shaadi ka ghar

Why do people insist on staying at a bride/groom’s house for a wedding? Isn’t it more of an inconvenience having guests over with the million things that have to be done around the time of a wedding, especially the actual day?

Put them up in a nearby hotel.

Yes, it is. People should stay at nearby hotels. Only close friends of the family or close family members should stay at the home. The point is, each guest should be helping in some way (entertaining the bride/groom, helping organize things, putting decorations or whatever together, etc). Otherwise stay out of the way.

but its fun to have everyone together in a time of happiness.

who pays for the hotel rooms?

Maybe they think they can help out somehow but they just end up being in the way :D

Put them up in a hotel for sure but then some desi people would make you pay the bill too!

OMG guests are allah mian ki rehmat.
It wouldnt be too much fun to have a wedding without guests would it..
and its sooo much fun having them in the house.

Thats just depends on how to take it and how social you are.

Some people do enjoy with other people and some dont. Kuch logoon ko shadi ka maza hee tub aata hai jub close relatives, cousines waighara shadi say at least 1 week pehley ghar per rehney aa jaeeen ....songs...shadi ki tayyariaan...dance practice....mehndi decoration...and much much more fun!

Imagine sharing one Istree for 200 pairs of Shalwar Kameez? It’s so much fun. You get to meet your cousins that you didn’t even know that you had. Most embarrassing is the part when you see someone who saw you when you were a baby and you don’t know their names. I am your Tahira Baji she tells me.

:jhanda:

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
but its fun to have everyone together in a time of happiness.

I agree, PCG. That's why I think they should be nearby and come in and out of the house regularly. But for the sanity of the guests and the hosts, each should be able to get away for a bit.

I know Madhanee, it's so much fun. On the day of wedding, everyone starts getting ready by afternoon. Istriyaan, baal banaana, nail polish lagaana, auntiyoN kaa kaala Kola lagaana, jootay paalish kerna, saath may chaai bhi peena. Bijli kaa jaana aur phir aaana. Saabun lagaatay hee paani ki tanky kaa khatam hojaanaa....its so much fun yaar. And then there are people changing clothes in rooms...and people knocking doors and asking if they can come in.

I used to be the last one to get ready. It was so much fun just observing 50 plus guests getting ready.

I find the excitment of getting ready for weddings- thrilling.I mean its just tons of fun.But thats if you have close friends and family with you.Not all the wedding guests.

What fun! I agree.

At one of my cousins wedding (one of the two I have attended) we all went to live at my aunt's place in advance. Fortunately one of my cousins was fond of irnoning clothes so we didn;t have to bother about that. It was all such fun.

a shaadi ka ghar is actually a very interesting phenomenon. It only happens in humans, where else in the animal kingdom do you see that before a male and female will be mating for the first time, the whole family (uncles, aunties, cousins, bro, sis) gather on a small place? Quite incomprehensible...

Count on Nes to ruin the magic of shaadi ka ghar.

Nes, actually it happens in the animal kingdom too. Everytime an elephant gets ready to mate with a female elephanti, it's a 'jungle may mungle' affair. You know it's hard to keep it a secret just due to their sheer size. And instead of attracting other animals to their ritual they scream and party so hard, they actually scare them away. So it does happen but in a not so formal sort of way.

MQ^really, even in monogamic animals this doesn't occur...

and I - as a fond believer of Freudian psychology- think this is basically the major reason all those old, sexually frustrated ppl stay so long at that place. And even the gossip that goes on in that period has such an undertone

FG— Oh stop.LOL.I swear that was hilarious.You had to pick elephants.

Nes— Stop bringing Freud into it!! I was having such nice pictures in my head of lots of relatves and friends getting ready for a shaadi.I love times like those.And you bring animals and psychology into it.:teary1:

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
MQ^really, even in monogamic animals this doesn't occur...

and I - as a fond believer of Freudian psychology- think this is basically the major reason all those old, sexually frustrated ppl stay so long at that place. And even the gossip that goes on in that period has such an undertone

That's how I feel about all the customs that go along with it --

looking for the new husband's name in the mehndi
kheer chatai

all different ways to break the ice so they can do it.
and then there's the valima.

in other cultures, i've heard the bride and groom are locked in a room for 15 minutes and then there's a big party following the consummation of the marriage.

I think it's fun but I can see how it can be annoying. The guests should know their role and be considerate.