the designer markup. But take a local—dealing with the shopkeepers isn’t always easy. *

The Forum Mall, Clifton*
A modern mall in upscale Clifton area of the city with a wide variety of shops including jewelry, handicrafts, clothing and shoes. You’ll find reasonably-priced bangles, costume jewelry and the like.*

Gulf Towers, Clifton
One-stop shopping for reasonably-priced bangles, dupattas, parandas and other mish-mash.

Park Towers Shopping Mall, Clifton
Karachi’s premier shopping mall with up-market boutiques and jewelry stores.

Tariq Road*
Another popular shopping in area in Karachi, you’ll find several shopping centers including Dolmen Centre, Dolmen Mall, Shalimar Centre, Rabi Centre, Dubai Mall, Tariq Centre. Some stores carry ready-made ensembles, but you’ll find kaam karigars and tailors, also. *
Bridal Wear

For a complete listing of Pakistani bridal designers, see page two of Vow to Wow. For mid-market finds, see below.

Bargello
*This gigantic store offers bridal and party wear that “borrows” from top designers. Order from anywhere in the world. *
28-C, 5th Commercial Street, Khayaban-e-Badadr, Phase V, Defence, Karachi, 75500, Pakistan
9221 534 1401, 02, 03 & 04

Body Focus Museum
What started as a casualwear line as involved into a boutique with denim casuals; pret a porter cottons; Knitwear; Hand block printed pure silks; Classic evening and occasional bridal wear
38-C-6 Off Main Shahrae-Faisal Karachi 75400 Pakistan
Tel: (92-21)452-5631 FAX: (92-21)4529870

**The Designers ***
This outlet carries bridal and partywear from high-end designers such as HSY, Karma and others. If you’re in Karachi and want access to Lahore’s designers, this is the place. Perfect also for those in a rush—you’ll find ready-made ensembles, as well. *
Main Zamzama Blvd.
DHA, Karachi
92 21 586 1915, 92 21 537 0126

Hilal Silk Palace
*The most beautiful fabrics you can find–but they come at a price. *
Zaibunissa Street, Saddar
Ph:5211617

Jabeen’s House of Wedding
*Mid-market bridal wear. *
Shop #1,Sasi Centre,Tariq RoadP.E.C.H.S
Ph:4389196

Men’s Wear

MM Alam Road is the home of many designers, including for all menswear.

Amir Adnan
*Designer synonymous with men’s wedding fashion. He is widely credited for re-introducing the sherwani into modern fashion. Famous clients include both Indian and Pakistani heads of state.

Shop A-12, Park Towers Mall, Clifton
Tel: 9221 5832661

Shop G-100, Dolmen Mall, Tariq Road
Tel: 9221 4381613

Shop 14, Plot 14-D, Sky Garden Apartments
Tipu Sultan Road, KDA
Tel: 9221 4313056

Shop 2, 14-C, Zamzama Lane 5
Defense Phase-V
Tel: 9221 5861875

Shop 313, Block-Z, Commercial Area
Defense Housing Authority
Tel: 9242 5896441-42

Deepak Perwani
*Men’s and women’s designer best known for stylish groomswear.

Shop 0-1, 16-C, Zamzama Commercial Lane #4
DHA, Karachi
92 21 587 7371

Gr 8a, Ground Floor
Park Towers
Clifton, Karachi
92 21 582 4625

Junaid Jamshed
*Former Vital Signs singer’s boutique known for men’s wear. *
16C, 2nd Zamzama Commercial Lane, Phase V, Defence
Ph: 5834904

**Fine Jewelry

**Aliel
*Formerly known as Sayegh and Co., these high-end jewelers carry the work of numerous talented designers. Feeling extra wealthy? Check out their “Nur” collection—each piece is completely unique and will never be replicated. *
Shop # 64 & 65
Regent Plaza Hotel
Shahrah-e-Faisal
Karachi.
92 21 5670752
92 21 5670763
[email protected]

Meena Jewellers
*Reliable jewelers in Saddar. *
Parr Zaibunnisa Street, Saddar
Ph: 522305

Chhotani Jewellers
*One of Karachi’s oldest and most famous jewelers. They specialize in oriental gold ornaments, made to order. *
Zaib-Un-Nisa Street, Saddar, Karachi 74400.
9221- 514-775, 567-1021

Crescent Jewellers
*Very expensive but beautiful selection. Find everything you can imagine, from gaudy to elegant. *
31/34, Bliss Shopping Centre, Zaibunnisa Street,Saddar
Ph: 522785, 527750

**Karat Jewellers **
*They will copy anything you show them to a tee. They carry a line of traditional, ethnic, contemporary jewelry. *
Karachi Marriott
92 21 111 22 33 44
92 21 568 0111

Private Collection
*Exclusive, beautiful diamond jewelry imported from Italy. *
Karachi Marriott
568 0175
Bangles, Bindis, Henna and Other Miscellaneous Wedding Goods

See Markets and Shopping Areas above.

**Bori Bazar **

• Cave-like shops are stacked to their ceilings with excellent pieces of embroidery, hand prints and other goods.*

Uzma Market
*An alternative to Bori if you don’t want to venture to the center of the city. *
DHA, Clifton

Re: Shaadi Shopping Guide: Karachi City Guide

is gota kaam done in karachi? i want something with gotay ka kaam like what kareena is wearing but more heavily embellished. is gota ka kaam expensive as compared to zardosi or sequins or other kaam?

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=274906&highlight=karachi

already posted that info :stuck_out_tongue:

^ i’ve asked mum to get that made for me from pakistan too! love that outfit!

ooopppsss...my bad!

the best gottay lka kaam is done in multan. if u have any relative or friend there ask them to do it for u.

thank you sheal...unfortunately i know no one in multan :(

isn’t gota typically for mehndis? its just little bits of fabric i cant imagine it’s more expensive or as expensive as sequins/beads/etc?

yeah...u're probably right. but i just wanted to get an idea anyway.

I think this kindda kaam...is done in all cities...especially in Karachi....I have seen something like this on my friend's dress and she mentioned she got it from her Mumani's shop in Karachi...her mami's place is called something like hamail...or humaail...or something along those lines...

could someone do a shopping guide for lahore? pphleaaase.....

Lets go together =) my father is from bahawalpur..and they have the BEST gota/mukesh kaam!

hey,

i have my own workers who do the gotta kaam,....as most of must be knowing i have a designer studio with low prices.... if u wanna get in touch let me know

What kind of Shalwar would you get made with this? I love the kameez too and Dupatta is nice as well, but I didn’t like green shalwar, it just didn’t flow with the outfit. So what color shalwar would be better?

Light blue

Worth checking out Annika Rucci bags with Sheeba at 0321.300.5300. I've bought several evening and day bags from her. Exquisite...

i'd do orange. its such a bright outfit, the pastel shalwar totally doesn't work.

u hold go to gulf market me and my bhahi gt some outfits fom there aur ab to gotey kak wapis aa raha hai maine eik suit par aam karwaya us par gotta bhi dala hua tha

i had been looking for pic of this dress…is there any more pics?