Sexuality in our Culture

Which women are you talking about? :confused: Most desi girls I know aren’t scared of it all but they do keep these feelings to themselves…why do you need to talk about your sexual feelings w/ adults? :S

About speaking with adults --

Well I think it's almost always best when kids are comfortable asking their parents about something. Parents usually have their best interest at heart and will be able to provide helpful answers (as long as they're able to speak openly).

Plus I think it's usually more effective to speak with someone experienced than someone who is not. Certainly unexperienced people know about sex, but I think it's helpful to hear from the perspectives of those who know and can provide guidance as well.

i know what u mean Diva, my sis in law seems to be in the same boat. She's in love and its so hard for her to talk to anynoe about her feelings

but its not only girls, i find guys who dare enuff to discuss these emotions are labeled badly as well

I am talking about Pakistani women in general. I have been around enough of them to know that they are usually embarrassed when it comes to these issues or they are too uptight to talk about them. I mean some are either “way too dirty” in their talk or they don’t talk about such issues at all.

Also, there is no particular “need” to talk about your sexual feelings but if one does have them, there should be no “fear” about talking or expressing them.

i knwo what u mean

i knwo some aunties who seem to think they are quite intelligent and educated, they get so dirty it makes me sick..

it should be discussed with maturity, thats the only way one will learn properly.

*Originally posted by Diva4U: *

I am talking about Pakistani women in general. I have been around enough of them to know that they are usually embarrassed when it comes to these issues or they are too uptight to talk about them. I mean some are either "way too dirty" in their talk or they don't talk about such issues at all.**

You're right. I myself don't feel comfortable talking about such topics w/ every other person and don't think there's a need to...our culture teaches us to be modest in such situations..I'd understand if someone talks to his/her spouse or parents about sex related issues and most desis do but it's considered a taboo to talk about it opnely in public...and that's the way it should be...there's no need to discuss sex in public!

Also, there is no particular "need" to talk about your sexual feelings but if one does have them, there should be no "fear" about talking or expressing them.**

FYI, desis are as much human as anyone else...:) but our religion tells us to suppress these feelings when it's not an appropriate time...desis do express such feelings w/ their spouse or whomever they feel close to(and it's not considered a taboo)...They don't discuss them w/ you doesn't mean they don't or can't express them w/ anyone else.

*Originally posted by sadzzz: *
i knwo what u mean

i knwo some aunties who seem to think they are quite intelligent and educated, they get so dirty it makes me sick..

lol....I once saw those kinda aunties when I was in Pakistan...I know what you mean...they seem to be obsessed w/ their sexuality...:o

^na these are aunties here in melbourne, it fully grosses me out... some aunties think they're still 18, its not a bad thing but honestly sometimes u just want them to act their age

^these kinda aunties are every where...and they're really annoying but if you really think about it then it's not that bad if they talk about such topics...I mean, if someone is 55 yr old and still loves sex then we should salute him/her...:D But I don't think it's right to talk so openly in front of kids....thora gap rakhna chahiye apne aur bachon k beech mai...otherwise, it's all good...:)

^ yaeh good on them for loving it... and actually doing it when they get older...

i was sorta referring to when they get all dirty..

*Originally posted by sadzzz: *

agree.. it so comes down to education (and sometimes to ur dirty mind)

To be educated about sexual health matters does not promote "dirty minds", in fact the lack there of promotes idiots. And that not so rare breed needs shooting.

Jazak allah.

"sex" as a subject is not taboo its our minds / culture which makes it taboo and most importantly ignorance and illitracey.

but guess what few weeks back on bbc there was a program on islamic schools in quetta and

this mulla type guy with long beard was telling 8-10 years kids who was reading some book

" if during fasting you see a woman and you get an erection , your fast is not broken "

and i was like WTF ???? they are 8-10 years old kids

*Originally posted by hiccup: *

To be educated about sexual health matters does not promote "dirty minds", in fact the lack there of promotes idiots. And that not so rare breed needs shooting.

Jazak allah.

thats what i meant, i think we have a desi misinterpretation here :)